RT Daily Blog

Cheaper By The Dozen: This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

The Winter Ballad by Barbara Samuel

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Daddy in Training by Michele Bardsley

Buy For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Remedial Magic by Jenna Black

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Video Interview: Mystery Author James Rollins Takes Us Inside Of His Sigma Force Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

All this July we are celebrating Mystery Month, paying tribute to those tales of murder and mayhem, conspiracy and cover-ups, that get our blood pumping. Among those authors whose series we love is James Rollins and his popular Sigma Force books. Today the author, who has just released his newest novel in the series, The Devil Colony, stops by to chat with RT's Morgan Doremus about some of the exciting revelations in this tale — and what fans can expect next.

James Rollins On His New Sigma Force Novel >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Love Heals In July's Harlequin Medical Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Dark and troubled pasts haunt the characters of all four of this month’s Harlequin Medical Romances. These men and women have lost people they’ve loved, suffered from abuse and endured traumas that have soured them on romance. But this month these medical professionals will only get their happily ever afters if they are able to overcome their pasts!

 

When One Night Isn't Enough 
By Wendy S. Marcus

Nurse Allison was a troubled teen who looked for love in all the wrong places. Although she is all grown up, her promiscuous past behavior has her convinced that she can never be in a healthy relationship. Will Doctor Jared be able to change her mind?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: The Girl Who Disappeared Twice by Andrea Kane

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are celebrating Mystery Month on the RT Daily blog, so we thought it would be fitting to check out the first book in Andrea Kane’s new series starter The Girl Who Disappeared Twice, which introduces the Forensic Instincts team, a crime-fighting trio that works just outside of the law to bring criminals to justice. Their latest case is a race against time as Casey and her crew investigates the kidnapping of young Krissy, the only daughter of a powerful judge and lawyer.

***

Morgan: Okay, so the story starts off with a parent’s worst nightmare. A young girl named Krissy is kidnapped in broad daylight. No ransom is demanded and false leads just keep piling up. And since Krissy’s high-profile parents are both well-off and well-known, the police, FBI and others are sent in to find the girl.

Whitney: Among those that join the search for Krissy is the private investigative team Forensic Instincts.

Morgan: And while they have a very unfortunate name, you can’t disagree that the Forensic Instincts team gets results. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mystery Month: Spotlight On Inspirational Mysteries

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

In honor of mystery month, today we are taking a look at some of the latest inspirational stories of suspense, danger and crime-solving that we've reviewed in the magazine. These books have a faith element, but they are easily accessible to most readers — and we suggest that genre fans hungry for more mystery reads check out some of the recent and upcoming titles we've spotlighted below.

OUT NOW

 

The Canary List
by Sigmund Brouwer
Subgenre: Suspense
Our Reviewer Says: “Clear your schedule: this is a one-sit read.”

When Crockett Grey, a teacher who is mourning the loss of his daughter, agrees to let one of his pre-teen students stay at his home, he doesn’t realize this act of kindness will plunge him into the center of a conspiracy that involves the Vatican.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Sarah Porter And Her Underwater World

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

Head underwater for this month's Lost Voices, a dark series starter about unloved girls who transform into murderous mermaids in author Sarah Porter's new series starter. Today the author chats with RT's Whitney Sullivan about her intriguing heroine Luce, the "mermaid mean girls" Luce meets and why this story will ring true for anyone who has ever been part of a clique.

Sarah Porter talks Lost Voices! >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Shelves Tuesday 7/12/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

THE SECRET MISTRESS

"A grand mistress of Regency romance, Balogh always gifts readers with delightful, enthralling love stories layered with depth, humor, emotional intensity, grand passion and just a touch of the unconventional."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Eve Edwards — And Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Eve Edwards shares an insider's look at her new novel, The Other Countess, in this author interview. Find out what it was like to create this historical series starter, what you can expect to find in the next installment of the series — and how to win your own SIGNED copy of this new release!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: From the back cover of The Other Countess, readers know that Ellie is beautiful, penniless, and feisty. But which three traits would Ellie use to describe herself? 

Eve Edwards: She would definitely include “penniless”—this weighs heavily on her mind. “At her wits end” (with her gold-mad father), and mercifully “still with a sense of humour” despite the first two.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

We Announce RT's Seal of Excellence Award-Winning Book For The Month Of July!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Each month RT Book Reviews’ editors select one book that is not only compelling but pushes the boundaries of genre fiction and stands out from the more than 250 books reviewed in its latest issue and online. 

“Because of the sheer number of books we review each month in RT Book Reviews we have a unique perspective on which one is destined for the keeper shelf and therefore deserves our Seal of Excellence,” says Carol Stacy, Publisher and Internet Director. “It is our intention to share this gem with readers and draw attention to a fantastic book they might not otherwise pick up.“


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mystery Month: Five Authors Reveal Their Favorite Death Scenes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

At Thrillerfest 2011 we surrounded ourselves with mystery, suspense and thriller authors. And with so much murder-minded talent in attendance, we took a few minutes to ask five of our favorite authors about the most unique ways they have ever killed off a character.

Legendary author Margaret Atwood’s most memorable death actually takes place off of the page. She quotes the opening sentence from her 2001 novel The Blind Assassin for the death scene she likes the best. “Ten days after the war ended, my sister Laura drove a car off a bridge.” 

RT Managing Editor Liz French and Author Margaret Atwood

Two death scenes came to Michael Palmer’s mind. The first was from The Sisterhood where he says, “I defibulated a character with paddles on the side of their head.” Then in The Second Opinion there was a wheelchair loaded with sharps which was “wheeled toward a victim chained to an MRI machine.” Gruesome!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST