RT Daily Blog

Magazine Extra: How Deeanne Gist Went from Bad Girl to Good Girl

BY Tricia Carr, APRIL 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

When you read our June feature on historical fiction author Deeanne Gist, you’ll learn all about her May release, Fair Play, which stars a heroine, a doctor at the 1893 Chicago World’s Fair — a “man’s” job — and a hero who’s part 1980s alpha male and part Ryan Gosling. So we're pretty sure you're going to want to read it ASAP.

But there’s one story we didn’t have room to share with RT readers in the magazine. Gist recently told some RT editors that she was the “bad girl” of inspirational fiction before she crossed over to the mainstream market. What made her so naughty that her editor was fanning herself? She used too much “tongue”! Here’s the whole story from Gist:

The cover of Fair Play by Deeanne Gist

I first realized something was amiss after I sold my first book to an inspirational house. They told me they loved it and gave me a contract. We all signed on the dotted line. And then I got the revision letter.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


On the Shelves: 4/15/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Outfits: Elisa's Picks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

The RT Booklovers Convention is only a few short weeks away! Which means if you're planning on attending the full week of books, babes (yes, we mean you) and shenanigans, you've got some packing to do. With a full schedule of panels, workshops, events — and, of course, parties — one outfit a day may not cut it. So bust out those extra large suitcases, because the RT staff is bringing you their dream outfits for the themed evening events and nighttime parties. Today, take a gander at RT Web Editor Elisa Verna's picks.


Mardi Gras World Carnivále

 

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Neighborhood Watch: Nora Loves Rear Window, Just Like Us!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

So it’s Monday, sure, and tomorrow’s tax day. But it’s also spring and there’s a new Nora Roberts book out this week, The Collector! This time, la Nora latest takes on a Rear Window-esque vibe, one of our very favorite homages. We thought that as we wait for release day, we’d walk through some of our other favorite Read Window call backs as we torture the rest of the RT staff with our very best James Stuart impressions.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Working Girls: Heroines with Careers We Covet

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

We sometimes daydream about what it would be like to be the heroine of a romance novel — the angst, the drama, the hero. But several of this month's romances have caught our attention, not only because of them swoonworthy love story, but because of the heroine's awesome profession! Here's a roundup of our favorite  heroines on the job this month. 

The cover of Night Diver by Elizabeth Lowell

What a Reckless Rogue Needs by Vicky Dreiling - Not only is Vicky's heroine in her second Sinful Scoundrels series a divorcée — very edgy for Regency England — she's an architect and interior designer. Get it, Lady Angeline! Do you know how much math you need to understand to be an architect? A lot, that's how much. (You need significantly less to be a website editor.) She falls in love during a restoration project, which is not how most of those home projects go that we see on HGTV, but hey! That's why romance novels are so great. Fantasy.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let you know the latest book news on the most exciting upcoming releases across genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHOR

Mainstream - Stephanie Butland’s Surrounded by Water is sure to make a splash with its heartwrenching tale about the death of a policeman who saves a young woman from drowning. In the aftermath, secrets in a marriage are exposed as grief overwhelms. Release date: TBA.

NEW SERIES

Contemporary Romance - In Regina Cole’s Any Way She Wants It, the first in her upcoming Sons of Cain series, a rising rock star deals with his guilt by partying. But when he falls for the band’s beautiful sound engineer, he may just learn to live again. Look for this sizzling read next spring!

CONTINUING SERIES


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 4/11/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend the whole week wanting to Breakaway?  

Here's what you missed on the RT website:

***

We announced the 2013 RT Reviewers' Choice & Career Achievement Awards winners! See Who Won >>

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Announcing The 2013 RT Reviewers' Choice And Career Achievement Awards Winners

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Oooh are we excited! Because today we're so happy and proud to present the 2013 Reviewers' Choice and Career Achievement Winners! Let us tell you, a lot of blood, sweat and tears (more tears than you might think!) went into selecting these, the best titles of 2013. Hearty congratulations to all of the winners, thank you for writing such amazing books last year. The award ceremony will take place at the RT Convention in New Orleans next month, we hope to see many of you there! 

 

Career Achievement


Contemporary Romance

Rachel Gibson

Erotic Romance


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. Don't believe us? Check out some of our favorite recent Tweets.  We're a little short this week because we're over here celebrating the RT Awards winners. Happy Friday!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Punniest Cozy Mystery Titles

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Who doesn't love a good pun? Wait, don't answer that. Unless the answer is yes. Because your RT Web Team can't resist punning. And some of the best puns can be found in the titles of cozy mystery novels. Not gonna lie, we kind of envy the editors who get to participate in these title brainstorming sessions. We've collected some of our recent favorites below — they'll slay you!

The cover of A Tale of Two Biddies

Bloom and Doom by Beverly Allen (Berkley, April 2014)

Shunned and Dangerous by Laura Bradford (Berkley, March 2014)

A Tale of Two Biddies by Kylie Logan (Berkley, February 2014)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST