RT Daily Blog

Footnotes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 09, 2010 | PERMALINK


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Behind the Scenes of Sherry James' The Cowboy and the Hellcat

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Sherry James is known for her contemporary tales of love and passion, but with her new release, The Cowboy and the Hellcat, the author embarks on her first historical series. Now get an insider look at this tale that whisks readers to Christmastime in Nebraska during 1876 for a whirlwind romance between two people who never thought that love would be in their future. And don't miss the *Web Exclusive Review* of this holiday western novella after this interview!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: In The Cowboy and the Hellcat Adam has recently suffered the loss of his father and Ellie is soon to lose hers as well. What inspired you to write a holiday romance laced with such sadness? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Michelle Styles on Speaking Your Words in Foreign Tongues

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

All week long we have been talking about "unusual historicals" on The RT Daily Blog. And we knew our coverage would not be complete without addressing the changes a story can undergo when being marketed to readers around the world. So today, author Michelle Styles chats about her own “accidentally global” writing career and discusses some of the ways that historical romance readers' tastes vary from country to country.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meet the guys (and girl!) from Kelly Group International (KGI)

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

Romantic suspense is a genre full of hunky heroes and can-do heroines, and we love every action-packed moment of these adventures. So when Maya Banks introduced her private security firm Kelly Group International, we knew that we needed an in-depth look at these heroes (and heroine) that are making us swoon!

KGI is a private firm run by Sam Kelly and his two younger brothers, Garrett and Donovan. They are three of six Kelly brothers, all of whom served in different branches of the U.S. military.

Right now they have two teams, but they plan to build at least one more as they expand their base and operations.

Here’s a run down of the brothers and the two KGI teams:

Sam is the oldest at 36. He tends to be an anal hardass, though the title of “uptight son of a bitch” goes to Garrett Kelly, who is second oldest at 34. Garrett has a weakness for…caramel. Yes, caramel! His caramel hoarding very nearly gets him into trouble in Hidden Away (his book, which releases in March 2011).

Donovan Kelly…Ah Van, as his family calls him. He’s the super sexy geek. Lover of all things techy. His computer is named “Hoss” and he gets cranky when other people touch it. (I just love sexy, smart men!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

True Blood Comic News!

BY Faygie Levy, DECEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

Comic book publisher IDW and the HBO cable network announced today that they will be publishing a second series of comic books based on the hit TV series True Blood, beginning in February 2011. The move comes after record-breaking sales this year for the initial six-book comic series. The comics and the TV show further the adventures of Sookie Stackhouse, the heroine of a bestselling book series by author Charlaine Harris.

The second series of comics will be co-written by comic book writer Marc Andreyko and actor Michael McMillian, who plays Steve Newlin on the True Blood TV series. According to the press release, in this new comic tale, Jessica is exposed to contaminated Tru Blood drink and goes crazy. Sookie, Bill and others must ban together to figure out what is going on and who is responsible.

If you missed the first True Blood comic series, you'll still be able to read them. IDW will release a compilation of the comics called True Blood, All Together Now in graphic novel format in early February, just before the new comic book series launches.

 

The compilation cover and the cover of the first issue of the new series.


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Legend Behind Duchess of Sin

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

Laurel McKee's new series of Irish-set historical romances all have their roots in the mythology that the author has loved since she was a child. Discover what tales inspired these romances and don't miss the special excerpt of the newest Daughters of Erin novel, Duchess of Sin, at the end of the post!

Ever since I was a kid, I’ve been obsessed with mythology. It all started with a volume of children’s stories about the Greek gods (not quite as naughty as the adult versions!) followed by library books about Egyptian and Russian tales. I loved stories of gods and goddesses, magic, and feats of bravery as well as the exotic settings. But my favorite tales of all were in a book of Celtic mythology I found on my grandparents’ bookshelves. These were full of danger and adventure with the fascinating, complicated characters I loved, all in a gorgeous Irish setting. It also featured dark, dangerous warriors sent on vital quests—and they’ve inspired my heroes to this day.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Changing View of History

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

In our week of focusing on "unusual historicals" we knew that we had to chat with someone who pushed the boundaries of the moment in time when historical romances become contemporary stories set in the past. Author Elizabeth Lane has written several stories set at the edge of this moment. Now she reflects on how “the time line” has changed over the past sixteen years of writing historical romances. And be one of the first to see the cover of Lane's upcoming March release, The Widowed Bride, which is revealed at the bottom of this post!

For as far back as I can remember, the traditional cutoff date for historical novels was the end of the 19th Century. Happily, for authors and readers, that definition seems to be changing. Stories set in the early 1900s are increasingly being written, published and read. My own writing career is a case in point.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Continuing Paranormal Series to Curl Up With in December

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 07, 2010 | PERMALINK

Gearing up for the holiday season can take a lot out of a person. Sometimes your own life is complicated enough and you just want to curl up with a good book about characters you already know from an author you know you enjoy. Here are four of our paranormal picks for series continuing this month, with a special message from each author about what fans can expect in this installment of their series!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 12/7/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 07, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Blythe Gifford on Encountering the Unexpected With a Historical Hero

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 07, 2010 | PERMALINK

Romance author Blythe Gifford’s medieval heroes are all “born on the wrong side of the royal blanket” but that is just the tip of the iceberg for these heroes who defy readers’ expectations! Now Gifford chats about the comfort that romance fans find in these historical stories and shares how she works to create heroes who a reader would follow anywhere.

Laura Kinsale famously observed that in romance, “it’s the hero who carries the book.”

This, I suggest, is a major challenge facing those who write historicals set in times and places unfamiliar to the audience.

The reader does not know what kind of hero to expect. 

When a reader picks up a book set in Regency England or the Scottish Highlands, the two most popular historical settings, they are getting more than a return to a familiar time and place. They are returning to a particular type of hero.

Regency England means a rakish duke who will be tamed by the heroine, of course, to achieve a “happy ever after” ending.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST