RT Daily Blog

Rin Chupeco on the Ghost and the Girl and the Well

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

We love a good ghost story as much as the next person, making Rin Chupeco's The Girl From the Well an instant delight. With its uniquely creepy story and expert prose, this is one novel that will, pardon the pun, haunt you for days on end. Curious about the story behind the story, we asked Rin about the inspiration for the novel and here's what she had to say:

Inspiration for The Girl from the Well began with two things: the ghost and the girl. The more I wrote, the harder it became to separate the two. 

The idea for the ghost came to me several years ago, when I was still making my living writing technical manuals for a mobile-programming company, which was based in a rather old building. Since I often clocked out late, I inadvertently gave the other people working there some good scares. After a day's grueling overtime, the last thing you need is to have the dilapidated elevator doors slide open to reveal someone who could pass for The Ring's Samara standing inside (me). 

Samara’s character is named Sadako in the Japanese version of the movie, which was more popular where I live, so they took to calling me "good Sadako." It made me think about the concept of a 'good' ghost that didn't necessarily look the part. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Cover Breakdown: Flirting With Fire by Kate Meader

BY DJ DeSmyter, AUGUST 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

Who doesn't love a hot fireman? If you don't, well, more for the rest of us, I suppose. When I heard about Kate Meader's Flirting With Fire, the first in her upcoming Hot in Chicago series, I was instantly hooked and knew I needed to read this steamy romance starring a PR hotshot and a sexy Chicago fireman. And then the cover was released and I was sold. Take a look:

The first installment in Hot in Chicago, a brand-new, sizzling series that follows a group of firefighting foster siblings and their blazing hot love interests!

Savvy PR guru Kinsey Taylor has always defined herself by her career, not her gender. That is, until she moved from San Francisco to Chicago to be with her fiancé who thought she wasn’t taking her “job” of supporting him in his high-powered career seriously enough — and promptly dumped her for a more supportive and “feminine” nurse. Now, as the new assistant press secretary to Chicago’s dynamic mayor, she’s determined to keep her eye on the prize: no time to feel inferior because she’s a strong, kick-ass woman, and certainly no time for men.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books banner

Petrolio by Pier Paolo Pasolini 

Terribly unfinished, terribly difficult, terribly beautiful and ultimately terrible. A cursed novel (there's a mystery of a missing chapter) where Pasolini would have merged all his languages, if someone had not killed him before. 

Plot: The life of two Carlos. 

Rating: ●●●●○

Consider the Lobster by David Foster Wallace

The quintessence of the modern American essay: to discuss bullshit proving that it's not complete garbage, because sometimes it's connect to very important things. For example: to treat the discussion of vocabulary by bringing up the role of social and philosophical language. Good and funny. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

5 Tradionally Published Authors With Indie Titles Releasing This Year

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

A handful of traditionally-published romance authors have recently announced that they’re trying their hand at indie publishing. Kristen Callihan, Beth Revis and Nalini Singh are all self-publishing romances this fall, and Cora Carmack and Jennifer L. Armentrout, who have already found success self-publishing, also revealed that they're returning to indie publishing for winter releases.

The covers of The Hook Up and The Body Electric


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Danielle's Must-Reads for September

BY Danielle Valente, AUGUST 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

Planning ahead is always good, especially when awesome book releases await us next month. Check out my September Must-Reads for a blend of YA, mainstream and mystery titles that add up to a swoon-worthy TBR list.

Zac & Mia by A.J. Betts

Release Date: September 2, 2014

What It’s All About: It hasn’t been an easy go for 17-year-old Zac. Despite his mother’s subtle terminology like “standard testing” and “precaution,” the Australian native has undergone intense Leukemia treatment. But when newcomer Mia transforms the cancer ward into a party scene — treating patients to a dose of Lady Gaga — things change. The two cannot forget each other upon leaving the hospital, thus the book’s remaining chapters explore their connection post-release.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Sarah Fine Talks Of Metal and Wishes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

Sarah Fine's Of Metal and Wishes is quickly winning over readers with its dark premise and diverse characters. With hints of The Phantom of the Opera, it's not hard to see why readers are already eager for the sequel. Today, Sarah answers some of our burning questions about the novel's setting, the cultural dynamics and diversity in YA. Take a look:

***

The book is set in a slaughterhouse, which is a refreshing and perfectly creepy setting. Can you tell us a little bit about how the setting came to be and how it plays its own role in the novel?

I have been haunted by The Jungle by Upton Sinclair for years, ever since I read it as a teen. A few years ago, I was watching the documentary Food Inc., and there was some hidden camera video of workers, mostly undocumented, working in terrible conditions in a poultry processing plant. The moment I saw that, it reminded me of The Jungle, and I just decided I needed to write a book set in a slaughterhouse. Inspiration can be random like that.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Shelves: 8/12/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Outlander Recap: Episode 1.1 - "Sassenach"

BY Regina Small, AUGUST 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

When I heard that Ronald D. Moore, of Battlestar Galactica fame, was adapting Diana Gabaldon's epic time travel romance, Outlander, I knew I had to watch. So I'll be here each week, recapping all the Scottish sexiness for you. Since this is the pilot episode ("Sassenach"), we have a lot to cover, so let's jump right in!

We open on a sweeping shot of the Scottish highlands, all blue sky and green, rocky outcroppings while a voiceover tells us that "people disappear all the time."

Our narrator, a woman, takes us to a crucial moment in her life: we see her from behind — dark curly hair, a blue overcoat, standing in front of a general store while she voices over that she'd never owned a vase, because she'd never lived anywhere long enough to put down roots and acquire real possessions beyond necessities.

The camera pulls around and we see our narrator/heroine, Claire, for the first time. She desperately wants the vase in the general store window, but doesn't buy it. Spoilers, Claire! But maybe it would've changed everything, she thinks. Um, is it ... is it a magic vase?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Witches of East End Recap: Episode 2.5 — “Boogie Knights”

BY Elissa Petruzzi, AUGUST 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

You guys. A disco episode. Called “Boogie Knights.” I can’t. There’s pornstaches, coke snorting and girl-on-girl action — and that’s not to mention what Tentacle Man does to Dash! Let’s get to it!

Julia’s casting a spell outside in the dark, which seems to be her way of saying goodbye to Victor (this will be the only mention of the dearly departed patriarch, so savor it) when she’s interrupted by a whoosh and a glowing scale.

Aaaaand we head back to the 70s as Freya dreams. Jenna Dewan gets to show off her dancing moves as Killian bartends. You guys, the outfits. What I wouldn’t give to be an extra (Lifetime, call me!). She calls Killian out on the dance floor and a 70s Dash (replete with gold chain, I can’t) gets mad and glowers. It’s amazing. As are Killian’s side burns and Dash’s moustache. The costume department clearly had fun here. Freya tells Killian to meet her in the bathroom, where she heads to snort some coke! Killian arrives and they make out. Buzzkill Ingrid wakes her up.

The greatest.
source


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Reveal: Below The Belt By Sidney Halston

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Cover reveal time! You ready? Today we're pleased to reveal the brand spanking new cover of Sidney Halston's Below the Belt, third in her Worth the Fight series about sexy MMA fighters.

There's no official blurb for the book yet, but here's what the author has to say about the story and the cover:

"Hope you all love Tony Marino, the hero of Below the Belt. He's the Cuban bad boy kickboxer from Worth the Fight Academy; the epitome of tall, dark and handsome. I can picture him getting out of the beach before heading to the nearest club in South Beach to cause a ruckus, flirt with the ladies and do a few laps on the dance floor. Hopefully, he hasn't gotten into another fight. I've been thinking about why his shirt is ripped and I have all sorts of theories about that — most lean toward naughty. But, I'd love to hear everyone's take on that ripped shirt."

Ready for the cover? (It's a hot one.) 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST