RT Daily Blog

Victoria Thompson's Historical Mystery Series Evolves

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month Victoria Thompson's thirteenth installment of her long-running mystery series hits shelves, Murder on Sisters' Row. So we asked the author to give us a special look at the evolution of her series and the world of the Gaslight Mysteries!

When I started writing the Gaslight Mysteries, set 1890’s New York City, I had no idea that I would discover “the more things change, the more they stay the same.” What has surprised me most about the research I do for the series is that the problems people were dealing with back then are the same problems we’re dealing with today. In Murder on St. Mark’s Place, the murder victim is a young woman whose only sin was trying to find Mr. Right. In those days, young women had just started working outside the home for the first time in history and courtship rituals had suddenly changed to allow men and women to go places together, unchaperoned. The women would go to dangerous places to meet prospective husbands, dance houses where they could partner with eligible men who would buy them drinks. Sometimes they found the man of their dreams, and sometimes they ended up raped or murdered. Just like today.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


The Librarian's Quest with Robyn Bachar

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Robyn Bachar invites readers behind the scenes for an up-close look at the paranormal world of her two most recent e-books.

When I began building the supernatural world of The Importance of Being Emily and Blood, Smoke and Mirrors, there were a few must-have details that I wanted. First, it was important to me to not have any “accidental” vampires. If a magician wants to live forever, she’s going to have to study her butt off, put in years of training, and run the risk of the transformation not working at all. Second, I wanted to include a wide variety of paranormal creatures and magic users. Witches, shapeshifters, faeries, sorcerers, seers, librarians—

Yes, librarians. Magic librarians. Even vampire librarians.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kate Douglas Shares How Wolf Tales Came To Be ...

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

In honor of wrapping up her incredibly popular Wolf Tales series, author Kate Douglas hosts a very special giveaway and reflects on the evolution of the erotica series which spawned a publishing imprint, more than twelve stories and a legion of fans. Today Douglas goes behind the scenes to take us back to the very beginning of the Wolf Tales in a special look at how her pack has thrived!

It feels almost as if it was another lifetime when I sat down and wrote my first chapter of Wolf Tales for Margaret Riley, owner/publisher of Changeling Press. I signed that first contract for Stefan, Book 1 of Wolf Tales, on March 1, 2004. The story had evolved out of a “freebie” 1000 word short I’d written for a reader’s loop about an unconscious young woman who is rescued by an unknown man, has delicious sex all night long and awakens back on the side of the road with no idea who her savior was or if she’ll ever see him again.

Margaret, better known as M to her authors and buddies, had asked me for a short, hot novella to launch her new publishing company. I expanded the short story, decided that my hero was going to be half human and half something else, named him Stefan Aragat and eventually decided he was a shapeshifter who was caught half way between shifts. At first I wasn’t sure what he was going to shift into, but then I did some research and stumbled across a sub-species of Tibetan wolf, locally called "Chanku". From that one word, my series was born.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
43COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cozy Corner: Anna Maclean Reimagines Louisa May Alcott

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

It is not easy to make a historical figure your own, but that is just what author Anna Maclean has done with the New England author Louisa May Alcott. In Maclean's series, Alcott unravels mysteries that befall her friends and family. This series originally hit shelves in the mid-2000s from Signet and this month the series first, Louisa and the Missing Heiress, has been re-released by mystery publisher Obsidian. Today get Maclean shares a look at how she brought Louisa back to life to unravel these very unusual cozy mysteries!

Louisa May Alcott was so wonderfully complex! As a daughter she had to be loyal and useful; as a woman she had to follow the severe conventions of her time without losing her originality; as an author, she managed to find a way to work with so many different areas of her creativity!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Sophie Littlefield

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Sophie Littlefield hit the scene in 2009 with her mystery, A Bad Day for Sorry, which won that year's RT Reviewers' Choice Award for best first mystery. Since that time Littlefield has made a name for herself with her mystery, young adult and paranormal series. Earlier this year, the author's post-apocalyptic novel Aftertime captured March's Seal of Excellence award. Today the author gives readers an insider look at her writing process, continuing series and more in this video interview with RT's Senior Editor and RT Reviews Coordinator Stephanie Klose.

Sophie Littlefield shares an insider's look at her writing and series! >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

ON THE BOOKSHELVES TUESDAY 6/14/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week. 

Historical RomanceMystery/Suspense/Thriller
  
 When Passion Rules
by Johanna Lindsey

“She takes a classic captive/captor theme and fairy-tale elements and weaves them into a love story that will resonate with readers.”
  Stagestruck
by Peter Lovesey

“Lovesey’s lovable technophobe believes in investigating the hard way, and the result is a classic police procedural filled with red herrings, unexpected twists and a delightful cast.”
       

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

AUTO BUY AUTHORS

Paranormal Romance - Gena Showalter will be releasing four more in her popular Lords of the Underworld series. She will also be working with Harlequin on a brand new series that netted her a seven-figure deal. 

Contemporary Romance - Bestselling author Sherryl Woods has also just signed a seven-figure deal for her next six novels, and we can’t wait for more of her special brand of modern-day love!

Erotica – Those looking to spice up their reading habits are in luck, Berkley Heat has just announced that they will be publishing two more contemporary erotic romances from the sizzling pen of Lauren Dane


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Erica Bauermeister On The Multiple Main Characters In Joy For Beginners

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

Mainstream author Erica Bauermeister gives readers an insider's look at her new release, Joy for Beginners. Today she chats about the bond that she formed with each of the seven main characters in the tale as she brought them to life for the story. 

As the fourth of five deeply idiosyncratic siblings, as someone who has lived in Los Angeles, Washington DC, San Francisco, Seattle, and an ancient walled city in northern Italy, contemplating the world through someone else's point of view has always been a crucial life skill for me. As a result, while many people are interested in the right and wrong of someone's opinions, I have always been more drawn by the why. In college in the 1970s, two of my favorite books were Anne Tyler's Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant and William Faulkner's The Sound and the Fury — both tales told through multiple narrators, with sympathy given to every one. I found the structure of those novels to be a mirror for how I saw the world, as a whole constructed of often wildly varying perspectives.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 6/10/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your last week Behind the Palace Walls?

Here's what you missed on the RT website.

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Hannah Howell's hero has a powerful secret weapon. Learn What It Is >>

MAINSTREAM: This book was inspired by the author's experiences travelling. Which Novel Is It? >> 

PARANORMAL: Amanda Havard goes behind the scenes of her debut novel. Get The Insider Details >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Four Damsels In Disguise From Harlequin Historical

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month Harlequin introduces readers to four historical heroines who find themselves in situations where they must pretend to be something they are not. From Regency ballrooms to the Wyoming frontier, find out how these women end up in these situations – with sometimes hilarious outcomes!

 

Dangerous Lord, Innocent Governess
By Christine Merrill

To investigate her cousin’s suspicious death, heroine Daphne Collingham poses as the governess to the widowed Lord Colton’s youngsters— despite lacking any knowledge about how to raise children. Will Daphne be able to juggle her feisty charges, the feelings that she develops for their father and solve the mystery?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST