RT Daily Blog

Backstage With A Bad Boy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Jaime Rush gives us an insider's look at the man that RT Senior Reviewer Jill M. Smith calls a “bad boy extraordinaire”. We couldn’t help but fall just a little bit in love Eric Aruda, the hero from February's Top Pick novel Burning Darkness, even though we understand why Fonda Raine wants him dead. Discover why we were desperate for Eric’s story in this special interview and then enter to win your own copy of his adventure!

Fonda Raine lives for one thing: killing Eric Aruda for slaying her lover. But she'll have to be careful--Eric can set fires with his mind. Seconds from plunging a knife into his heart, an assassin tries to take them both out. Now, she must choose: join forces with the man who's burning through her defenses or go down in flames.


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
21COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Forewards - Books Before The Buzz

BY admin, JANUARY 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our new column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

TELEVISION TIE-IN

Mystery: Author Carolyn Hennesy who plays Diane Miller from TV’s daytime soap opera General Hospital, is writing The Secret Life of Damian Spinelli as her character. This novel features the adventures of her fellow character, a computer geek who makes his living as a private detective. 

RE-PUBLISHING NEWS

Paranormal: Cross Buffy with The Walking Dead and you'd probably end up with something like Dana Fredsti's Ashley Drake, Zombie Hunter. Previously published by e-book house Ravenous Romance, Fredsti just signed a three-book deal for the Ashley Drake series to Titan Books. Publication date: TBA.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

We Want To See More Of The Gilded Age!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

We wish there were more historical romances set in the Gilded Age. RT’s Lizzie Poteet gives readers a refresher of the era that was full of Robber Barons, fancy mansions and much more. Then Lizzie speaks with author Laura Lee Ghurke whose new novel, Wedding of the Season, is set during the period. And don’t miss your chance to read an excerpt of Wedding of the Season at the end of the post!

I love historical romances. But when I take a look at my bookshelf, I have the occasional medieval, a couple of Westerns, a shelf of Regencies and maybe even a few Civil War or Revolutionary era novels. I have a thousand and one historical novels, but there is one time period I don’t have: the Gilded Age. And really that’s quite a shame. The Gilded Age was an era of both opulence and destitution, the perfect setting for a romance novel.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 1/19/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your entire week Romancing the Chef?
Here’s what you missed on the RT site.

Romance: Sue-Ellen Welfonder talks strong women in historicals. Who Inspired Her? >>

Fantasy: Get an insider look at Jo Walton’s writing process. Read On >>

Graphic Novel: The Zabime Sisters gets a *Web Exclusive Review*. Read More >>

Erotica: Charlotte Featherstone on the inspiration for her new series. Check It Out >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Elizabeth Eulberg Talks The Talented Mr. Darcy - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

YA author Elizabeth Eulberg wowed us with her “inspired re-interpretation” of Austen’s Pride and Prejudice which re-stages the story in a contemporary exclusive boarding school, Longbourn Academy. Discover how Eulberg transformed Darcy into a teen, and then enjoy an excerpt and enter to win your own copy of Prom and Prejudice!

Ah, Mr. Darcy. There are many words that come to mind when thinking of Jane Austen’s romantic hero: aloof, loyal, handsome, rich, caring, and let’s just say it, sexy (come on, you can admit that you’ve watched Colin Firth emerging soaking wet from the pond in the BBC version of Pride and Prejudice more than once -- oddly enough, that infamous Mr. Darcy scene is nowhere in Miss Austen’s prose).

But what about Mr. Darcy as a high school junior? For my new novel Prom and Prejudice, a modern retelling of Pride and Prejudice, I had the task of taking one of the most beloved characters in literature and turn him into a high school student. No pressure.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
15COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Digital Lending On Your Kindle Or Nook

BY Dear Jane, JANUARY 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

Welcome to Dear Jane, a weekly column based upon reader mailbag questions on anything relating to e-books. No question is too simple or too mundane. We are all learning together. Send your questions Jane@DearAuthor.com with "Dear Jane" in the subject matter.

Dear Jane: I must admit that I'm a little bit befuddled when it comes to the new lending policies that are available on e-readers. Can you tell me what I should know about them? - W.

***

Dear W:

On the Kindle 14 day lending period. The recipient has 7 days to accept the borrowed book and the 14 day lending period begins upon the acceptance. You can lend a book only once.

On the nook 14 day lending period. Lendee has one week to "open" or acknowledge receipt. Once opened, the 14 day clock for lending begins. More here from commenter Joy.

The problem is that few books are lendable. Of my 400+ Kindle books, only a handful are lendable. I hope this changes over time. The lending feature is so restrictive that I can't see it accounting for a lost sale and by offering lending, you are making a digital book have more value.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Night Raven News Interview with Benemerut Neshi

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

Get an exclusive look at Janet Elizabeth Jones' new paranormal series romance, Incubus, as the powerful vampire known as the Alchemist, who transformed the novel's hero into an incubus, speaks to the host of Night Raven News.

Night Raven News: Welcome to another Night Raven News interview with the cast of Janet Elizabeth Jones' paranormal romance Incubus, new from Harlequin Nocturne. If you missed the first two interviews, you can find them here and here. As promised, Night Ravens, we've saved this very special, very elusive guest for last. Please welcome Benemerut Neshi, aka the Alchemist. 

In his human life, Ben was a physician in ancient Cairo. As a vampire, he's the closest thing to a druggist that vampires have, but his efforts to find a way to transform vampires into incubi and succubi have made him an outcast among his own people. It's a deadly process, and only one vampire, Meical Grabian, has survived it. Night Raven News wants to take a closer look at the vampire who made Meical's incredible, if perilous, transformation possible.

Ben, you don't look a day over twenty-five, but I've been told that you're the oldest and most powerful vampire in the New England enclave. 

The Alchemist: I fear it's a dubious distinction. One cannot claim to be the oldest and most powerful of any vampire society. We don't know exactly how many Ancients live on in this world, maintaining a dormant state to escape their intense hunger. That is a compassionate act on their part; if they were to wake, their need would be so extreme that neither human nor vampire would survive it. As for the New England enclave, I'm hardly considered a member of their family. I am, and always will be, an outlaw among them.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Announcing RT's January Seal Of Excellence: Across The Universe By Beth Revis

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

The RT Editors have chosen Beth Revis' debut novel, Across the Universe, as the tenth Seal of Excellence recipient. This futuristic YA adventure captured our editors' attention with its deftly-drawn characters and the way that Revis brought to life the spaceship where those characters are trapped. 

But why was Across the Universe awarded the RT Seal Of Excellence and which other titles were contenders for the month of January? 

Find Out >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sue-Ellen Welfonder's Strong Heroines

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

There's nothing quite like the joy of watching a feisty heroine get her guy in a historical romance. These rule-breaking ladies turn on the sass, outwit the obstacles in their paths and inspire us to turn up the can-do attitude in our own lives. So we were excited to hear that Sue-Ellen Welfonder's newest series is full of women who bring it all to the table. We went right to the author to find out what readers can expect in her newest batch of heroines.

I love strong heroines.

Courageous and resourceful women with enough fire in their blood and steel in their backbone to use wits and wiles to win a hero’s heart and also make a difference in the world they lived in.

My new Highland Warriors trilogy features my strongest ever heroines. In book one, Sins of a Highland Devil (GCP, Jan. 2011), Catriona MacDonald knows bloodshed alone won’t stop the feuding between her family and the two other clans who share a glen. The men see things differently, so this book has more fierce battle scenes than any story I’ve yet written.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside The Issue: March 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

We've just wrapped up the March issue and it will be in stores next week.

Here are some of the stories you can look forward to:

Historical romance maven Sabrina Jeffries talks about her latest heroine taking the ton by storm!

We get all the details about the new book by CJ Lyons and ... Erin Brockovich?

We spotlight the trend of taking pen names with initials.

Meet five debut authors you won't want to miss!

Find out how to support brick and mortar bookstores in the digital age.

Check out a multitude of mini-interviews with writers at the American Christian Writers Convention.

It is round four of the Kensington/RT Writing With the Stars contest!

Convention News: Take a look at the workshops of this year's convention.

Judy Blundell and Carrie Ryan are both featured in Teen Scene and much more!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST