RT Daily Blog

2014 RT Convention Outfits: Regina's Picks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

The RT Booklovers Convention is only a few short weeks away! Which means if you're planning on attending the full week of books, babes (yes, we mean you) and shenanigans, you've got some packing to do. With a full schedule of panels, workshops, events — and, of course, parties — one outfit a day may not cut it. So bust out those extra large suitcases, because the RT staff is bringing you their dream outfits for the themed evening events and nighttime parties. Today, take a look at RT Senior Editor/Reviews Coordinator Regina Small's outfits.

 

Pirates, Scalawags & More


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Trailer Chat: If I Stay

BY DJ DeSmyter, APRIL 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Let’s talk about the recently released trailer for If I Stay, shall we? This big screen adaptation of Gayle Forman’s stunning YA novel of the same name doesn’t land in theatres until August 22 (yes, this August! squee!), but this trailer sure gives eager readers plenty to ease the wait. Though, in my case, the wait has just gotten infinitely more unbearable! Let’s take a look at some of my favorite moments:

Music -  Right off the bat, the trailer establishes the importance of music in the story. Mia’s a gifted cellist and Adam’s the lead singer/guitarist in a rising rock band. As a pianist/songwriter, I immediately connected with the music aspects of the story when I first read the book. I’m glad to see they’re placing sufficient emphasis on Mia and Adam’s talents. Yay for music!

If I Stay gif

Adam - I’m usually so picky about which actors get to play my book boyfriends, but this time around I was pleased with Jamie Blackley’s casting from the start. I mean, look at him! His Adam is confident, charming and utterly adorable. And look, he has swagger.

If I Stay gif


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Self-Pub Like A Pro: Freelance Editing

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Self-publishing is a brave new world, a sometimes confusing one for authors trying to navigate its many possible avenues. But as always, your RT Web Team is here to help with our monthly column, Self-Pub Like a Pro. This month we're tackling the ever-important process of editing. A big complaint readers often have is that self-published books aren’t edited, polished — or sometimes even spell checked. So how to avoid these pitfalls? Hiring a freelance editor could be the answer. To tell us more, today we’ve got longtime freelance editor Bev Katz Rosenbaum to give us the scoop.

***

How do you become a freelance editor?

A

I hold Specialist Certification in English Language and Literature from the University of Toronto (which is a fancy way of saying I have an Honors English degree), and I have also taken courses in substantive editing and copy editing from the Freelance Editors Association of Canada (now called the Editors Association of Canada). Immediately after graduating from university, I landed an editorial assistant position at Harlequin, and worked my way up to an editing position from there.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The 100 Recap: Episode 1.5 - "Twilight's Last Gleaming"

BY DJ DeSmyter, APRIL 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Canoodling!

source

Clarke and Finn are canoodling after their little love session in the bomb shelter. Clarke reassures Finn that their night together was special while he jokes about wanting his first Earth sex. Is it a joke, though? After all, his girlfriend is hurtling through space right now to reunite with him.

On the Ark, the Chancellor visits Abby in her cell. She wants to know if Raven made it to Earth, but he wants to talk about how the Ark is dying faster than they predicted and Kane’s population reduction plan has been approved. Abby’s not too pleased, but the Chancellor’s not in the mood to listen to reason.

Meanwhile, Raven enters Earth’s atmosphere and so far hasn’t blown up. Yay!

As Clarke and Finn get all kissy again, Clarke spots a shooting star and Finn tells her all about how you make wishes on them. They quickly realize it’s not a star — and so do the others, including a shirtless Bellamy. Again, shirtless Bellamy.

Abby’s been given temporary freedom in order to attend to the dying people’s needs. She’s still determined to find out if Raven made it or not. Speaking of, we cut to Raven, who’s landed on Earth and is unconscious and bleeding. In the background, we hear the Ark trying to make contact.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive, Super Advanced Excerpt — and Giveaway!: Keri Arthur's Fireborn

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

In our minds, the only thing that's better than an excerpt is a super advanced excerpt of a book we're dying to read! So today we're excited to share with you a lengthy snippet from Keri Arthur's upcoming series starter, Fireborn, which won't be hitting stores until July

Fireborn is the story of Emberley, a phoenix who can take human form — and foresee death. In this action-packed excerpt Emberley is once again trying to cheat death, but there are always consquences. Ready to read? Let's get to it! Just be sure to check out the bottom of the post for our awesome giveaway.

The cover of Fireborn by Keri Arthur

All of us dream.

Some of us even have pleasant dreams.

My dreams might have been few and far between, but they were never, ever pleasant. But worse than that, they always came true.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Fiction

The Other Queen by Philippa Gregory

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Jagged by Kristen Ashley

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $0.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

How Do You Organize Your TBR List?

BY Elisa Verna, APRIL 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

One of the biggest book-related issues I’m facing right now is how to organize my TBR pile. As a reviewer and book blogger, I’m often working ahead, reading books three to four months before they release, and rarely have a chance to look back. But that doesn’t mean there aren't previously published books I want to read! Here’s an example: Right now, I have a very juicy July book I want to read ASAP, but am also paused on J.R. Ward’s Dark Lover, which I recently bought during that epic ebook sale, and am reading purely for pleasure. Not to mention I have to finish Daughter of Smoke and Bone, which was given to me as part of RT’s 2014 Reading Challenge. And, I have a small press ebook and self-published ebook I want to review at some point in the near future. If you’ve lost track, that’s five books. And that’s just what I have for the next two to three weeks, not to mention what's just waiting on my Kindle for a spare moment. Because did I mention I have a somewhat serious ebook hoarding problem, in addition to all this work reading? Yea.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Preview: Evening Parties

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

2014 RT Convention logo

Grab your friends and leave your worries at the door, because when we take over New Orleans this May for our annual RT Convention, we’re going to party the night away! Besides the delicious food, insightful panel discussions and giant book fair, this year’s convention boasts an exciting line up of evening parties you won’t want to miss. Take a look:

Pirates, Scalawags & More!

When: Wednesday, May 14, from 6:00 - 7:00 PM

Where: Grand Oaks Mansion - Mardi Gras World (off-site)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

***

The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov

The devil does not pursue evil: his wonders neither change nor create anything and at most they madden the idiots, because the world is a devil’s joke and it is useless to turn against him (especially when he takes the form of a giant, well-polished cat).

Plot: The devil disturbs Moscow and a few centuries ago, Pontius Pilate repents.

Rating: 98 out of 100

Faust by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Outfits: Tricia's Picks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

The RT Booklovers Convention is only a few short weeks away! Which means if you're planning on attending the full week of books, babes (yes, we mean you) and shenanigans, you've got some packing to do. With a full schedule of panels, workshops, events — and, of course, parties — one outfit a day may not cut it. So bust out those extra large suitcases, because the RT staff is bringing you their dream outfits for the themed evening events and nighttime parties. Today, take a gander at RT Associate Editor Tricia Carr's picks.

Pirates, Scalawags & More

Arrrr you ready to bust out your best pirate garb? In this adorable dress I’ll fit right in with the pirates, privateers and wenches at the Grand Oaks Mansion. My pocket-watch necklace pays homage to one of my favorite pirates, Captain Hook, and I plan to channel Johnny Depp for my hair and makeup — just without the beard braids. Full outfit details here.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST