RT Daily Blog

Witches of East End Recap: 2.3 - "The Old Man and the Key"

BY Elissa Petruzzi, JULY 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

All right, it’s time for more Witches! This week: some slightly confusing backstory and a shirtless (but bloody) Freddy! 

We start with a flashback, the first of the season, if you can believe it. Jo, dressed in trippy white robes, comes through the portal, sans Freddy. Back in real time, Jo covers a sleeping Freddy with a blanket, discovering the symbol branded on his chest. Jo rushes to tell Wendy: it’s the king’s symbol, which Wendy exposits is the ultimate symbol of loyalty to bad granddad. Jo admits to having suspicions about her son. Never fear, our girl Wendy has plan!


You know you missed the crazy flashback wardrobe.

source

Freya, looking smoking in a blue bustier — because that’s what I wear when I fly, sure — is ready to chase after her man. She’s saying goodbye to Ingrid, who’s packing. They remind us that Dash has powers, and Freya says “shit!” “Did she just say shit? They can do that?” my husband asks. Indeed! Ingrid wants to help Dash, Freya wants to leave him alone. Freya follows a packing Ingrid into the hall closet, where they discover a door. It’s locked. Jo lies badly, telling them it’s just leftover from the remodel. The girls clearly don’t believe her. “Why are you being weird?” Freya asks her mother, speaking for all of us.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Forewords - The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHORS

Mainstream - In Bob Prohel’s debut, Unstable Molecules, the former bookseller tells the story of four people whose lives cross paths in an alternate universe of comic-cons. Readers will meet former sci-fi TV star in the midst of a mysterious cross-country road trip. Coming soon in 2016.

Historical Fiction - In Alyssa Palombo’s The Violinist of Venice, passion and music come together as composer and priest Antonio Vivaldi and his secret mistress let their love continue to grow. Set in Venice, this heartwrenching tale is sure to leave readers breathless.

NEW SERIES

New Adult - Surrender, the first in Violetta Rand’s Devil’s Den series, stars a sexy MIT graduate who returns to his Texas hometown and meets an alluring college student who works as an exotic dancer.


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 7/18/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week with the Million-Dollar Maverick?

Here's what you missed on the RT site!

***

PARANORMAL ROMANCE: We breakdown Alexandra Ivy's latest cover! Break It Down >>

EROTICA: Read this week's hot Hump Day Excerpt! Get What You Need >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Mala shares her love for recent Loveswept titles! Read More >>

SCIENCE FICTION: Read our bonus Q&A with John Scalzi. Keep Reading >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Amazon Launches Kindle Unlimited

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

In its continued attempts to win the Iron Throne of Booklandia, Amazon has formally announced their ebook and audiobook subscription service, Kindle Unlimited. Rumors of the service had been swirling for the past couple of weeks, and the service officially launched this morning.

For $9.99 a month, Kindle users can access 600,000 Kindle ebooks and over 2,000 audiobooks from Amazon’s Audible service. Kindle Unlimited subscribers will be able to access up to 10 books at a time. Titles offered include The Hunger Games series, Tolkein’s classic The Lord of the Rings trilogy and other contemporary bestsellers. However, titles from the "Big Five" (Simon and Schuster, Harper Collins, Penguin Random House, Macmillan and Hachette) are not included, not a big surprise given the current dispute between Amazon and Hachette.

While the service is currently only available to U.S. residents, those eligible will have the option of signing up for a free 30-day trial and a free 90-day audiobook trial. Additionally, readers do not need a Kindle device to use the service. Readers can continue using devices that support Kindle's free reading apps, including tablets and mobile phones.


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling our favorite Tweets. 

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Breakdown: Blood Assassin by Alexandra Ivy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

We're back with another cover breakdown! The hero on the cover of Alexandra Ivy's upcoming Sentinels novel Blood Assassin made us do a double-take, and he's got an equally striking woman by his side. Clearly, this calls for a cover breakdown. First let's find out what this story is all about:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

DJ's August Must-Reads

BY DJ DeSmyter, JULY 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

As July starts winding down - can you believe we’re already halfway through the month?! - I can’t help but think about all the drool-worthy books releasing in August. Today I’m sharing my picks for next month, which is a nice mix of contemporary romance, Young Adult and New Adult. Take a look:


Mr. Right Goes Wrong by Pamela Morsi

When: August 1, 2014

What It’s All About: Mazzy moves back home with her son in an attempt to rebuild her life, even if that means working for her ex. Mazzy’s not looking for love, but sweet and reliable Eli Latham still has his eyes — and heart — set on her, even after loving her for years and being burned more than once. He knows Mazzy has a thing for bad boys, so Eli decides it’s time to ditch Mr. Nice and channel his inner bad boy. Will his makeover finally win Mazzy over or is she the one who has to change in order to find happiness?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

How To Save Money On Ebooks: A Bargain-Hunter's Guide

BY Elisa Verna, JULY 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

I know I’m not alone in admitting I have an ebook hoarding problem. The allure of 99-cent novels and accumulating books that don’t take up physical space (I live in NYC, space isn’t cheap) is something I just can’t resist.

And I’ve become a master at not paying full price for ebooks. With so many sales, discount codes and loopholes, why should anyone? I’m not saying I won’t pay full price for a book, I absolutely will and have. If there is a book I must have immediately, I will pay for it as soon as it’s available. I’ve even paid for books I’ve gotten review copies of, because if something is that good and I want to support the people who worked hard to create it, I will.

I just can’t pay full price for every single book I buy because of this elusive thing called money. So below are my tips for scouting out deals and making sure your bank account isn’t demolished by your growing collection of ebooks.

1. Libraries

Free books! Many libraries are adapting to ebooks with digital lending. While this service varies among libraries, it’s worth checking out what your local library offers in terms of ebooks. The NYPL has a whole section of their website dedicated to ebooks and managing lending services online.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

A Night to Surrender by Tessa Dare

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Modern Love bundle by various authors

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy it On B&N For $0.99 >>

 

New Adult

All Lined Up by Cora Carmack

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win A USB Dive Containing 300+ Romance Ebooks!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

If you attended this year's RT Booklovers Convention in New Orleans, you likely got a Smashwords USB drive with your registration bag. People were snatching them up like they were free books — because they contain cover 300+ free ebooks! They also include the May and June issues of RT Book Reviews magazine and a Smashwords ebook publishing kit. For those of you who didn't attend RT Con, or if you somehow misplaced your USB drive among the mountain of swag you took home with you, we've got extras and we're giving them away!

To enter, we ask that you do one of two things:

1. Sign up for our monthly newsletter.

If you don't already get our monthly newsletter, you can opt in below:



2. Sign up for a free trail digital subscription to our magazine.

Not a subscriber? Let us woo you with 4 free digital issues! You can sign up here.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST