RT Daily Blog

RT EXCLUSIVE: Excerpts From A Gossip Column

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Pamela Klaffke worked as a journalist before turning her attention to writing novels. So Klaffke is no stranger to the type of writing that keeps a gossip column juicy. In the author's new novel, the January RT Top Pick!, Every Little Thing,  protagonist Mason has been the object of her very own mother's gossip column. We just had to know what sort of intimate details Mason's mother revealed about her daughter, so we asked Klaffke to share a bit from the humiliating newspaper column.

The late Britt Castleman was Mason McDonald’s mother. At the outset of Every Little Thing, Britt has recently passed away due to complications of vaginal rejuvenation surgery and her daughter, Mason, has been summoned back to her hometown of San Francisco for the funeral. She’s been partially estranged from her mother for years, choosing to live in a tiny Canadian mountain town where no one knows of or reads her mother’s embarrassing newspaper column, many of which have detailed the most private moments of Mason’s life.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Lisa Hendrix On The Ten Worst Curses To Endure

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

Lisa Hendrix's paranormal medieval historical romance, Immortal Champion, was rated a January RT Top Pick! RT Senior Reviewer Kathe Robin praised Hendrix's "talent for seamlessly blending magic, myth and romance." So it is no surprise that the Vikings of Hendrix Immortal Brotherhood series suffer from a curse that would make us give up all hope! Discover what this author considers to be the ten worst curses that can be cast on a man or beast.

In the early days of the Viking raids on England, one chieftain heard rumors of a great treasure, and he sent his best men to steal it. Unbeknownst to the raiders, however, the treasure was guarded by a powerful sorceress named Cwen, and when the warriors killed her son in the ensuing battle, she spun dark magic to curse them. She condemned them to live as were-beasts, changing back and forth between man and animal at dawn and dusk every day. And in her fury, she also made them immortal, so that their torment would go on and on...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

From Crude Dragon To A Sizzling Hero - With Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Janet Chapman shares a look at the evolution of a very special hero: William Killkenny. This month William creates sparks with Madeline Kimble in Dragon Warrior. But William first appeared in Chapman's world long before he was ever hero material ...

Every so often a secondary character shows up in one of my stories and catches me by complete surprise with his sheer … loudness. But when two captivating secondary characters appear on the same page—well, that’s why it’s called magic.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
18COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 1/25/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes And Wrongs: About Amazon And The Reader Communities

BY Shiloh Walker, JANUARY 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-weekly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

An Outsider’s Perspective

So I don’t hang out much in reader communities anywhere, at least not anymore. I’ll hit blogs or the occasional forum—poke my head in on Lora Leigh’s forum from time to time, and every now and then, peek into the Jeaniene Frost’s  …I grin every time I go there because the mods are wonderful and they make me laugh.

I just don’t hang out in the reader communities too much—at least not enough to actively participate. Every once in a while, I do. And I lurk in some places. It’s amazing the things you can see when you lurk. What sort of things do I see lurking on Amazon’s reader communities?


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Backstage With A Bad Boy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Jaime Rush gives us an insider's look at the man that RT Senior Reviewer Jill M. Smith calls a “bad boy extraordinaire”. We couldn’t help but fall just a little bit in love Eric Aruda, the hero from February's Top Pick novel Burning Darkness, even though we understand why Fonda Raine wants him dead. Discover why we were desperate for Eric’s story in this special interview and then enter to win your own copy of his adventure!

Fonda Raine lives for one thing: killing Eric Aruda for slaying her lover. But she'll have to be careful--Eric can set fires with his mind. Seconds from plunging a knife into his heart, an assassin tries to take them both out. Now, she must choose: join forces with the man who's burning through her defenses or go down in flames.


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
21COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewards - Books Before The Buzz

BY admin, JANUARY 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our new column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

TELEVISION TIE-IN

Mystery: Author Carolyn Hennesy who plays Diane Miller from TV’s daytime soap opera General Hospital, is writing The Secret Life of Damian Spinelli as her character. This novel features the adventures of her fellow character, a computer geek who makes his living as a private detective. 

RE-PUBLISHING NEWS

Paranormal: Cross Buffy with The Walking Dead and you'd probably end up with something like Dana Fredsti's Ashley Drake, Zombie Hunter. Previously published by e-book house Ravenous Romance, Fredsti just signed a three-book deal for the Ashley Drake series to Titan Books. Publication date: TBA.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

We Want To See More Of The Gilded Age!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

We wish there were more historical romances set in the Gilded Age. RT’s Lizzie Poteet gives readers a refresher of the era that was full of Robber Barons, fancy mansions and much more. Then Lizzie speaks with author Laura Lee Ghurke whose new novel, Wedding of the Season, is set during the period. And don’t miss your chance to read an excerpt of Wedding of the Season at the end of the post!

I love historical romances. But when I take a look at my bookshelf, I have the occasional medieval, a couple of Westerns, a shelf of Regencies and maybe even a few Civil War or Revolutionary era novels. I have a thousand and one historical novels, but there is one time period I don’t have: the Gilded Age. And really that’s quite a shame. The Gilded Age was an era of both opulence and destitution, the perfect setting for a romance novel.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 1/19/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your entire week Romancing the Chef?
Here’s what you missed on the RT site.

Romance: Sue-Ellen Welfonder talks strong women in historicals. Who Inspired Her? >>

Fantasy: Get an insider look at Jo Walton’s writing process. Read On >>

Graphic Novel: The Zabime Sisters gets a *Web Exclusive Review*. Read More >>

Erotica: Charlotte Featherstone on the inspiration for her new series. Check It Out >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Elizabeth Eulberg Talks The Talented Mr. Darcy - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

YA author Elizabeth Eulberg wowed us with her “inspired re-interpretation” of Austen’s Pride and Prejudice which re-stages the story in a contemporary exclusive boarding school, Longbourn Academy. Discover how Eulberg transformed Darcy into a teen, and then enjoy an excerpt and enter to win your own copy of Prom and Prejudice!

Ah, Mr. Darcy. There are many words that come to mind when thinking of Jane Austen’s romantic hero: aloof, loyal, handsome, rich, caring, and let’s just say it, sexy (come on, you can admit that you’ve watched Colin Firth emerging soaking wet from the pond in the BBC version of Pride and Prejudice more than once -- oddly enough, that infamous Mr. Darcy scene is nowhere in Miss Austen’s prose).

But what about Mr. Darcy as a high school junior? For my new novel Prom and Prejudice, a modern retelling of Pride and Prejudice, I had the task of taking one of the most beloved characters in literature and turn him into a high school student. No pressure.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
15COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST