RT Daily Blog

Sneak Peek: Jacquie D'Alessandro's Summer at Seaside Cove

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Jacquie D'Alessandro's upcoming novel, Summer at Seaside Cove. We go beyond the back cover blurb for a special look at this contemporary romance, which the author explains is very different from anything else she has ever written. 

***

First, I’d like to thank RT for giving me the opportunity to give readers a Sneak Peek at my upcoming book, Summer at Seaside Cove. It’s my first contemporary mainstream novel, and I’m so excited about it! All my previous contemporary stories have been either short, category length books or novellas that, because of their tight word count, have focused solely on the romance between the hero and heroine. While Summer at Seaside Cove is at its heart a romance, it’s also a multi-generational story, exploring the intricacies and difficulties of the heroine’s relationships with her mother, sister, and teenage niece. So, while it’s a romance, there’s also a lot more going on. I like to call it Romance--But More. 
 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


On The Bookshelves Tuesday 3/22/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meg Maguire (AKA Cara McKenna) On The Difference Between Writing Romance And Erotica

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month Meg Maguire impressed us with her Harlequin Blaze debut, Caught on Camera. The tale overflows with witty banter between the heroine and hero, who take a chance on their chemistry to turn a work relationship into something much more. Today Maguire, best known for the erotic romances she writes as Cara McKenna, gives us an inside look at her series romance and reveals the challenges of writing across genres. 

Thanks so much for having me today!

For those who haven’t heard of me—which is nearly everyone—I actively write contemporary romance, as well as erotica (under the name Cara McKenna). When I was invited to post, I was asked to talk about the differences I encounter, writing in my two genres. My romances are rather steamy and explicit, so on the surface the differences may not seem so great, aside from the obvious—the numbers of bodies rolling around and the particular bedroom shenanigans they get up to. But the differences run quite a bit deeper than that. The main genre rift for me is all about the external conflict, or lack thereof.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ruta Sepetys On Between Shades Of Gray

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

YA author Ruta Sepetys takes us behind the scenes of her new novel, Shades of Gray, which is based on the true story of the Baltic refugees that survived the ethnic cleansing that was carried out on Stalin’s orders. Learn about the genocide that inspired this story, discover why this atrocity is rarely spoken of in the US and find out about the moments that came together for this tale both heartbreaking and hopeful.

“I will tell you what happened to me, but only if you promise not to use my name.”

That is what I heard while conducting research for my novel, Between Shades of Gray.

Fifty years had passed, yet their hands still shook when they spoke of their experience. Fifty years had passed, but the tears and grief were still raw. Secrets are painful and through my research I learned that secrecy can swallow the voice of an entire generation.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Announcing RT's March Seal Of Excellence: Aftertime By Sophie Littlefield

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

The RT Editors have chosen Sophie Littlefield's Urban Fantasy, Aftertime, as the twelfth Seal of Excellence recipient. This novel captured our editors' attention with the terrifying obstacles in the path of a mother trying to find her daughter in a post-apocalyptic world.

But why was Aftertime awarded the RT Seal Of Excellence and which other titles were contenders for the month of March? 

Find Out >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

AUTO BUY AUTHORS

Mainstream Fiction - Looking for an exotic tale? Award-winning author Isabel Allende never disappoints. Her newest offering, Maya's Notebook, will be published in October of next year. It is set in Berkeley and Chile and follows a young woman whose life is falling apart and her subsequent move to an isolated island off the coast of South America. 

Romantic Suspense - Sharon Sala has just signed a multi-book deal with Mira for several romantic suspense stories. We can’t wait! 

RETURNING FAVORITE SERIES 

Paranormal - Kristina Douglas, aka Anne Stuart, will release the third and fourth books in her series The Fallen. In The Fallen universe, angels no longer allowed in heaven fight demons that are loose on earth. 

NEW SERIES ALERT 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 3/18/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week wishing you had a copy of Girls’ Guide To Flirting With Danger?

Here’s what you missed on the RT website.

***

MYSTERY: Russel D. McLean on how his new novel is “a love song to the PI Genre”. Learn More >>

PARANORMAL ROMANCE: Get a look at Ann Aguirre’s upcoming novel. Read The Extended Excerpt >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Learn more about Lisa Dale’s coffee-slinging heroine. Read On >>

ROMANTIC SUSPENSE: Take a closer look at the two love stories in The Edge of Night. Get The Details >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Lauren Dane's Mesmerized

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Lauren Dane's new novel, Mesmerized. We go beyond the back cover blurb for a special look at this futuristic erotica, which will hit bookstores early April.

***

Mesmerized is book two in my Phantom Corps miniseries, which is part of the Federation Chronicles series of futuristic erotic romances. This one has a little bit of a hat tip to Firefly (loved that show!). 

Mesmerized tells the story of Andrei Solace, one of the elite Phantom Corps team. A man of few words, who does not let too many people in past his silent façade, he’s been a bit of a mystery in the series. 

War has begun to break out and the enemy of The Federated Universes is using ‘Verses on the frontier with Imperialist territory to smuggle. Just what and why is a mystery they’re beginning to solve. So Phantom Corps teams are sent to get answers. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Karen Harper And Erin Quinn On Writing Irish Characters - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! We celebrating the holiday with a very special interview. Karen Harper and Erin Quinn two of our favorite authors who bring the Emerald Isle to life in fiction with their Ireland-set tales! And don’t miss your chance to win Karen Harper’s The Irish Princess and an ADVANCED READER COPY of Erin Quinn’s Haunting Desire at the end of this interview

***

Both of you are obviously attracted to Ireland as a setting for your historicals. What drew you to use Ireland, other, perhaps, than Irish descent?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
28COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Artist Trevor Goring

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Artist Trevor Goring has been illustrating comic books and graphic novels since he was in college. After graduating, he worked on the landmark comic 2000 AD before getting into storyboarding and creating concept art for movies and television. He has worked on such popular projects as Independence Day, X-Men 2 and the Twilight franchise. Today Trevor Goring chats with RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus about his previous projects and what fans can expect next.

Interview with artist/author Trevor Goring >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST