RT Daily Blog

Sandra Brown Talks About Seeing Smoke Screen Come To Life

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

Sandra Brown's novel Smoke Screen comes to life on the Lifetime Movie Channel this Sunday night. The mystery, which got an RT rating of 4 1/2 stars when it was released in August 2008, follows TV reporter Britt Shelley as she attempts to prove her innocence after waking up next to a dead cop. Now RT's Morgan Doremus interviews the bestselling author to find out what her fans can expect from this movie adaptation.

***

What are your plans for Sunday night when Smoke Screen premieres on the Lifetime Movie Channel?

My husband and I will watch together from our "chairs" in the TV room of our house. Dogs Chase and Lucky will be nearby. We'll probably open a bottle of champagne. I'll have a flute in one hand and my phone in the other. I expect calls from family and friends.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


The Collected Inspirations for a Surprising Romantic Suspense

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

With thousands of books published every year, it can be difficult for authors to come up with a unique premise for a book. So when we found out that the e-book Trash Course revolved around a mystery set in a hoarder's booby-trapped house, we were immediately intrigued. We knew that we had to find out Penny Drake's inspiration for this unusual romantic suspense.

Humans collect stuff. But for some of us, this natural instinct goes haywire, and the victims discover they can’t throw anything away because they might need it some day. It’s not laziness or stupidity. It’s a psychological illness that’s very difficult to treat.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

3,2,1 ... Free Download

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

While we are not all sporting jet-packs and have robotic maids to do our bidding, Starbucks and sci-fi author Greg Bear are working together to make our world a little bit more futuristic. The coffeehouse giant has teamed up with the author to provide fans with a free e-copy of Bear's new novel, Hull Zero Three

Hull Zero Three marks the author's return to his deep space roots and the tale finds both the futuristic hero, Sanjay, and his ship in grave danger.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mary Stanton’s Advice For Writing Mysteries

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Mary Stanton, who also writes as Claudia Bishop, has published more than forty stories. Now the author shares “the absolute low-down, dirty-dog truth” about writing mystery novels. 

Late in the spring of 1993, my agent called me to tell me Berkley Prime Crime had made an offer on the partial of my first mystery novel, A Taste for Murder. And they wanted two more after that. 

I remember yelling for joy. I remember blessing my agent and all of his progeny to come. I remember shouting that this was my big chance.

I hung up the phone, danced around the kitchen, ran into the dining room and danced around that, then stopped smack in the middle of the living room floor and pulled my hair in complete and utter panic. 

I didn’t even have one complete mystery novel, and Berkley wanted THREE?

I grabbed a brown paper bag from the storage bin, breathed into it, and tried to get a grip. I didn’t know how to write a mystery novel. Berkley had made the offer based on the other novels I’d published and none of it, not one single book, was a mystery novel, and I was absolutely positively certain I was going to make a complete and utter ass of myself. 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Fabio Moon and Gabriel Ba

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 18, 2010 | PERMALINK

Graphic artists Fabio Moon and Gabriel Ba are interviewed by RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. The authors chat about their award winning graphic novel, De:Tales. Get an insider look at the artists' inspiration and discover why they say De:Tales is a "universal" story. And don't miss the *Web Exclusive Review* of De:Tales after the interview!

Fabio Moon and Gabriel Ba Go Behind the Scenes of De:Tales >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

Read the *Web Exclusive Review* of De:Tales >>


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Footnotes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 18, 2010 | PERMALINK


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

SCOOPED! Featuring NYC spots for book lovers, grammar resources and more!

BY Morgan Doremus, NOVEMBER 18, 2010 | PERMALINK

For my weekly column Scooped!, I scour the Internet, contact authors and pick my fellow RT editors' brains to make sure no reader question goes unanswered. This week, I pick out some NYC stops for a book lover, share some great grammar resources, find out Whitney's favorite recent read and more. Still have questions? Send them to me here and you may be featured in an upcoming post.

Question: I'm visiting New York City for the first time. What are some book lover stops I should make while I'm there? - Extremely Excited

Morgan: The New York Public Library at 40th Street and Fifth Avenue is absolutely beautiful. Not only are the lions that sit out front an iconic New York sight, but the craftsmanship and detail inside the library itself is breathtaking. Whitney's tip? Don't forget to look up! However, this being said, there are actually no books to check out at this library (alas, it is only for show). The actual circulation library is one block south.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mid-Month Check-In: Writer's Block Busters

BY Whitney Sullivan, NOVEMBER 18, 2010 | PERMALINK

Aspiring authors, it’s the middle of NaNoWriMo and our month of focusing on aspiring authors. Hopefully you are chugging right along on your manuscript and have been inspired by all of the writing tips and suggestions from authors across the genres in our series of daily posts. But even during such inspirational times, writer’s block is an ever-present threat. Honestly, I am feeling it lurking around the corner of my mind as I write this blog post.

So here are some handy exercises to help you battle this brain beast and get back to your story. 

Exercise One: Solve It! — So you’ve created a character, let’s call it X. X is the coolest person in the world, not only does X always have good comebacks (you know, the ones you wish came to you when you needed them) but X is attractive and beloved by all. Now I know what I am about to ask is difficult, it may even hurt a little bit. But no pain, no gain! Create a scene where X has a giant flaw. I’m not just talking a pimple on X’s nose, but something horrible, for example X's fear of heights causes someone to be seriously injured. Now make the scene work.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tips and Tricks For Surviving Family During The Holidays

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Shannon Stacey’s latest novel, Undeniably Yours, is a heart warming contemporary romance that revolves around an unexpected pregnancy. As parents-to-be, Beth Hansen and Kevin Kowalski work on their relationship, their future is shaped by their very different relationships with their families. So with the holidays — and all that family time — right around the corner, the author considers how to enjoy the festivities without the strife. 

Big families and the holiday season…a recipe for love, laughter and a little bit of chaos. Every family celebrates in a different way. Some have quiet, semi-formal dinners. Some small, intimate celebrations with their spouses and children. And some have rowdy family get-togethers that threaten to topple the Christmas tree.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

5 Questions For The Human Target

BY Morgan Doremus, NOVEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

Christopher Chance, aka the Human Target, first appeared in comic books in 1972. An assassin turned bodyguard, Chance puts himself into dangerous situations to protect the real target. Last year Fox debuted the Human Target television show staring Fringe regular Mark Valley. This week I caught up with Mark to ask him what it is like to play a comic book hero.

***

How is the Human Target TV show different from the comic book?

In the comic book Chance insinuated himself into peoples lives. He would impersonate the target, but instead of taking over their lives, I just get close to the target by acting like someone that could be in their lives - a coworker, translator or driver. I’m really glad I don’t have to do the whole impersonation thing with masks and makeup. 

What is your favorite part of the role?

Well, Chance is not a very good actor and I’m having fun with that – he can’t move into the character he is playing with much facility. That and on Fringe I spent a lot of time in a coma so walking around and talking to people is exciting and I just love action. It appeals to the kid in me.


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST