RT Daily Blog

Author Interview With T. Greenwood

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

Known for her heart-wrenching mainstream fiction, author T. Greenwood's newest novel, This Glittering World, tackles the troubling issue of race relations between the Navajo people and the Americans they live amongst in Flagstaff, AZ. When a young Navajo man dies on Ben's front lawn, his search for answers leads him to re-evaluate his entire life. Now the author shares an insider look at This Glittering World in this in-depth interview!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: Where did the title This Glittering World come from? What does the title indicate about your story?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


The Women of Urban Fantasy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

There’s nothing quite like an Urban Fantasy heroine. She’s a butt-kicking, attitude-filled force to be reckoned with. One who usually has the weight of the world on her shoulders and a snarky attitude to boot. But there are a few heroines out there who are breaking the mold and keeping the genre fresh. Katherine Katt and Jacinda Valcheck are two of these characters who are leaving their unique mark on readers. Now the authors behind these leading ladies share a special look at their unusual heroines!

 

Katherine “Kitty” Katt, of The Alien series by Gini Koch

The Alien series follows Katherine “Kitty” Katt, the world’s best accidental badass, as she discovers first that the Roswell rumors are true -- with a twist -- and then not only learns that there are both good and bad aliens and lots of life on other planets, but gets involved in the fight to protect this planet. As the series goes on, there's more than just parasitic aliens to deal with, as well as more secrets and conspiracies to discover and disrupt.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Victoria Laurie's Homage To Agatha Christie

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Victoria Laurie's newest tale was inspired by the maven of mystery herself, Agatha Christie. Learn how Laurie channeled Christie when crafting the latest novel in the Ghost Hunter Mystery serues, Ghouls, Ghouls, Ghouls.

Several months ago when I was casting about for a new story idea for the next book in my Ghost Hunter’s Mysteries series, I looked to the classics and found fantastic inspiration in Agatha Christie.

Like so many millions and millions of others, I simply adore Agatha. It’s not just that her mysteries are so well plotted; it’s the way she tells the story that I admire so much. With her succinct and easy style her novels are indeed timeless and just so readable...you know? 

I also love that in every Agatha Christie book I read, I find little pieces of myself reflected back in her characters. It’s part of her genius, I think, to show us our whole selves – and not just those bits about us we like. Masterful.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes and Wrongs: Do You do Drive-bys?

BY Shiloh Walker, DECEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-weekly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

Release day for an author is insane. Sometimes you’ve signings set up, sometimes not. Sometimes you’re doing contests, sometimes not. Sometimes you’re constantly checking your Amazon rankings…head desk…why do we do this….

One thing many of us do though on release day is spaz. What is spazzing? Well…it’s wigging out…constantly checking those Amazon rankings, biting your nails to the quick, doing Googles for reviews and wondering why haven’t I seen any reviews? Didn’t anybody like it? Crap…everybody hated it and nobody is ever going to read me again!

This is spazzing.

One way I try to cope with my spazzing is by doing drive-bys. It gets me out of the house, it keeps me from constantly checking the sales rankings…and…hey, it’s promo.

What are drive-bys?


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Podcast: Allison Brennan Interview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

In this podcast, author Allison Brennan talks to RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus about the heroine of her newest romantic suspense tale, Lucy Kincaid. Fans may remember Lucy as the kidnapped teen in Brennan's 2007 novel, Fear No Evil. Today, Lucy is all grown up and is training to become an FBI agent in Love Me to Deaththe first novel in Brennan's new series all about Lucy.

Check out this in-depth author interview to get a special look at Lucy Kincaid, get a sneak peek at some of the adventures she and (fellow returning character) security expert, Sean Rogan, will face in the books ahead and then be sure to test your Allison Brennan IQ with this quiz and giveaway!


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Pamela Callow on her heroine Kate Lange - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Pamela Callow stops by to chat about her heroine Kate Lange and the second mystery in the Kate Lange thriller series, Indefensible. Callow shares how lawyer Kate uses all her resources to try to keep a desperate single father out of jail. And don’t miss your chance to check out an excerpt of Indefensible and enter to win your own copy of the new mystery at the end of this post!

If you enjoy reading thrillers, you probably are fascinated with stories about crime. I know I am. I’ve often wondered what it would be like to face a killer. Or what it must feel like to be wrongfully charged with committing a crime.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
14COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 12/28/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jayne Ann Krentz's Conspiracy Theories

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Jayne Ann Krentz talks conspiracy theories and the part they play in her new novel, In Too Deep!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Enter to Win Bree Despain's The Lost Saint and a Special Gift!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

The day we've been waiting for is finally here — today Bree Despain's The Lost Saint hits shelves! All month long you've had a chance to read about some of the behind-the-scenes moments from the making of The Lost Saint. You also got a sneak peek at the prologue, first and second chapters of the story. Now, to celebrate the release of The Lost Saint we have one final message from the author and a special GIVEAWAY: five copies of The Lost Saint and matching nail polish. Be sure to check out the details at the end of the post!

Bree says:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Happy Holidays From RT!

BY Carol Stacy, DECEMBER 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

Dear Readers,

The holiday celebration came a little early as the RT staff gathered at a local Italian restaurant for our annual Christmas lunch — which was amazing. The food was plentiful and the conversation flowed as we all chatted about anything but work over delicious pasta and Italian wine.

Now we’re all off in different directions getting on planes, buses and trains on our way to visit family and will be off for the long holiday weekend. We’ll be back on Monday with more great content on the blog and throughout the website. In the meantime, feel free to respond to blog entries, enter contests, vote for the best back cover blurb in our Writing with the Stars competition and, of course, write a review and share your opinion of books you’ve recently read.

Wishing you all a wonderful and safe holiday! 

- Carol Stacy, Publisher

(Left Side) Forward to back


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST