RT Daily Blog

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

***

The 120 Days of Sodom by the Marquis de Sade

A collection of the most wicked and detailed sexual perversions of the history of literature, justified because “Nature makes vice nicer than virtue." A  must-read with ascetic consequences: after 300 pages of sex, sex and more sex, no one wants sex anymore.

Plot: Every sexual act you can find Internet porn, plus some things that are not there (really).
Rating: 80 out of 100

Pornography by Witold Gombrowicz


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Lori Wilde's Small Town Romance Ebook Sale

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Not only are Kristen Ashley's books on sale this week, so are many of Lori Wilde's! Avon has put several of the author's small town romances on e-sale for $1.99 each. Don't miss out! We've linked to which retailers have which titles on sale, it's not the same across the board. Happy reading!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Appeal Of Anna Todd's After + The Best 1D Fanfic Ever

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Anna Todd's After

With the sale of Anna Todd's Wattpad megahit After — a Harry Styles fanfiction that blew up — to Simon & Schuster, we had to ask ourselves why this particular fanfic was appealing to publishers. Traditional publishers purchasing fanfiction for publication is nothing new, but with so many fanfics being written, what makes After so special? We decided to ask One Direction megafan (protip: 1D fans are called "Directioners") Christin Gest to tell us why After was a hit, and to lead us down the rabbit hole of One Direction fanfiction.

Anna Todd, a twenty-five-year-old Directioner, has just made many One Direction fan dreams a reality. Ms. Todd has managed to score a six-figure book deal for her popular series After. After is published on Wattpad, which is a popular site where all things fanfiction, or just plain fiction, are published.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Creating The Cover: Chelsea Fine's Perfect Kind Of Trouble

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

While a great book can make us feel all the feels, a great cover can do the same, especially if it's super romantic, super cute and features a super hot guy. And guess what — Chelsea Fine's cover for Perfect Kind of Trouble is, well, perfect. Today, Chelsea's editor Megha Parekh takes us behind the scenes and shares the inside scoop on creating the cover. Take a look:

Hi everyone!

I’m Chelsea Fine’s editor here at Forever romance, and I thought it would be fun to give all of you a little bit of inside scoop on the creation of a cover — in particular the cover for Chelsea Fine’s Perfect Kind of Trouble, available June 2014.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Shelves: 6/10/14

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

STORMY PERSUASION

"The Malorys are back at sea! This is the story Malory pirate fans have been waiting for, and this consummate storyteller doesn’t disappoint."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

June's Mystery Releases Bite The Big Apple

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

Many people escape to the Big Apple to chase their dreams and fill their lives with bright lights and rich culture. But every city has a dark side and in this month’s Mystery overview, New York is center stage for some chilling cases.

In Linda Fairstein’s Terminal City, Assistant DA Alexandra Cooper is called in to solve a string a murders where the victims are found with a strange mark on their bodies. Her search for answers leads her to an underground city beneath Grand Central Terminal. Meanwhile, All Day and a Night by Alafair Burke introduces readers to NYPD detectives Ellie Hatcher and JJ Rogan, who are tasked with examining evidence to see whether or not the original trial for a murder was tainted.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tara Sue Me's Guide To Avoiding A Publishing Contract Disaster

BY Elisa Verna, JUNE 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

Photo of author Tara Sue MeI met erotic romance author Tara Sue Me for the first time at this year's RT Convention. She's delightful, but a story she told me about a horrible publishing contract she signed years ago (and was still recently dealing with) wasn't so much. So I urged her to share her contract advice for aspiring and published authors. If you're looking to sell your writing, read Tara's advice before you sign anything!

In a prior life, before I became a full-time author, I worked in the Pharmaceutical industry in contracts. Though I’m not a lawyer, I wrote contracts, negotiated contracts, and, more times than should be necessary, terminated contracts. I’m a read-the-tiny-print kind of a girl. A don’t-tell-me-put-it-in-writing business sort.

As an author, I’ve signed a few contracts. I’ve signed with a small epublisher, with a large media company, and with a Big Five publisher. As those of you who have done the same know, contracts can be anywhere from two pages to OMG, DO I HAVE TO READ THE WHOLE THING?


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five Books Karen White Can't Do Without

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

Karen White's June release, A Long Time Gone — about a woman who returns home only to become tangled up in a murder-mystery, earned a rare Gold rating from RT reviewer Debbie Haupt, a rating that typically indicates that a book has earned a spot on that reviewers keeper shelf. So we decided to ask the author which books she keeps coming back to. Below are five of the books Karen White just can't do without.

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

I still have stiff thumbs from holding this book open while I pushed my two children on swings at the park. All day. To the point that they were asking to go home because it was getting dark and they were hungry. It transported me to a different place and time, to a different world where I knew these characters like family, and felt their hurts as if they were my own. Beautiful writing, mesmerizing characters, a blazing romance, and a page-turning plot makes this book #1 on my keeper shelf.

Lord of the Far Island by Victoria Holt


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHOR

Mainstream - Technology takes a backseat in Elyssa Friedland’s Love and Miss Communication, which stars a hot-shot attorney who turns off her Smartphone to focus on the real connections in her life. Friendship and love blossom in this charming debut.

CONTINUING SERIES

Series Romance - RT Reviewers' Choice Award winner Yahrah St. John will continue the reader-favorite Drayson family series with a new installment in 2016!

PIQUING OUR INTEREST


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 6/6/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week looking for A Bride for the Black Sheep Brother?

Here's what you missed on the RT site!

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Find your new favorite book with our suggestions! Keep Reading >>

EROTICA: Elisa talks cheating in books. What Are Your Thoughts? >>

ROMANTIC SUSPENSE: When should and shouldn't the hero and heroine have sex? Find Out >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST