RT Daily Blog

Weekly Web Wrap Up 11/4/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week trying to put A Baby in His Stocking?

Here’s what you missed on the RT Website.

***

INSPIRATIONAL MONTH

HarperCollins is buying publisher Thomas Nelson. What Do You Think Of This Merge? >>

Linda McMaken asks fellow author Ann Gabhart a few questions. Read The Interview >>

Learn about all the RT 2012 Convention events for Inspy lovers. Find Out What's in Store >>

Tamera Alexander shares the southern influence behind her new series. Watch The Video >>

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Sharon Page On When The Heroine Is Right — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today, historical romance author Sharon Page gets readers ready for her new novel, Engaged in Sin. Get a behind-the-scenes look at how the author connected with her newest leading couple, and then don't miss your chance to enter to win a copy of the new novel!

I have so many things I love about writing romance, and I got to experience each one while I was writing Engaged in Sin. First, I got to create a sexy, tortured but noble hero in Devon Audley, the Duke of March. Then, I got to live through my feisty survivor of a heroine, Anne Beddington, who has escaped from a London brothel. Since Anne desperately needs a powerful man’s protection, she works very hard to seduce Devon. When Devon reveals to Anne the reasons why he has nightmares of the battlefield, I was wiping the tears from my cheeks while typing. And of course, I got to savor the happy ending.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
22COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The November 2011 RT Seal Of Excellence Winner Is ...

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

Each month RT Book Reviews’ editors award the RT Seal of Excellence to one book that is not only compelling, but stands out from the more than 250 books reviewed in its latest issue and online.

So which novel won the November 2011 RT Seal of Excellence and what other titles were contenders for the Seal this month?

Here's your hint: This "charming" pirate hero will capture readers' hearts!

Find Out Now >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Romance Author Janelle Taylor Takes On A New Genre!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

Janelle Taylor, the award winning romance author of over fifty novels, has just released her first book for children — How The Zebra Got Its Stripes. 

Romance fans have been reading Taylor’s works since the early 1980s. In the last three decades she has written in many romance subgenre including romantic suspense and contemporary romance. However the author is best known for her historical romance books. (Her 2003 novel, Lakota Flower, won that year's RT Reviewers' Choice Award for Best Western.) 

The author’s newest venture is something entirely different: her first novel for young readers. The story of How The Zebra Got Its Stripes features the wild animals children (and adults) love, and an unexpected Christmas gift they get from Santa. The book is illustrated by Judy Avrett published in traditional and e-book formats by Blue Willow Press.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Classic Elements In The November Harlequin Historical Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

November's Harlequin Historicals contain a bevy of our favorite tropes! There's everything a reader could want, from ghostly visitors to misbehaving children in need of a little tough love. We're sure that this month's offerings will satisfy your craving for a classic story. But if you are looking for a snoozefest, pass these books by — there are no tired tropes here; these talented authors each put their own special twist on these timeless tales.

 

The Lone Rancher
By Carol Finch

Classic trope: The heads of two neighboring ranches fight their mutual attraction.

Quinn Cahill took over his family's ranch after his parents' mysterious deaths. However, he quickly runs into trouble with his neighbor, the feisty Adrianna McKnight. Can these two ranchers overcome their dislike for each other in the face of a common enemy?

Read The Review >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

Simmer All Night by Geralyn Dawson

Get It For Free >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Touching Lace by Anne Rainey

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

Hollowland by Amanda Hocking

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: India Black And The Widow Of Windsor By Carol K. Carr

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

In the second book in Carol K. Carr’s Madam of Espionage series, the author has her heroine, India Black, spend Christmas in the Scottish highlands protecting Queen Victoria from a death threat. But don’t expect this mystery to have the lavish, sumptuous feeling of nobility enjoying a royal retreat that one might expect from this setting. This is a historical like no other! 

Morgan: Forget pomp and circumstance, there is absolutely nothing glamorous about the characters in India Black and the Widow of Windsor

Whitney: Exactly. We see them in all their smelly, dirty, sneezy glory.

Morgan: And the story’s heroine, India, is a culprit of the “uglification” of the era. From calling Queen Victoria, Vicky, to insulting Prime Minister Disraeli’s clothing, India takes these historical figures, so often put on a pedestal, down a few (hundred) notches.

Whitney: And it’s not like India is one of their own, either. She’s the madam of a London brothel!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Tamera Alexander On Bringing The Antebellum South To Life

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

We're spotlighting inspirational reads all throughout November! And what better way to celebrate the genre than taking readers behind the scenes of an anxiously anticipated series? Today we've got a special look at author Tamera Alexander's new inspirational historical romance series, the Belmont Mansion Novels, that begins with this month's new release, A Lasting Impression. In this video interview, the author chats with RT's Morgan about the process of weaving true historical details of the antebellum south into this series that is not only set in the actual Belmont Mansion, but also includes many of the historical figures who lived in (or nearby) the mansion during the era. Alexander also shares a look at the sources that she relied on to accurately bring the age to life. And then find out how the author crafted her characters' spiritual journey, as they learn how to be authentic to themselves and to God.

Tamera Alexander Talks The Belmont Mansion Novels >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Look At Books By The Banks From Author Linda McMaken

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today author and RT Contributor Linda McMaken shares a look at Books By The Banks, the 2011 Cincinnati book festival. See the event through her eyes and check out the mini-interviews she conducted with five of the other published authors in attendance!

For the fifth year Cincinnati has been the hot spot for writers and readers. This year the festival welcomed over 100 authors, from local talent to internationally known bestsellers. The range of authors this year was staggering, from children's authors, to adult bestsellers. 

The one-day festival was free to the public. Readers could stop by the authors table, chat, have books signed and purchase the books all in one place. There were also author panels on regional cooking, classic literature, writing and illustrating children's books and of course, author sessions with Dennis Lehane, Chris Bohjalian and Judy Collins.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Caught On Cover: November 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month several of our favorite celebrities were "caught on cover", their likenesses lifted for November's new releases. Check out who we spotted:

It looks like Amy Acker is returning to the urban fantasy genre — and we couldn't be happier!

 

     


 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST