RT Daily Blog

Debut Author Spotlight: Jenn Bennett

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

Name: Jenn Bennett

Book: Kindling The Moon

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Current Home: Atlanta, GA

Author Icon: That would be a toss-up between Phillip Pullman (who is both brilliant and rebellious), or Anaïs Nin (the for the same reasons).

Favorite Word: My husband says that any answer other than "Sasquatch" is incorrect. But I think I'll go with "whiplash," which is both violent and graceful at the same time. 

What inspired you to start writing?

Almost three years ago, I lost a corporate job that I hated. Instead of rushing to find another one, I decided to try something crazy and important. A couple of months later, I'd written my first manuscript. It was terrible, as first-tries often are, but in a few months, I'd end up writing what later became Kindling The Moon.

How long did it take you to finish writing Kindling The Moon? What was the process for selling it?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Cheaper by the Dozen: This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

Little Miss Independent by Julia Templeton

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Daffodils in Spring by Pamela Morsi

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

The Strange Case of Finley Jayne by Kady Cross

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Podcast: James Barney On The Genesis Key

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

In honor of our Mystery Month we spoke with author James Barney, who has just released his debut novel, The Genesis Key. The story is a fast-paced thriller about a talented biologist who stumbles into an amazing discovery that has everyone from government agents to terrorists after her. Today Barney shares an insider's look at his new novel with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. Listen to the podcast below to find out about the role that fruit flies play in this thriller and what happens to an ordinary woman who gets caught up in a dangerous situation. The author also reflects on instances that technology meets religion and the moral implications of this intersection.

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Insecure Heroes And Heroines Risk Their Hearts In This Month's Harlequin Historical Romances!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month Harlequin introduces readers to four historical characters who must overcome insecurities. From the desserts of Arabia and the wilds of the Scottish highlands to glittering Regency ballrooms, can these troubled men and women overcome their fears to find their happily ever afters?

 

The Governess and the Sheikh
By Marguerite Kaye

Regency lady Cassandra Armstrong was burned by love when her fiance deserted her at the alter. Determined to never fall pray to the foolish emotion again, she travels to Arabia to accept a position as a governess. But when sparks begin to fly with her charge's father, Prince Jamil al-Nazarri, can this widower convince Cassandra that he truly loves her?

Read The Review >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Magazine Extras: Author Dan Burstein Answers Our Questions About His Stieg Larsson Nonfiction

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

Stieg Larsson mania continues, with speculation about the late author's "lost fourth book" and film adaptations from both Sweden and the United States (the first U.S. film is scheduled for a December release). Fans of Larsson and his trilogy will certainly want to check out the new nonfiction title, The Tattooed Girl: The Enigma of Stieg Larsson and the Secrets Behind the Most Compelling Thrillers of Our Time by Dan Burstein, Arne de Keijzer and John-Henri Holmberg. In our September issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine, RT's Managing Editor Liz French excerpted Dan Burstein's answers to her emailed questions about the book; here is the complete, unedited Q&A with the author.

LF: Normally my first question would be, WHY cover this author and his books, but it’s a no-brainer — megabestseller, tragic early death, contentious heirs, kick-ass heroine, etc. But I would like to hear how you came around to liking the series so much that you devoted a book to it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cozy Corner: Donna Andrews' The Real Macaw

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

Mystery author Donna Andrews is beloved for her slightly screwball cozy mystery series which continues this month with The Real Macaw. This novel is heroine Meg Langslow's thirteenth full-length adventure and over the course of the stories she has met her husband, gotten married and recently given birth to twins — all while solving capers along the way. But what truly sets Andrews' plucky blacksmith heroine apart from the crowd is that Meg's home is frequently 'taken over' by whatever crime she is currently trying to solve. In Six Geese A-Slaying her home is the meeting place for the Caerphilly Christmas parade and in Stork Raving Mad her houseguest is murdered. In the author's own words, Meg is "bringing home murder." Today the author gives us an insider's look at amateur slueth heroine and Meg's very busy home. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Aron Warner's Pariah To Be Released This Week — Read The Web Exclusive Review!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

Film producer Aron Warner's newest project, a co-written comic book series about teens who are the result of a genetic mutation experiment, has been on our radar since it was first announced in February. We brought you more news of the series in the June issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS when author and RT Senior Contributor Anne Elizabeth got a chance to talk with Warner.

In the interview, Warner revealed his inspiration for the series. He also described how he met the artist he and his co-writer, Philip Gellat, would use to illustrate the series, Brett Weldel.

Finally, this week the much-anticipated comic series will be debuting at the San Diego Comic Con with Pariah!


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Catherine Coulter Talks Suspense, Romance And Her New Novel!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Catherine Coulter's latest tale of suspense, Split Second, hits shelves today. Now you can go behind the scenes of her newest story with this video interview. The author chats with RT's Morgan Doremus about transitioning from writing historical romance to suspense — a choice she made on a whim — and why she enjoys crafting these mysteries. And her romance fans will be thrilled to learn that she will also be returning to her roots this November with her upcoming novel, The Prince of Ravenscar.

Catherine Coulter On Writing Stories Of Romance And Suspense >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Shelves Tuesday 7/19/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

CODE OF THE WOLF

"[Krinard’s] latest is a powerhouse with all the grit and harshness of a traditional western with the added tension of beasts on the rampage.”

PRACTICAL WIDOW TO PASSIONATE MISTRESS

“With the first in her new trilogy, Allen hooks readers with her charming and well-portrayed characters, especially the secondary cast.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside the Issue: September 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

The September issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS will be in stores soon. Here are some of the stories you can look forward to:

Christy Reece gives us a sneak peek inside the latest trilogy in her Last Chance Rescue romantic suspense series.

Romance author Cathy Maxwell chats about her popular historical romances with fellow author Renee Bernard.

We turn the spotlight on the industry trend of embargoing books and investigate why some publishers are refusing to provide review copies before the universal release date and how this practice affects readers.

Authors are getting high-tech and digitizing their out-of-print books, making them available for a new generation of fans.

Fans of ABC's hit show Castle will be thrilled to learn that the show's fictional hero, Derrick Storm, is making his graphic novel debut. We've got all the details!

Discover how authors are using fictional circuses and freak shows to entice readers.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST