RT Daily Blog

Kimberla Lawson Roby And Ten Tips For Improving Your Relationship

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

In Kimberla Lawson Roby's latest mainstream novel, Love, Honor and Betray, Reverend Curtis Black’s marriage and family are falling apart as he and his wife have extramarital affairs. Now the author talks about cheating and offers her ten tips for keeping your relationship cheating-proof and full of passion.

Love, honor, and cherish…such simple vows. But what happens when they become love, honor and betray? Or maybe a more common question is, why do some married folks feel the need to cheat in the first place? Why do many of them feel as though they just can’t be happy with the same old spouse until death? Well, I’m sure if you asked ten different people, you’d likely receive ten different answers, but in the end, (and this is only in my opinion) it all boils down to one very vital detail: Men and women cheat, because he or she isn’t being treated the way he or she used to be treated when the marriage first began. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Forewords - Buzz Before The Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our new column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES ALERT

Paranormal - Stephanie Tyler begins a new paranormal series, which will feature two groups of werewolves and the problems they have with werehunters and witches. No word on a release date yet, but the first book in the series is titled Dire Needs.

QUICK READS WE CAN'T WAIT FOR

Series - A seemingly sensible executive assistant quits her job and seduces her former boss in Cat Schield’s 2012 release, Winning a Millionaire.

Fantasy - Jay Lake’s contemporary dark fantasy novella about extreme body modification will be published in 2011. Prime Books will release the story, which is titled Love in the Time of Metal and Flesh. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meet Mary Jane Clark's Newest Heroine - With Recipe!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Mystery author Mary Jane Clark shares the inspiration for the heroine of To Have and to Kill, the first story her new Wedding Cake Mystery series. Twenty-something Piper Donovan has just returned home to help out at her mother’s bakery. And don’t miss a special taste of this new heroine with Piper’s Simple Buttercream Icing recipe at the end of this post!

While I was watching television one morning, Martha Stewart appeared to publicize her book: Wedding Cakes. The book featured more than 100 wedding cakes, each one beautiful, luscious-looking and incredibly creative. Each cake was a work of art, a mini-masterpiece. I wanted to see more. I bought the book.

The pages were filled with the most mouth-watering and eye-pleasing visual images: Daisy Garden Cake, Lemon Grove Cake, Pink Lusterware Cake, Banana Orchid Cake, Garden of Sweet Delights Cake, Lily-of-the-Valley Cake, Devils’ Food Finale Cake, Tuscan Grapes Cake, Seven Tier Coconut Cake and on and on. Each cake was as colorful and whimsical as its name implied. Each was expertly designed and executed. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

How To Load Books Onto Your iDevice

BY Dear Jane, JANUARY 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Welcome to Dear Jane, a weekly column based upon reader mailbag questions on anything relating to e-books. No question is too simple or too mundane. We are all learning together. Send your questions Jane@DearAuthor.com with "Dear Jane" in the subject matter.

***

Dear Jane: I just got an iPad for Christmas, but have never worked anything like this device before! I am excited to read books on the iPad, but am totally confused about how to go about it. Help!

-M.

***

Dear M: Not to worry adding books to the iPad, iPhone or iTouch (hereinafter collectively referred to as iThing) is quick and easy to do using a process called sideloading. In order to do this, you must use iTunes. Here is how it is done:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 1/7/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Were you busy all week with the fallout from your Midnight Kiss, New Year Wish?

Here's what you missed on the RT Website.

***

Mystery: Three authors share how food figures into their mysteries with recipes! Get a taste >>

Contemporary Romance: Author Jennifer Greene reflects on the genre's evolution. Read on >>

Historical Romance: Take a trip to the far-flung corners of Regency England. Find out how >>

Inspirational: James L. Rubart reveals the inspiration for his new novel. Learn more >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

All I Know About Being a Romance Heroine I Learned from Powder Puff Football

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

In Then He Kissed Me, by Christie Ridgway, heroine Stephania (Stevie) Baci is the middle of three sisters and the tomboy of the family. On New Year’s Eve Stevie discovers it’s up to her to usher through the nuptials of her ex-boyfriend and his fiancée, scheduled to take place at her family’s winery at the end of the month. Below check out the author's special message about how Stevie copes with her problematic ex and how she puts her tomboy skills to good use when a new man enters into her life.

Stevie knows about powder puff football and poker games, not veils and wedding vows! And her ex kinda sorta broke her heart, not that she wants anyone to know about that. So she can’t refuse, nor can she get away from the bride’s older brother, a half-American, half-European playboy prince who can say “you’re beautiful” in five languages—and seduce her in two seconds flat. Stevie will have to rely on her experience on the playing field to figure out how to make it through her story… Below are Stevie’s Rules for surviving the man intent on winning her love.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Back By Popular Demand: Printable Monthly Book Ratings!

BY Morgan Doremus, JANUARY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

When we redesigned the RT website, we added many new features to the site in our quest to help you "read smarter!" We've expanded our online coverage, broken out the genres to bring you more content and updated the site's look. Now we are thrilled to announce that one of your favorite features from the old site is back.

Lately we've been getting a lot of mail asking about the downloadable PDF list of the current month's book ratings. We heard that this was the list that many readers relied on to take to the bookstore to stock up on reading material. You asked and we listened! Now the complete list of the current month's book ratings is available to everyone. Just check out the sidebar on RT's home page to download the January list or click here >>

Do you have any other suggestions for other ways we can improve the site and help you "read smarter!"? I love hearing from you, feel free to contact me at Morgan@RTBOOKREVIEWS.com.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Three new mysteries each get a *Web Exclusive Review*!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

The multi-faceted mystery genre is out in full force this January. In the January issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine there were tales of suspense, paranormal occurrences, amateur sleuths and much more. And three other diverse January mysteries are each getting a *Web Exclusive Review* today!

Lois Winston starts her new series featuring amateur sleuth Anastasia Pollack in Assault with a Deadly Glue Gun. Travel back in time to solve a mystery about The Attenbury Emeralds with Lord Peter Wimsey and his wife, written by Jill Paton Walsh. And finally it is an embarrassment of mystery novella riches in Joyce Carol Oats' latest anthology, Give Me Your Heart.

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win Tiger's Curse - a January Top Pick!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

"It is a book J.K. Rowling wishes she wrote ..." raves RT Reviewer Meera Patel about Colleen Houck's YA series starter, Tiger's Curse, a January RT Top Pick! 

 

Tiger's Curse, Houck's debut, hooked Patel with its fast-paced adventure about teen Kelsey who gets a chance to travel to India with a tiger, only to learn that he is a prince cursed to spend eternity in animal form. Tiger's Curse will hit shelves this Tuesday but right now you can enter to win your own copy in our special Tiger's Curse Giveaway.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
71COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview with Jennifer Greene

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

Jennifer Greene has been writing tales of romance since the early 1980s. In the past twenty years she has published over 80 novels under three different names, and is still going strong today! Not only is she nominated for an RT Reviewers' Choice Award this year, Carina Press is re-releasing her early as e-books. Now RT’s Whitney Sullivan catches up with the author to get a unique perspective on the many ways the genre has evolved and get a special look at some of the re-releases from Carina Press that have received *Web Exclusive Reviews* on the RT site this season.  

Whitney Sullivan: Carina Press is re-releasing several of your best-selling stories from the eighties; which tale are you most excited to see back in reader’s hands? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST