RT Daily Blog

Tips and Tricks For Surviving Family During The Holidays

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Shannon Stacey’s latest novel, Undeniably Yours, is a heart warming contemporary romance that revolves around an unexpected pregnancy. As parents-to-be, Beth Hansen and Kevin Kowalski work on their relationship, their future is shaped by their very different relationships with their families. So with the holidays — and all that family time — right around the corner, the author considers how to enjoy the festivities without the strife. 

Big families and the holiday season…a recipe for love, laughter and a little bit of chaos. Every family celebrates in a different way. Some have quiet, semi-formal dinners. Some small, intimate celebrations with their spouses and children. And some have rowdy family get-togethers that threaten to topple the Christmas tree.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


5 Questions For The Human Target

BY Morgan Doremus, NOVEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

Christopher Chance, aka the Human Target, first appeared in comic books in 1972. An assassin turned bodyguard, Chance puts himself into dangerous situations to protect the real target. Last year Fox debuted the Human Target television show staring Fringe regular Mark Valley. This week I caught up with Mark to ask him what it is like to play a comic book hero.

***

How is the Human Target TV show different from the comic book?

In the comic book Chance insinuated himself into peoples lives. He would impersonate the target, but instead of taking over their lives, I just get close to the target by acting like someone that could be in their lives - a coworker, translator or driver. I’m really glad I don’t have to do the whole impersonation thing with masks and makeup. 

What is your favorite part of the role?

Well, Chance is not a very good actor and I’m having fun with that – he can’t move into the character he is playing with much facility. That and on Fringe I spent a lot of time in a coma so walking around and talking to people is exciting and I just love action. It appeals to the kid in me.


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win a Year's Subscription to RT BOOK REVIEWS Magazine

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

We are thrilled to announce the return of one of our most popular contests — your chance to win a free year's subscription to RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine!

The Publisher's newsletter is RT's free monthly look at the latest news and book picks, plus information on contests, videos and convention updates delivered to your inbox every month! It's the easiest way to get insider details from RT's Publisher Carol Stacy about all that is going on in the new issue and the industry.

But now we've made the newsletter even better. Each month anyone who is signed up for the RT Publisher's monthly newsletter will automatically be entered to win a free year's subscription to RT BOOK REVIEWS! That's twelve chances to win a free subscription, so be sure to sign up for your copy of the free monthly newsletter today!

Sign Up Now And ENTER TO WIN >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Authors At Thrillerfest 2010 Reflect On The Value Of Attending Conventions

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

The RT staff always has a great time at the Thrillerfest convention and this year was no exception. In our November issue of RT we asked authors for the best writing advice they'd ever received. Here, we get their opinions on why they go to conventions and what they get out of them.

Joseph Finder, Vanished
Conventions are . . . All about hanging out with my writer friends (there's no nicer group of people than writers, I've found), but I also like meeting industry professionals like publishers or agents, because I'm still learning about the business. And of course it's a rare opportunity for me to get to meet actual "fans" and buyers of my books and hear from them what they like (or don't!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tim Downs Asks You To Consider: What Do You Want From Writing?

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Tim Downs suggests that aspiring authors consider what they want from writing and supplies some helpful hints to figure out how to achieve those goals. 

As the author of nine novels I get a lot of questions from aspiring writers: What’s your daily writing schedule? How many words do you produce in a day? What’s the best way to approach an acquisitions editor? How do you get your manuscript to the top of that infamous slush pile? Oddly enough, the most important question for any writer to consider is one that rarely gets asked.

What do I want from writing?

It’s easy to understand why this question gets overlooked. For many writers, the desire to express themselves in writing comes over them like a sudden hunger, and a hungry man doesn’t stop to ponder the question, What is it I want from eating? 

He just eats.

But there are many different reasons to write, and an aspiring writer can save herself a lot of frustration and disappointment simply by taking the time to decide what she wants from the craft of writing before she launches into that 700-page tome. For example…


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Announcing RT's November Seal of Excellence Winner: B.J. Daniels' High-Caliber Christmas!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

The RT Editors have chosen B.J. Daniels' latest series romance, High-Caliber Christmas, as the eighth Seal of Excellence recipient. The novel captured our editors' attention with its fast-paced adventure and sweet romance. 

But why was High-Caliber Christmas awarded the RT Seal Of Excellence and which other titles were contenders for the month of November? 

Find Out >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 11/16/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Donna Grant's Sources Of Inspiration

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Donna Grant’s Dark Sword novels are fast-paced historical adventures and the series second, Forbidden Highlander, has been nominated for the Best Historical Fantasy/Parnormal in the 2010 RT Reviewers’ Choice awards. Now discover what modern and ancient sources Grant looked to when she was creating the latest medieval intrigue with these very special highlanders. 

There are many things that inspire me before - and during - a book. I can become inspired by something as simple as a lyric in a song or a line in a movie. Often times it’s the look of a character in a movie that will make me think of an upcoming hero or heroine in one of my books, and its like a light goes off in my head, an “ah ha!” moment. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

New Additions to the RT Website

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

Dear Readers, 

You may have noticed something different about the website, we've got some new additions to our genre pages! We've broken out the mainstream, inspirational, science fiction and fantasy and erotica spotlights, so that each genre now has its own special page. We also have a new page for our comics, graphic novels and manga. And we have also folded our romantic suspense spotlight into our romance page, for the most complete coverage.

This week, author Melanie Dobson discusses how research for her newest novel provided her with an unexpected experience on the Inspirational page. Over on the Mainstream page, Sheila Roberts shares how a childhood fascination provided the inspiration for her new holiday tale. And don't miss a peek inside the steamy excerpt of Nadia Aidan's latest novel on the Erotica page. There's all this and more on these expanded sections of our site.

We hope you like our new look!

- The RT Staff

Quick Links to our New Coverage:

Mainstream >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Romance Novelist Pleads Guilty to Fraud

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK
RT BOOK REVIEWS has learned from news channel WWLTV that romance author Meagan McKinney plead guilty to defrauding FEMA, the Road Home program and the Small Business Administration. McKinney, whose real name is Ruth Leslie Goodman, confessed to mail fraud, theft, making false statements and passport fraud after Hurricane Katrina. 

McKinney, best known for writing Historical Romances and Series Romance for Silhouette, has published more than 40 books. Her last book was published in 2004, and fans remember her works with fondness. 

For the full story, visit WWLTV.com


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST