RT Booklovers Convention 2011: We Honor The Outstanding Books And Authors Of 2010

At tonight's annual awards ceremony RT awarded the coveted Career Achievement and Reviewers' Choice Awards to the outstanding authors and books of 2010. The ceremony also recognized some of the authors who have made fiction what it is today and those whose talents will be shaping the genres for years to come!

There was a beautiful tribute to this year's Pioneers of Genre Fiction. Awards were given out to Catherine Coulter, Rhys Bowen, Joanne Fluke, L.E. Modesitt, Jr., Valerie Parv, Eileen Dreyer, Margaret Brownley, Christina Skye and P.N. Elrod. These authors were at the forefront of groundbreaking changes across the genres of fiction and each has written books that are beloved by readers and remain "keepers" to this day.

Next, the Career Achievement winners accepted their awards with grins and good spirits.

The Career Achievement Awards went to Robyn Carr (Contemporary Romance), Kate Douglas (Erotic Romance), Lisa Kleypas (Historical Romance), Terri Blackstock (Inspirational), Fern Michaels (Mainstream), Carole Nelson Douglas (Mystery), MaryJanice Davidson (Paranormal), Jayne Ann Krentz (Romantic Suspense), Catherine Coulter (Suspense/Thriller), Sharon Shinn (Sci-Fi/Fantasy), Brenda Jackson (Series Romance), Rachel Caine (Urban Fantasy) and Caroline B. Cooney (Young Adult). For a complete list of this year's nominees and winners click here >>

Career Achievement Series Romance Winner Brenda Jackson

Although Fern Michaels and Lisa Kleypas could not be at the convention, they both sent over lovely video messages remembering their careers and the way that the industry has evolved.


Watch Their Acceptance Speeches >>

And then the sixty best books of 2010 were honored with the RT Reviewers' Choice awards. From Olivia Gates' win for her Silhouette Desire To Tame a Sheikh to Ava Gray's Paranormal Romantic Suspense win with Skin Tight, authors beamed as they accepted prizes for their novels across the genres.

Reviewers' Choice Award Winners Lauren Dane, Ava Gray and Oliva Gates

In the historical romance categories, Elizabeth Boyle's Mad About the Duke took home the 2010 Historical Love & Laughter Award and the Most Innovative Historical Romance went to Evangeline Collins for Seven Nights to Forever

Simone Elkeles and Melissa Marr's 2010 books were honored as the 2010 Young Adult selections. While in the romantic relationships in Christie Ridgway's Crush On You and debut author Marcella Burnard's Enemy Within won for Contemporary Romance and Futuristic Romance, respectivelyAnd beloved authors Adrianne Byrd and Beverly Jenkins were recognized for their recent multicultural tales.  

Lynn Shepherd took home the 2010 First Mystery award for her Murder at Mansfield Park. The Erotica Fiction award went to Kayla Perrin's Control. And Meg Benjamin's Long Time Gone was recognized as the year's Indie Press Romance. For a complete list of Reviewers' Choice Award winners click here >>

You can find a complete list of the 2010 Career Achievement and Reviewers' Choice Award winners on our site. Of course you can follow all the convention action on the RT Daily Blog and hopefully you will join us next year in Chicago!