RT Daily Blog

Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 8/8/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week romancing a True Blue Cowboy?

Here's what you missed on the RT site!

***

EROTICA: Read this hot excerpt from Terri L. Austin's His Every Need. Read More >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Read an excerpt from Jill Shalvis's upcoming novel! Read Now >>

YOUNG ADULT: Ann Aguirre on the pros and cons of revenge. Get Even >>

COVER BREAKDOWN: Danielle delivers a Swoon Reads 2-for-1 breakdown! Check It Out >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling our favorite Tweets. 

This week we dedicate Tweethearts to everyone who says that authors are "just like us."   


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

10 Joys All Booklovers Feel

BY DJ DeSmyter, AUGUST 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

Earlier this week, I talked about how hard being a booklover can be with my 10 Problems Only Booklovers Understand list. While we have our fair share of problems, we also get to feel all warm and fuzzy in ways non-readers can't. It's their loss, really, because these are ten joys that are irreplaceable.

1. Going to the bookstore, especially if the store has shopping carts.

Bookstore + Shopping Carts = Heaven.
source

2. When you reach the part of the book where the couple meet for the first time and the sparks start flying.



Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

If It Happens To You: Patty Blount on Sexual Assault

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

Sexual assault is, sadly, a serious concern and issue many teens face in today's world. Many authors, like Patty Blount, have tackled this subject and have helped survivors handle and overcome their trials. In Blount's recent release, Some Boys, tells the story of a teen who's raped and has to deal with the aftermath, including her peers who don't believe her. Today, Patty shares some thoughtful guidance for those seeking help.

I’m not a professional counselor; I’m an author who wrote a book that deals with sexual assault. In my book, main character Grace Collier goes to the hospital, talks to police and contacts a rape crisis hotline.

Those are all the things you should do if it happens to you.

But where do you begin? How do you know if it’s really assault or rape? I can tell you what I learned while researching my story — rape is ANY unwanted sexual contact. If you did not give your consent — then it’s rape. It doesn’t matter if you’re a guy or a girl, if you’re dating/married to your attacker, or unconscious. All that matters is consent.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

A Wedding in Springtime

A Wedding in Springtime by Amanda Forester

Get It On Amazon For Free >>

Get It On B&N For Free >>

 

Contemporary Romance

When We Met

Tap Out by Michele Mannon

4.5 stars Top Pick

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $0.99 >>

 

Young Adult

The Luxe

Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

4.5 stars Top Pick

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Breakdown: A Swoon Reads 2-For-1 With Save Me and The Boy Next Door

BY Danielle Valente, AUGUST 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

You’ve heard the ‘ol “Don’t judge a book by its cover” cliché. Well, Swoon Reads actually does want you to do some judging. The teen romance imprint encourages its readers to participate in the publishing process by rating stories and selecting final covers for published works. Romance lovers were able to vote on their favorite covers for the imprint’s second and third releases, Jenny Elliott's Save Me (Jan. 6, 2015) and Katie Van Ark's The Boy Next Door (Feb. 3, 2015). Check out the final results — they’ll make you swoon!

First up, is Elliott's Save Me! Let's take a look:

Things were looking up for Cara. Sure, she had just been knocked into the freezing waters of Liberty, Oregon by a whale, but the bond she formed with her rescuer, David, becomes something deep … until she finds out he is unattainable. She doesn’t receive any consolation from her witchcraft-dabbling best friend, plus she now has to concern herself with a stalker. Garren, her handsome new friend, seems trustworthy, but after all that has happened, can Cara really be sure?

Time for the breakdown!

Next we have The Boy Next Door:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Q&A: Jennifer L. Armentrout Talks Supernatural, Opposition And How To Date A Luxen

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

One of the best parts about attending conventions is getting to catch up with authors. While at the RWA Annual Conference in San Antonio, Elisa caught up with one of our favorites, Jennifer L. Armentrout. Check out the interview below where Jennifer and Elisa discuss online personalities, Opposition, writing a series and the possiblity of more Luxen books!

Elisa Verna: You have a really awesome blog. I really loved the post where you told your life story in Supernatural GIFs. That was so perfect. I know for me personally, if an author has a really interesting online personality, I’m more inclined to read their books. Do you think you have gained any readers from stuff you’ve done online that maybe isn’t necessarily directly related to your books?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books banner

 

The Gormenghast trilogy by Mervyn Peake 

If Lewis Carroll had ordered Kafka to write the Lord of the Rings, well, something like the Gormenghast series would be born. 

Plot: In a castle strange things happen. 

Rating: ●●●●○ 

Historie d'O by Pauline Reage 

Unlike 50 Shades this book captures the very essence of sadomasochism, namely that "The chains [...] that should imprison her deep within herself [...] released her from herself" 

Plot: A girl does everything she's commanded to do.

Rating: ●●●○○ 

The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

10 Problems Only Booklovers Understand

BY DJ DeSmyter, AUGUST 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

Being a booklover can be hard, we get it. But while the RT staff can sympathize with your bookish struggles, odds are you have a few friends or family members who just don't understand. You're not alone, though, and today's list of problems only booklovers understand will hopefully provide some comfort.

1. When you finish a really good book and learn you have to wait a whole year for the sequel.

It’s just not fair.
source

2. Your OTP have finally gotten together and you just can’t handle all the feels.

The feels, man. The feels.
source

3. Trying to decide which author event to attend when they’re scheduled on the same night.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Payback or Pardon?: Ann Aguirre on the Pros and Cons of Revenge

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

Despite its chilling nature, revenge is something we all have craved at some point in our lives. Whether it be against that coworker who taunts you on a daily basis or the ex who cheated on you. But revenge isn't an easy task to carry out, which is something Ann Aguirre's newest heroine, Edie, discovers in Mortal Danger. Today, Ann discusses the pros and cons of revenge.

The cover of Mortal Danger

Revenge is a common and often times, delicious concept in our society. We have entire TV series devoted to it, books that revolve around it and phrases you hear on a regular basis, such as the tagline for the book, “Revenge is dish best served cold”, have burrowed deep into the common consciousness. In a quick search, I found tons of great quotes (and I’ll get to those in a bit), some in favor and others arguing for forgiveness. But let’s be honest: Who doesn’t enjoy a hot, steaming pile of comeuppance?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST