RT Daily Blog

New Additions to the RT Website

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

Dear Readers, 

You may have noticed something different about the website, we've got some new additions to our genre pages! We've broken out the mainstream, inspirational, science fiction and fantasy and erotica spotlights, so that each genre now has its own special page. We also have a new page for our comics, graphic novels and manga. And we have also folded our romantic suspense spotlight into our romance page, for the most complete coverage.

This week, author Melanie Dobson discusses how research for her newest novel provided her with an unexpected experience on the Inspirational page. Over on the Mainstream page, Sheila Roberts shares how a childhood fascination provided the inspiration for her new holiday tale. And don't miss a peek inside the steamy excerpt of Nadia Aidan's latest novel on the Erotica page. There's all this and more on these expanded sections of our site.

We hope you like our new look!

- The RT Staff

Quick Links to our New Coverage:

Mainstream >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Romance Novelist Pleads Guilty to Fraud

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK
RT BOOK REVIEWS has learned from news channel WWLTV that romance author Meagan McKinney plead guilty to defrauding FEMA, the Road Home program and the Small Business Administration. McKinney, whose real name is Ruth Leslie Goodman, confessed to mail fraud, theft, making false statements and passport fraud after Hurricane Katrina. 

McKinney, best known for writing Historical Romances and Series Romance for Silhouette, has published more than 40 books. Her last book was published in 2004, and fans remember her works with fondness. 

For the full story, visit WWLTV.com


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside The Pages of A Harlequin Christmas Carol

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

In this month's release, A Harlequin Christmas Carol, three romance writers team up to add a new twist on the classic holiday tale A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens'. But instead of using ghosts, authors Betina Krahn, Jacquie D'Alessandro and Hope Tarr each sub in angels-in-training to help three couples find true love. The stories are connected through heroines who have been meeting during the past few years at a monthly book club. And despite the differences in the women's life circumstances and stations, they have formed a tight knit and lasting friendship. Read on to learn how each author connected with the Dickens' story and how they prepared to take on Christmas Past, Present and Future in the delightful anthology that RT Reviewer Pat Cooper calls "charming, sexy and so overtly romantic that your heart will flutter."

"Today's Longing" by Jacquie D'Alessandro


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hints For Writing Historicals From Author Sherry Thomas

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical author Sherry Thomas offers aspiring writers several tips for giving their manuscripts what the author calls “That Touch of History.”

We often hear about world-building in terms of writing science fiction and fantasy. But writers of historical romance also world-build. We do not write about lands and peoples that have never existed, but nevertheless we are taking our readers to a vanished era that we must recreate.

You already know that. You know that to make your historical romance truly shine, you must make your period come alive. For that you have lovingly—or grudgingly, as it may be—compiled a huge dossier of research. What they ate. What they wore. Who were the king and the prime minister and so on and so forth.

But the thing is, everybody has had the tepid lemonade at Almack’s and heard the hero casually greet the Regent. What can you do to make your world-building stand out?

1) You can’t do that anymore!


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 11/12/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 12, 2010 | PERMALINK

Spend your week trying to negotiate your future now that you are Expecting the Boss's Baby?

Here's what you missed on the RT Website.

ASPIRING AUTHOR MONTH:

Married authors Clay and Susan Griffith discuss the perks and pitfalls of co-writing. Read On >>

Maggie Shayne shares advice for improving a romantic suspense manuscript. Get Her Tips >>

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker offers advice on "Author Presence" in this week's Writes & Wrongs column. Learn More >> 

Contemporary romance author Jane Porter on "writing with emotion." Check Out Her Suggestions >> 

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Footnotes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 12, 2010 | PERMALINK


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Two Series Romance Authors Reflect

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 12, 2010 | PERMALINK

Two series romance authors (and best friends) Lynn Raye Harris and Kimberly Lang discuss writing for Harlequin Presents. The authors talk about what makes series romances the "most amazing books in the world", share their experiences at the RT Convention and reflect on hitting the best-seller list.

Two Series Romance Authors Reflect >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jillian Cantor On Life's Transformations

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 12, 2010 | PERMALINK

Mainstream author Jillian Cantor shares why she tackled the difficult subject of transitions in her November novel, The Transformation of Things


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Reader’s Reflection on Veterans Day

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

Guest Blogger Kim Adams reflects on Veterans day, recognizes two veterans who inspire her and shares a very special way that you can also commemorate the efforts of the troops fighting overseas by participating in Operation Holiday Card.

November 11 has several names – Armistice Day, Remembrance Day, and Veterans Day. It commemorates the end of WWI on the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month in 1918. It also honors all veterans who served and sacrificed.

In London, the Queen will lay a wreath at Whitehall.

In Ottawa, the Prime Minister will join veterans at the National War Memorial.

In Washington, DC, the President will lay a wreath at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier in Arlington National Cemetery.

In Hawaii, my husband will be singing with the Sounds of Aloha aboard the USS Missouri as they recognized the veterans of the Pacific.

All will be wearing the poppy pins inspired by a poem written by Canadian Lieutenant Colonel (Dr.) John McCrae during WWI:

In Flanders fields the poppies blow
Between the crosses, row on row,
That mark our place; and in the sky
The larks, still bravely singing, fly
Scarce heard amid the guns below.

I was curious about November 11, 1941 – less than a month before the attack on Pearl Harbor. From President Roosevelt’s address at Arlington National Cemetery.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

SCOOPED! Featuring Sunny, Caine, Banks and the RT Convention

BY Morgan Doremus, NOVEMBER 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

For my weekly column Scooped!, I scour the Internet, contact authors and pick my fellow RT editors' brains to make sure no reader question goes unanswered. This week, I reveal my favorite upcoming release, ask Sunny about her next book, discuss a YA vampire series and list a few of the authors that are attending the RT Convention in April. Still have questions? Send them to me here and you may be featured in an upcoming post.

Question: What’s the last book that you read that totally knocked your socks off? – Just Curious

Morgan: That one is easy. Last week I stayed up way too late reading Maya BanksNo Place To Run. It is the second novel in her new romantic suspense series. After I finished the KGI story, I sent this email to my fellow RT editors (it was timestamped 3:30 am — I was that excited.):  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST