RT Daily Blog

How Ciji Ware Writes About Disaster - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today Ciji Ware gives readers an insider look at how she creates the disasters in her novels. And don't miss your chance to win your own copy of her newest novel, the historical fiction tale, A Race to Splendor!

“…Blindly Amelia inched along a floor pitching as violently as the deck of a boat in a midwinter storm. Her hands touched the threshold opening onto the ninth floor foyer at the instant the glass transom over her head exploded into a thousand pieces…She crumpled beneath the doorframe, curling into a ball…and screamed again as a twenty-five foot expanse of wood paneling and masonry pitched outward and plunged nine stories to Montgomery Street below. She knew that no structure on landfill, no matter how well built, could withstand much more shaking without collapsing. Then, just as suddenly, the convulsions subsided.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


A Video Interview With The Author Of Agonizing Love: The Golden Era Of Romance Comics

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Michael Barson has just released Agonizing Love: The Golden Era of Romance Comics, a collection of romance comics that were popular in the 1940s and '50s. With titles like "Flame of Jealousy" and "Was I a Wicked Wife?" as well as quizzes, reader letters and articles on romance, this is a collection that is sure to please die-hard romantics, comic enthusiasts, art lovers and history buffs. Today Barson chats with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus about what "Love Comics" are and why these tales are relevant to contemporary readers even though stories like these are no longer published.

Michael Barson On Agonizing Love: The Golden Era of Romance Comics >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Stephanie Julian's What A Goddess Wants

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Stephanie Julian's upcoming series Forgotten Goddesses which begins in July with What a Goddess Wants. We go beyond the back cover blurb with the author who shares how this erotic paranormal romance puts a new spin on little known Etruscan goddesses.

***

What a Goddess Wants is the first in the Forgotten Goddesses erotic romance series from Sourcebooks Casablanca. The book features a beautiful goddess, a handsome hero, a nasty blue demon and a magical community that’s coexisted with ours in secret for several millennia.

Tessa is the Etruscan Goddess of the Sun, formerly adored by millions (well, that might be pushing it a little), but who’s now living in relative obscurity in Reading, Pennsylvania, where much of the Etruscan population has been settled for two hundred years.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Any Man Of Mine By Rachel Gibson

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

The course of true love does not run smoothly in Rachel Gibson's newest novel, Any Man of Mine. Pro hockey player Sam LeClaire broke Autumn Haven’s heart when he left abruptly the morning after their quickie Vegas wedding. But their resulting child, Conner, is not an obligation that Sam is willing to walk away from, despite the fact that Autumn wants nothing to do with Sam. Will five years of growing up help these divorced parents bridge the difference between “I don’t” and “I do”?

Whitney: I am notorious around here for my love of Rachel Gibson. She is one of my favorite contemporary romance authors, up there with Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Jennifer Crusie and Susan Andersen. So when I saw this was releasing, I pretty much demanded we read it! 

Morgan: And while I have never read a Gibson before, I couldn’t wait to dive in as soon as I heard this was a sports-themed romance. Ever since SEP’s Chicago Stars series, I have loved these kinds of books. And I thought Gibson did a fantastic job with the scenes on the ice. The guys talking smack, the fights, the pure male testosterone. Good times. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meet Two Debut Authors Who Are Part Of The Dark Days Of Supernatural Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today two YA authors chat about their paranormal YA novels and give you a special look at the making of their debut paranornal tales, Die for Me by Amy Plum and Josephine Angelini’s Starcrossed. (And then don’t miss your chance to win these new novels and more in the Dark Days of Supernatural giveaways all month long!)

Amy Plum Joesephine Angelini
   

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside The Issue: July 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

The July issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS will be in stores soon. Here are some of the stories you can look forward to:

This month we get a special look at Diana Palmer’s Merciless.

Find out what your favorite authors are reading this month.

Check out an interview with the incomparable Catherine Coulter.

We investigate the new trend of novels featuring Cleopatra.

George R.R. Martin chats about his A Song of Ice and Fire book series and the HBO television series that is based on it, Game of Thrones, in a special author interview.

Get the details about Kim Harrison’s Hollows series spin-off: a graphic novel prequel!

Brenda Novak heads to "the big house" for some in-depth research for her new novel.

And author Sarah Mlynowski stops by Teen Scene and more!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Six Historical Tales Of Damsels In Distress From Harlequin

BY Whitney Sullivan, MAY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

The handsome hero riding to my rescue, slaying a dragon, or untying me from train tracks ... it may not be realistic but it's certainly a nice fantasy. While I've got faith that I could eventually rescue myself from any of these situations — given some time and hopefully access to some power tools — occasionally it's nice to kick back and imagine a hero who wants to do the hard work for me. This month's Harlequin Historical romances bring this fantasy to life from the ballrooms of Regency England to the Wild Wild West, these are six tales of damsels in distress and the handsome men who come to their rescue — whether or not they need it!


 

Sir Ashley's Mettlesome Match
by Mary Nichols


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 5/17/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK
Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Paranormal/Urban Fantasy  
  
 Graveminder
by Melissa Marr

“The uber-talented Marr takes her mesmerizing storytelling talents into the adult arena...Outstanding!”
    
       
Science Fiction/Fantasy 
  
 Embassytown
by China Mieville

“Mieville’s latest is a densely written, thought-provoking and challenging story about language and communication.”
  Mirror Sword and Shadow Prince
by Noriko Ogiwara

“Ogiwara’s prose and characters elevate what could have been a mere collect-the-plot-tokens quest.”
       

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Stefanie Pintoff On Secret Of The White Rose And The Art Of Criminology In The Early 20th Century!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are more than a little bit obsessed with Criminal Minds, CSI and Bones, so we were excited to learn about Stefanie Pintoff's new release Secret of the White RoseThe story features a turn-of-the-century sleuth Simon Ziele who uses the era's budding practice of criminology to solve a judge's murder. So we knew we had to ask the author, "what are the CSI techniques of the early 1900s?" 

My historical mystery series revolving around Detective Simon Ziele and early criminal scientist Alistair Sinclair is set in early 1900s New York. It’s a time period I was attracted to largely because of the zeitgeist of this era, which was characterized by a tremendous faith in possibility. People – especially scientists – believed that the next big discovery was just around the corner, certain to change society for the better. Their innovations were revolutionizing all fields and areas of life – criminology among them.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES ALERT

Romantic Suspense - Elle Kennedy will be launching her new series, Midnight Forces, with the upcoming Midnight Rescue. The story will feature two mercenary assassins — one male, one female. 

Young Adult - When 2 fifteen-year-old Southern teens move in together — one wealthy, one poor — they discover a secret that will change both of their lives forever. Belles, the first in Jen Calonita’s four-book series, will release next spring. 

EXCITING DEBUT AUTHORS

Mystery - When Tokyo’s only female detective gets possession of the most dangerous sword ever made will she be able to utilize its power, or will the sword end up using her? Find out in Steve Bein’s debut novel The Sword Scholar


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST