RT Daily Blog

The October 2011 RT Seal Of Excellence Winner Is ...

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Each month RT Book Reviews’ editors award the RT Seal of Excellence to one book that is not only compelling, but stands out from the more than 250 books reviewed in its latest issue and online.

So which novel won the October 2011 RT Seal of Excellence and what other titles were contenders for the Seal this month?

Here's your hint: Readers will meet a hunky vet and several adorable animals in this smalltown contemporary romance!

Find Out Now >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Snapshot: What We're Reading, Researching, And Ready For

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

In last week's Snapshot post RT's Morgan was diving into the Chase Brother series by author Lauren Dane, so this week we found out asked the author what she's currently reading, researching and ready to get her hands on.

Lauren Dane is ...

READING ...

 Enigma

The Shining
by Stephen King

The tension in this book is brilliant. Watching Jack's sanity disintegrate as he fights is very powerful and super scary!

 

RESEARCHING ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Delphine Dryden On 'The Lamplighter's Love'

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Delphine Dryden's latest tale, "The Lamplighter's Love", has RT's Dawn Crowne raving, "This novella is steampunk erotica at its best!" What inspired the story that has heroine Mary Cross monitoring the steam engines that keep Victorian England running? Delphine Dryden answers our questions in this exclusive author interview.

***

For such a short story, there is certainly a lot happening in “The Lamplighter’s Love”. There are steampunk mechanisms, a historical setting, a power driven villain and the blossoming love affair between your main characters Mary and Nicholas. When you were first pitching this story to your editor, how did you explain it?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

Lessons in Indiscretion by Karen Erickson

Buy For $2.69 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Sold To The Highest Bidder by Donna Alward

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

Reckless Magic by Rachel Higginson

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Free E-Read: Carrie Vaughn's The Nymph's Child

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

Readers searching for a compelling short fantasy story with a touch of romance should look no further than Carrie Vaughn's short story "The Nymph's Child." This e-read is currently hosted for free at Fantasy Magazine.

Vaughn has made a name for herself with her long-running urban fantasy series about heroine Kitty Norville — most recently featured in the anthology Kitty's Greatest Hits. However, "The Nymph's Child" reads much more like the author's April release, After the Golden Age. While there aren't superheroes in this story, "The Nymph's Child" certainly has several unexpected heroes. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: An Exclusive First Look At Alexis Morgan's Newest Series River of the Damned

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

We were so excited to learn that fan favorite Alexis Morgan has a new series releasing next year that we immediately contacted the author. RT wanted to be the first to bring readers information about the fantasy/romance series River of the Damned along with a peek at the series starter, My Lady Mage, set to hit shelves next summer.

***

First, we've got to ask, is this a Paladin series spin-off or are you embarking on an all-new adventure?

This is a whole new adventure for me, one I’m really excited about. River of the Damned will be my first fantasy romance series, something I’ve wanted to do for a long time. The first story in the series, My Lady Mage, will be released by Signet Eclipse in July 2012.  

My Lady Mage features a woman who can wake the damned, that's a pretty crazy power. Can you share a hint about how she controls it?

Lady Merewen’s family lands are under attack. Desperate to save her people and the horses that she loves, she invokes an ancient spell. At the edge of the river, she calls on the gods for help, asking that they send the Damned, five ancient warriors, to defend her people. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Peggy Webb

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Peggy Webb, author of the Southern Cousins mystery series, chats with RT's Morgan about crafting her lighthearted cozy mystery stories, how Elvis the crime-solving basset hound came to be and gives us an insider look at amateur sleuth Callie and her latest adventure in Elvis and the Tropical Double Trouble. Plus, get an exclusive look at what's next for Callie and Elvis! New to the series? You can download a free e-copy of the first Southern Cousins mystery, Elvis and the Dearly Departed, from Amazon here!

Peggy Webb Chats About Her Southern Cousins Mystery Series >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Susanna Kearsley On The Setting For The Rose Garden — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 05, 2011 | PERMALINK


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
31COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Dueling Trend: Sham Marriages In Historical Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month three new historical romances feature couples pretending to be husband and wife. This got us to thinking, which of these situations rings most true? So to judge these "sham marriages" we decided on three criteria: what is the motivation for the fake marriage, how permanent is it and what's the true Happily Ever After-potential of the marriage. Find out how these three novels stack up and which one comes out on top!

Meet the Contestants:

Always a Temptress
By Eileen Dreyer 

Major Sir Harry Lidge plans to kidnap Lady Kate Seaton on the orders of his government. He certainly never planned on pretending to be her husband, but that is just what the situation calls for when he must help free her from an asylum where her evil brother has stashed her.

Read the Review >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Katie MacAlister Talks Dark Ones, Much Ado About Vampires And More — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

It's the second day of our month-long spotlight on Paranormal reads. And it seemed fitting that we bring you an insider's look at one of the genre's most popular series. Today Katie MacAlister chats with RT's Whitney about her ever-evolving Dark Ones series, the upcoming ninth novel set in that world, Much Ado About Vampires, and her career over the last decade. Don't miss your chance to go behind the scenes of Katie MacAlister's work with one of her biggest fans — and find out what you can expect from the author next!

WHITNEY SULLIVAN: In Much Ado About Vampires your heroine Corazon discovers that not only is she a reincarnated soul — but in her last life she was a vampire’s mate. Oh, and she’s seen him kill someone. This is not an easy (or baggage-free) way to start a relationship — so how did you know that Cora and this sexy bloodsucker were meant for each other?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST