RT Daily Blog

Extended Review: Afterburn/Aftershock by Sylvia Day

BY Mandy Boles, APRIL 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

Six months ago I had the pleasure of interviewing Sylvia Day about her novella "Afterburn," the debut book for Harlequin’s new Cosmo Red Hot Reads imprint. I loved "Afterburn." In true Sylvia Day fashion, the book is filled with sleek settings, hot men, smart women and steamy sex scenes. "Afterburn" and its sequel novella "Aftershock," previously only available as separate e-books, are now on sale together in one print edition containing both stories — Afterburn/Aftershock


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


April Gold Round Up o' Awesomeness

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

This month's issue of RT includes a phenomenon as rare as a quadruple rainbow — which we're not entirely sure is a thing — four Top Pick! GOLD reviews. We want to make sure you know all about their unrivaled awesomeness, so let's take a closer look at each pick!

 

       

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 07, 2014 | PERMALINK
With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHOR

Mainstream - Former Cosmopolitan and current SELF Magazine editor Jessica Knoll is ready to switch gears into novel writing with Luckiest Girl Alive, a mainstream title about an NYC magazine editor whose happily ever after is threatened by a documentary that could reveal a hidden part of her past. Release date: TBA.

NEW SERIES

Erotica - Former Teen Mom Farrah Abraham is entering the literary world for her next venture. She’ll be writing an erotic trilogy about a young almost-famous woman on the verge of scandal after rumors spread about a supposed sex tape, of which she’s the star. Celebrity Sex Tape in the Making is sure to be an entertaining read, so don’t miss it when it releases on July 1, 2014!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 4/4/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend the whole week keeping The Soldier's Promise?  

Here's what you missed on the RT website:

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling out favorite Tweets. Here are some of the standouts of the week:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Outfits: Danielle's Picks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

The RT Booklovers Convention is only a few short weeks away! Which means if you're planning on attending the full week of books, babes (yes, we mean you) and shenanigans, you've got some packing to do! With a full schedule of panels, workshops, events — and of course parties, one outfit a day may not cut it. So bust out those extra large suitcases, because the RT staff is bringing you their dream outfits for the themed evening events and nighttime parties. Today, take a gander at RT Editorial Assistant Danielle Valente's picks.


Pirates, Scalawags & More

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 Reading Challenge: Young Adult - We Check In

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 03, 2014 | PERMALINK


We're well into our reading challenge, where RT Web Team's DJ dared Elissa and Elisa to read Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke and Bone, a title a bit outside their comfort zone. (Here's part one.) Today, we're checking in to see how the quest is going thus far. DJ knows that if he picked a dud, his coworkers will never, ever let him live it down. For at least two weeks.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The 100 Recap: Episode 1.3 - "Earth Kills"

BY DJ DeSmyter, APRIL 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

The 100 TV logo

source

The night begins with a flashback to the early days on the Ark. Clarke and her parents — doctor Abby and Jake — are watching an old soccer game with Wells and his father. Abby tells Jake she received some lab results he was waiting on. He immediately leaves and we’re left wondering what he’s up to.

Present day, Clarke tries to reassure Jasper he’s going to be okay, but we’re not so sure. After all, he’s been through a lot. Outside, Clarke hears a girl screaming and finds Charlotte, a young girl, who was having a nightmare about her parents’ deaths. Turns out Charlotte had assaulted a guard when her parents were “floated” (execution by way of being sucked out into space), earning her a spot amongst the 100. Clarke comforts her and tells her maybe everyone can have a fresh start.

Meanwhile, two members of Bellamy’s gang, Trina and Pascal, are lost in the woods when a strange orange fog envelops them, seemingly killing them. The next morning, Bellamy’s minions report back on Trina and Pascal’s disappearance, and he tries to reassure them everything’s fine. Atom’s not his biggest fan right now, though, and neither is Octavia, who just learned her lovely brother punished Atom for making out with her.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

What the Duke Desires by Sabrina Jeffries

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

The Summer He Came Home by Juliana Stone

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy it On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Preview: Cover Model Sock Hop!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 02, 2014 | PERMALINK

logo for the 2014 RT Convention

Grab your poodle skirts and bobby socks and get ready to dance the night away with your favorite cover models at the Cover Model Sock Hop this May in NOLA! Complete with '50s music and dance — don’t worry, we'll have instructors on hand to lead you through the steps — this is a not-to-be-missed extravaganza!

The 2 hour event starts promptly at 7:30 pm on Tuesday, May 13th, and an extra ticket ($70) is required to attend. Throughout the night, select winners will get special slow dances with the hunky models. And when you’re not showing off your skills on the dance floor, you’ll be able to enjoy delicious treats and drinks, including the signature “Cover Model Cosmo”!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST