RT Daily Blog

Free E-Read: Naomi Novik's Short Story "Vici" Is Available Now

BY Janine Johnston, JANUARY 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

I have to admit, I’ve never really been into dragons. Book, film, or otherwise, the fire-breathing serpentine creatures just didn’t do it for me. Generally I choose science fiction over fantasy, so there aren’t many fantasy creatures on my bookshelf to begin with. However, my dragon aversion ended when I picked up His Majesty’s Dragon by Naomi Novik after her book signing at last year’s New York Comic Con. (That’s a solid five years after the book was published.)

Let me tell you, I absolutely adored the book. I was enthralled by Captain Laurence and his talking dragon Temeraire. Since then, I have been swept up in the author's universe, which weaves dragons into the Napoleonic era. Novik skillfully mixes fantasy and history to create a believable world. And all my hours of enjoyment are thanks to the excellent job that the first story did of winning over this sci fi reader.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


The January 2012 RT Seal Of Excellence Winner Is ...

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

Each month RT Book Reviews’ editors award the RT Seal of Excellence to one book that is not only compelling, but stands out from the more than 250 books reviewed in that issue and on the website.

So which novel won the January 2012 RT Seal of Excellence and what other titles were contenders for the Seal this month?

Here's your hint: Sparks erupt when a cop and a thief team up to try to survive a mob hit!

Find Out Now >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What’s The Best Book Cover Of The Month? Take The Poll!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

We received such a great response from asking readers what they thought were The Best Book Covers of 2011 that we’ve decided to make this a monthly feature. The winning cover for 2011 was hands down The Perfect Play by Jaci Burton, but what will you choose for January 2012? Take a look at our top ten picks and then cast your vote in the poll at the end of the post!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
20COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

The Duke's Night of Sin by Kathryn Caskie

Buy For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Return of the Runaway Bride by Donna Fasano

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

Slumber by Samantha Young

Get It For Free >>

     


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Whitney And Elissa Dish: Julie Anne Long's How The Marquess Was Won

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

Want to find out How the Marquess Was Won? You’ll have to read Julie Anne Long’s latest historical romance in her Pennyroyal Green series. But today you can get a taste of the tale in a very special guest Dish with Whitney and RT Senior Editor Elissa Petruzzi!

Whitney: So I think it’s important to start out by saying, I totally take pride in the fact that I introduced you to Julie Anne Long’s Pennyroyal Green books. 

Elissa: Ha! I fully give you credit for handing me I Kissed an Earl this summer. And therefore I also blame you for when I accosted Julie Anne Long at RWA Nationals, gushing over how much I love her series. Pennyroyal Green: it’s the Stars Hollow of historical romances. 

Whitney: The series certainly delivers. It's small-town romance, historical style, and Long’s latest, How the Marquess Was Won, is no exception. There’s the author’s signature witty banter, an excellent romance and a cast of extremely lovable characters. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five Reasons To Read Christine Feehan's Spirit Bound

BY Morgan Doremus, JANUARY 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Christine Feehan’s newest release is Spirit Bound, the second book in her paranormal Sea Haven series. A spin-off of the author's Drake Sisters novels, the Sea Haven books take place in the same fictional town on the California coast, which attracts those with supernatural gifts. In this outing, Stefan Prakenskii has been called to Sea Haven, or rather ordered to the town, to investigate Judith Henderson, a beautiful artist who has caught the attention of a dangerous criminal. Stefan adopts the persona of a mild mannered businessman in order to blend in, but living in a place where powerful psychics are the norm, Stefan cannot hide his gifts. He also finds it impossible to hide his feelings for Judith, which is unusual for Stefan who has been trained since childhood to stay emotionally detached from everything and everyone. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ten Places Now Accepting Manuscripts: January Edition

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

Aspiring authors, we know that it can be disheartening to look out into the abyss of potential publishing houses and only see the same old phrase, “no unsolicited manuscripts accepted.” These days many of the major publishing houses rely on their ties with literary agents and in-house promotions to find new authors. But don’t despair; today we’ve come up with a list of ten places — from off-the-beaten path publishers to special back doors of the big-name houses — that would welcome your query letter, manuscript or submission. 

***

Carina Press: Executive Editor Angela James recently put out a call for a contemporary romance trilogy or series. Apparently, James had such a great time with Shannon Stacey's Kowalski Family series, that she wants more, more, more! James says she is looking for each book to be around 70,000 words, but novella lengths are also welcome. As are steamy erotica, paranormal and urban fantasy tales. Get the specifics here.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Rod Rees On How To Survive The Dangerous Virtual World Of The Demi-Monde

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

Rod Rees' sci fi debut The Demi-Monde: Winter transports readers to what a RT reviewer calls "a place that is part Matrix, part Star Trek holodeck and highly entertaining", a place known as the Demi-Monde. A virtual space created to train soldiers for combat, this world contains a myriad of secrets, twists and turns, which heroine Ella must navigate in order to save the president's daughter from the dangers that lurk here. Today, the author shares a look at this virtual reality and gives RT readers insight into this world with a piece of original artwork that includes several essentials for surviving the Demi-Monde.

Enlarged View Of "Surviving The Demi-Monde" Infographic >>

Rod Rees Explains the Demi-Monde:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Go Between The Covers With Jayne Ann Krentz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Jayne Ann Krentz aka Amanda Quick, is an undeniable maven of romance. With over one hundred and twenty published tales under her belt, she is a true genre superstar. Today the talented author sits down with RT's Morgan to chat about the author's three favorite elements to include in her writing: romance, suspense and a psychic edge. Hear from Krentz about what it's like to write under several very different pen names. And then get an insider's look at the new trilogy that kicks off with her most recent release, Copper Beach. Find out everything you need to know just before Krentz's latest hits stores!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Adventures In Self-Publishing: Alexis Harrington On The Decision To Self-Publish — And Becoming An Amazon Montlake Author!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

With our new column Adventures in Self-Publishing, we bring you at look at this ever-expanding market. Today, author Alexis Harrington answers our questions about her self-published tale Home by Morningand what happened when the story was picked up by Amazon's new romance imprint, Montelake.

If you had to describe the story of your historical tale Home by Morning in one (very modern) tweet, what would it be?

A pandemic, treachery, heartbreak, the fire of a lost love rekindled—all this and more is yours in Home by Morning by Alexis Harrington.

Why did you decide to focus on a story that is so much about medicine at the turn of the century?


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST