RT Daily Blog

A Final Message and Excerpt Before The Lost Saint Hits Shelves!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

The paranormal YA The Lost Saint by Bree Despain will hit shelves next Tuesday. She has already told us about the incident that inspired the series, shared an insider look at the challenge she faced when starting this novel and revealed what finally helped her break through her writer's block. Now Bree stops by with one final message and excerpt of her novel before readers (okay, us) can get their (our) hands on The Lost Saint on the 28th! 

Dear RT Book Reviews Readers,


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Check out the Giant Science Fiction Romance Giveaway at The Galaxy Express!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

We love the science fiction romance website The Galaxy Express, run by Heather Massey. So we were thrilled to learn that this year the site is currently hosting its second annual giant book giveaway for the holidays! Here's Heather with all the details:

Starting December 20, The Galaxy Express is hosting the second annual SFR Holiday Blitz. This event features a huge giveaway of over 50 science fiction romance books. Thirty three authors and fifteen bloggers have joined forces to give the gift of intergalactic adventure and romance to readers around the globe.

Sample prizes include books by Linnea Sinclair, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Pauline B. Jones, Nalini Singh, Ella Drake, Anitra Lynn McLeod, and Susan Grant.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Barbara O'Neal on Mothers and Daughters

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 20, 2010 | PERMALINK

Mainstream author Barbara O'Neal dishes up another heartwarming tale of love and baking in this month's How to Bake a Perfect Life. When Ramona is thrust into the role of guardian of her teenage granddaughter, she is at a loss about what to do next. Now the author shares the personal story that helped her connect with Ramona's situation and explains the role of "mother dough" in her new novel!

I remember a night when I was eight months pregnant with my first child. It was the thin, dark part of the night, and I sat on the side of the bathtub in the harsh yellow light, rocking back and forth in terror: what have I done? How could I raise a child? I had no idea what I was doing! My husband slept in the other room, oblivious, while I locked myself in the bathroom. Alone with my giant belly and a baby moving soft fists on the other side of my skin, I wept for all the ways I would ruin his/her life.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tell us What you'd Like in an RT BOOK REVIEWS app!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 20, 2010 | PERMALINK

There's an app for everything these days, and as our readers know we work hard to help you read smarter! So we are looking into how to best provide our readers with easy access to all of the content on our website. That's over 40,000 book reviews, as well as blog posts, magazine articles and much more!

Wouldn't it be great to be able to look up all the new reviews while you are standing in the bookstore? Or how about being able to scan any book's barcode to find out what the RT reviewers have to say about it? Or do you see the most value in being able to access our popular forums to check in with what your fellow readers have to say while you are on the go? 

We want to know what you'd like to see in an app that gives you access to RT's online content. Would you prefer to use a more streamlined free app or have access to an app that is more of a resource so that you can access all of RT's online content on your smart phone, iPad or tablet while you are on the go? Fill out this survey to share your thoughts about what you would like to see in an RT BOOK REVIEWS app.

Take the Survey >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Find the Cover Contest!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 20, 2010 | PERMALINK

To help you beat the winter chill, we've cooked up a little scavenger hunt for you within the pages of the new issue.

Somewhere inside our February magazine we've hidden a picture of the December 2010 magazine cover. One lucky reader who finds our hidden image will win a prize pack from RT. 

To enter email here with the location of the hidden December cover and your US mailing address. One entry per person please. The winner will be announced here on January 18th!

BLOG UPDATE 1/18/11: And the winner is Arlene S.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 12/17/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your week trying to figure out if your cute new co-worker was Forbidden or For Bedding?

Here's what you missed on the RT website.

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Play the game based on Stephanie Laurens' latest series. Get the Details >>

MYSTERY: The Haunted Home Restoration series is full of references to the author's life. Learn More >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Teresa Medeiros gets truly modern with her new novel. Check it Out >>

YOUNG ADULT: Carrie Jones shares the inspiration for her kick-butt nice girl heroine. What is it? >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Your Last Minute Book Buying Gift Guide!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

Are you caught in a last minute gift-buying bind? Our favorite place to pick up gifts is, of course, the bookstore. Here are our holiday gift suggestions of 2010 books to fit everyone on your list!

For the Mom who wants ...

 a sweet romance

Call Me Mrs. Miracle
by Debbie Macomber

a thought-provoking read

This Must be the Place
by Kate Racculia

an Amelia Peabody-style adventure!

The Crocodile's Last Embrace
by Suzanne Arruda


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Test your Allison Brennan Book IQ and Win a Prizepack - Now Enter to Win Until January 4th!

BY Faygie Levy, DECEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

Suspense lovers will want to check out the January release Love Me to Death by Allison Brennan. This is the first book in the Lucy Kincaid series. As a teenager, Lucy was abducted and nearly killed as her family rushed to save her in the 2007 release, Fear No Evil. Now an adult and waiting to join the FBI, Lucy may be on her way to finding love, but first comes some major crime fighting.

To get you ready for the new series we thought it would be fun to revisit her past and the Kincaid family, many of whom have already gotten their own happily ever afters. Take the quiz below and see how much you know about the Kincaids. Several readers who answer all the questions correctly will win books from the author:  

 

1.How many children are in the Kincaid family?
a) 3
b) 5
c) 7

2. Who is Carina Kincaid’s partner?
a) Jim Gage
b) Will Hooper
c) Hans Vigo


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Three Overnight Dads from Silhouette Desire

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

In the Silhouette Desire line of series romances, men tend to take the fast lane to fatherhood. And whether they are marrying women who are nine months pregnant, or suddenly learning that they have children they’ve never met, these are all men on an emotional rollercoaster. Now three of this month’s Silhouette Desire authors give readers a special look at their "Overnight Dads" of December.

 

Trevor Jarrod, Inheriting His Secret Christmas Baby 
by Heidi Betts


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

SCOOPED! Featuring Holiday Reads, Free E-Books, Choosing RT's Top Picks And More!

BY Morgan Doremus, DECEMBER 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

For my weekly column Scooped!, I scour the Internet, contact authors and pick my fellow RT editor's brains to make sure no reader question goes unanswered. This week, I share insider information about both Christmas and non-Christmas romance books, the easiest way to find free e-books and give an insider look at how RT's Top Picks are chosen. Still have questions? Send them to me here and you may be featured in an upcoming post.

Question: How exactly do you choose which books will be Top Picks? -Kimi

Morgan: Top Picks are chosen by RT Reviewers as the best books of the month. They are the ones that we believe are truly special — perhaps even destined to be "classics". However, for the answer about how exactly they are picked, I turn to RT Senior Reviewer Kathe Robin who has reviewed close to 8,500 books in her 30 year tenure at RT! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST