RT Daily Blog

Elizabeth Eulberg Talks The Talented Mr. Darcy - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

YA author Elizabeth Eulberg wowed us with her “inspired re-interpretation” of Austen’s Pride and Prejudice which re-stages the story in a contemporary exclusive boarding school, Longbourn Academy. Discover how Eulberg transformed Darcy into a teen, and then enjoy an excerpt and enter to win your own copy of Prom and Prejudice!

Ah, Mr. Darcy. There are many words that come to mind when thinking of Jane Austen’s romantic hero: aloof, loyal, handsome, rich, caring, and let’s just say it, sexy (come on, you can admit that you’ve watched Colin Firth emerging soaking wet from the pond in the BBC version of Pride and Prejudice more than once -- oddly enough, that infamous Mr. Darcy scene is nowhere in Miss Austen’s prose).

But what about Mr. Darcy as a high school junior? For my new novel Prom and Prejudice, a modern retelling of Pride and Prejudice, I had the task of taking one of the most beloved characters in literature and turn him into a high school student. No pressure.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
15COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Digital Lending On Your Kindle Or Nook

BY Dear Jane, JANUARY 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

Welcome to Dear Jane, a weekly column based upon reader mailbag questions on anything relating to e-books. No question is too simple or too mundane. We are all learning together. Send your questions Jane@DearAuthor.com with "Dear Jane" in the subject matter.

Dear Jane: I must admit that I'm a little bit befuddled when it comes to the new lending policies that are available on e-readers. Can you tell me what I should know about them? - W.

***

Dear W:

On the Kindle 14 day lending period. The recipient has 7 days to accept the borrowed book and the 14 day lending period begins upon the acceptance. You can lend a book only once.

On the nook 14 day lending period. Lendee has one week to "open" or acknowledge receipt. Once opened, the 14 day clock for lending begins. More here from commenter Joy.

The problem is that few books are lendable. Of my 400+ Kindle books, only a handful are lendable. I hope this changes over time. The lending feature is so restrictive that I can't see it accounting for a lost sale and by offering lending, you are making a digital book have more value.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Night Raven News Interview with Benemerut Neshi

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

Get an exclusive look at Janet Elizabeth Jones' new paranormal series romance, Incubus, as the powerful vampire known as the Alchemist, who transformed the novel's hero into an incubus, speaks to the host of Night Raven News.

Night Raven News: Welcome to another Night Raven News interview with the cast of Janet Elizabeth Jones' paranormal romance Incubus, new from Harlequin Nocturne. If you missed the first two interviews, you can find them here and here. As promised, Night Ravens, we've saved this very special, very elusive guest for last. Please welcome Benemerut Neshi, aka the Alchemist. 

In his human life, Ben was a physician in ancient Cairo. As a vampire, he's the closest thing to a druggist that vampires have, but his efforts to find a way to transform vampires into incubi and succubi have made him an outcast among his own people. It's a deadly process, and only one vampire, Meical Grabian, has survived it. Night Raven News wants to take a closer look at the vampire who made Meical's incredible, if perilous, transformation possible.

Ben, you don't look a day over twenty-five, but I've been told that you're the oldest and most powerful vampire in the New England enclave. 

The Alchemist: I fear it's a dubious distinction. One cannot claim to be the oldest and most powerful of any vampire society. We don't know exactly how many Ancients live on in this world, maintaining a dormant state to escape their intense hunger. That is a compassionate act on their part; if they were to wake, their need would be so extreme that neither human nor vampire would survive it. As for the New England enclave, I'm hardly considered a member of their family. I am, and always will be, an outlaw among them.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Announcing RT's January Seal Of Excellence: Across The Universe By Beth Revis

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

The RT Editors have chosen Beth Revis' debut novel, Across the Universe, as the tenth Seal of Excellence recipient. This futuristic YA adventure captured our editors' attention with its deftly-drawn characters and the way that Revis brought to life the spaceship where those characters are trapped. 

But why was Across the Universe awarded the RT Seal Of Excellence and which other titles were contenders for the month of January? 

Find Out >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sue-Ellen Welfonder's Strong Heroines

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

There's nothing quite like the joy of watching a feisty heroine get her guy in a historical romance. These rule-breaking ladies turn on the sass, outwit the obstacles in their paths and inspire us to turn up the can-do attitude in our own lives. So we were excited to hear that Sue-Ellen Welfonder's newest series is full of women who bring it all to the table. We went right to the author to find out what readers can expect in her newest batch of heroines.

I love strong heroines.

Courageous and resourceful women with enough fire in their blood and steel in their backbone to use wits and wiles to win a hero’s heart and also make a difference in the world they lived in.

My new Highland Warriors trilogy features my strongest ever heroines. In book one, Sins of a Highland Devil (GCP, Jan. 2011), Catriona MacDonald knows bloodshed alone won’t stop the feuding between her family and the two other clans who share a glen. The men see things differently, so this book has more fierce battle scenes than any story I’ve yet written.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside The Issue: March 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

We've just wrapped up the March issue and it will be in stores next week.

Here are some of the stories you can look forward to:

Historical romance maven Sabrina Jeffries talks about her latest heroine taking the ton by storm!

We get all the details about the new book by CJ Lyons and ... Erin Brockovich?

We spotlight the trend of taking pen names with initials.

Meet five debut authors you won't want to miss!

Find out how to support brick and mortar bookstores in the digital age.

Check out a multitude of mini-interviews with writers at the American Christian Writers Convention.

It is round four of the Kensington/RT Writing With the Stars contest!

Convention News: Take a look at the workshops of this year's convention.

Judy Blundell and Carrie Ryan are both featured in Teen Scene and much more!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Sabrina Jeffries

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Historical author Sabrina Jeffries is known for her light-hearted Regency romps. But we can't get enough of the family that stars in Jeffries newest series, The Hellions of Hallstead Hall. The author recently sat down with RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus to chat about the latest Hallstead Hellion, heroine Lady Minerva Sharpe, and her romance in How to Woo a Reluctantly Lady. Get all the details about this feisty heroine and learn what's coming next for these lovable hellions!

Sabrina Jeffries on Lady Minerva Sharpe >>

Discover what's next for the Hellions of Hallstead Hall >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 1/18/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cameron Stracher On The Water Wars That May Be - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

In Cameron Stracher’s chilling dystopian YA, The Water Wars, the fast-paced adventure takes place in a bleak world where the lack of water has caused economic and social disasters. Learn what current conditions around the world inspired the author to create The Water Wars and what steps you can take keep this world from becoming our reality. And after you check out this excerpt and *Web Exclusive Review* of The Water Wars at the end of this special message from the author — be sure to enter to win your own copy of the new novel!

The simplest, most elementary thing, can also be the most precious. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cast Your Vote In Writing With The Stars Round Four

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Voting is now open for the fourth round of the Kensington/RT BOOK REVIEWS Writing With the Stars contest!

You've already had a chance to meet the 10 contestants and their mentors and also vote on the best first paragraph and last line of their novel. For the second round of the competition, you read about each contestant's hero and heroine, and then you got to vote on which story had the best back cover blurb. Now you can decide which manuscript has the best secondary character.

You will also get to read comments from each contestant's mentor as well as the thoughts of this round's judge, agent Laura Bradford. 

You can vote once time between now and January 30th, but comment on each manuscript as many times as you'd live. And then get ready to decide which of the remaining contestants has the best love scene when round five opens on February 14th!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST