RT Daily Blog

RT Picks Holiday E-Book Novellas

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

Are you looking for some great holiday e-books? Well, you are in luck because Carina Press is currently offering eight great Christmas novellas in two separate anthologies. In Naughty and Nice authors Jaci Burton, Megan Hart, Shannon Stacey and Lauren Dane write both contemporary and erotic tales. While authors Josh Lanyon, L.B. Gregg, Harper Fox and Z.A. Maxfield offer up short stories in His For The Holidays that feature four M/M romances to keep the holidays hot!

Readers can buy the complete anthologies on the Carina site, or they can pick-and-choose stories to buy individually. In an effort to save you time, we asked the reviewers which is their favorite story from each anthology. Here is what they said:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


A Holiday Miracle for Karen Whiddon's Latest Hero

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Karen Whiddon treats readers to a sexy spin on the Christmas grinch with her newest series romance hero, Damien Colton. Now get an insider’s look at this man who was desperately in need of a holiday miracle.

In my December Silhouette Romantic Suspense, Colton's Christmas Baby, we have Damien Colton, a man who is trying to find his way after spending fifteen years in prison for a crime he didn't commit. Not only is he understandably angry and bitter, but as his large family gathers to celebrate the holiday, he feels left out and more alone than he believes he should. On top of that, he's learned his inheritance has gone missing. He was counting on that money in order to make a new life for himself.

With all of this going on, the holiday spirit has completely passed him by. In fact, he feels like everyone in town is whispering and judging him.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Announcing RT's December Seal of Excellence Winner: Susanna Kearsley's The Winter Sea

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

The RT Editors have chosen Susanna Kearsley's latest historical fiction, The Winter Sea, as the ninth Seal of Excellence recipient. The novel captured our editors' attention with its gothic tones and compelling mystery. 

But why was The Winter Sea awarded the RT Seal Of Excellence and which other titles were contenders for the month of December? 

Find Out >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Eloisa James and the Digital Delight!

BY Whitney Sullivan, DECEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical romance maven Eloisa James is thrilling fans with the announcement of her new e-exclusive novella, Storming the Castle. I can't wait to watch James' trademark antics ensue.

Readers will remember Storming the Castle's hero, Wick, from James' summer release, A Kiss at Midnight. But will this wily gentleman be able to persuade one miss Phillipa Damson that he's the man for her?

The novella is on sale today! In addition to the story, fans also get bonus content from A Kiss at Midnight and this winter's release, When Beauty Tamed the Beast. And never fear my e-reading friends, Avon is offering the story through all of the major e-retailers, to ensure that you don't get left out in the cold this holiday season.

Order your copy now >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

It's all Geek to Her! Mechele Armstrong on Science Fiction Conventions and Geek Culture

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

In Mechele Armstrong’s new novel Geek Love, much of the action is woven through a science fiction convention and the story is full of geek culture references. Now find out what makes this “a great time to get your geek on” and find out the author’s top five things you should know about science fiction conventions. And don’t miss the *Web Exclusive Review* and the excerpt of Geek Love at the end of this post!

I’m a geek.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 12/21/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Chris Fabry

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

In his newest RT Top Pick! rated release Almost Heaven, inspirational author Chris Fabry uses his real life experiences as a radio host to enhance his story. Now the author discusses what it is like to use personal anecdotes in his fiction and what readers can expect in his next book.

RT BOOK REVIEWS: Almost Heaven is told in alternating viewpoints, that of Billy and the angel Malachai. What is a something you used when writing from Malachai's point of view to reinforce the angel's heavenly voice?

Chris FabryAngels have always been difficult to get right as far as voice. They either come off sounding too Elizabethan or too hokey. I tried hard to keep a somewhat distant voice, separate in a way, but still inquisitive and full of wonder. I can’t wait to see if I was anywhere close.

Read the Interview >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Final Message and Excerpt Before The Lost Saint Hits Shelves!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

The paranormal YA The Lost Saint by Bree Despain will hit shelves next Tuesday. She has already told us about the incident that inspired the series, shared an insider look at the challenge she faced when starting this novel and revealed what finally helped her break through her writer's block. Now Bree stops by with one final message and excerpt of her novel before readers (okay, us) can get their (our) hands on The Lost Saint on the 28th! 

Dear RT Book Reviews Readers,


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Check out the Giant Science Fiction Romance Giveaway at The Galaxy Express!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

We love the science fiction romance website The Galaxy Express, run by Heather Massey. So we were thrilled to learn that this year the site is currently hosting its second annual giant book giveaway for the holidays! Here's Heather with all the details:

Starting December 20, The Galaxy Express is hosting the second annual SFR Holiday Blitz. This event features a huge giveaway of over 50 science fiction romance books. Thirty three authors and fifteen bloggers have joined forces to give the gift of intergalactic adventure and romance to readers around the globe.

Sample prizes include books by Linnea Sinclair, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Pauline B. Jones, Nalini Singh, Ella Drake, Anitra Lynn McLeod, and Susan Grant.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Barbara O'Neal on Mothers and Daughters

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 20, 2010 | PERMALINK

Mainstream author Barbara O'Neal dishes up another heartwarming tale of love and baking in this month's How to Bake a Perfect Life. When Ramona is thrust into the role of guardian of her teenage granddaughter, she is at a loss about what to do next. Now the author shares the personal story that helped her connect with Ramona's situation and explains the role of "mother dough" in her new novel!

I remember a night when I was eight months pregnant with my first child. It was the thin, dark part of the night, and I sat on the side of the bathtub in the harsh yellow light, rocking back and forth in terror: what have I done? How could I raise a child? I had no idea what I was doing! My husband slept in the other room, oblivious, while I locked myself in the bathroom. Alone with my giant belly and a baby moving soft fists on the other side of my skin, I wept for all the ways I would ruin his/her life.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST