RT Daily Blog

Footnotes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 04, 2010 | PERMALINK


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


The Author's Quest - Finding Historical Resources On The Web

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 04, 2010 | PERMALINK

In the age of the Internet, aspiring authors have a virtually limitless number of resources at their fingertips. This can be particularly helpful for those who wish to write about historical time periods. With the touch of a button, writers can be escorted through bygone eras, learning about each period's food, dress, manners and more. However, for the uninitiated, the sheer volume of information can be overwhelming. So we thought we would clear the confusion and gather together some of the best websites to help authors research the historical elements in their manuscripts.


 

At HistoricalNovels.info you will find more than just a dusty list of links. The site is full of solid gold resources for aspiring authors, from advice and articles collected in an easy-to-browse manner to an annotated list of books set around the world in different time periods. Don't be put off by the colorful graphics, there's a wealth of information here!


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Tom Franklin

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 03, 2010 | PERMALINK

M, I, Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter, I, Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter, I, Humpback, Humpback, I. Just a string of gibberish until it's put together as Mississippi, the setting of mystery author Tom Franklin’s Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter. This RT Top Pick! captures the feel of the South and has RT Reviewer Donna M. Carter raving, “Much more than a mystery, this literate, evocative tale is a story of guilty secrets, hidden loves and, ultimately, of redemption, with characters who are so real they practically walk off the page.” Now get an inside peek into the mind of the author behind Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter and don't miss the excerpt at the end of the interview.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

John Scalzi+Subterranean Press = A Free Short Story With A Twist

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 03, 2010 | PERMALINK

John Scalzi announced earlier this week on his popular blog, Whatever, that he has teamed up with Subterranean Press to present readers with a free short science fiction story. 

Scalzi's story, "An Election," follows the decision of a human man to run for a seat on the city council in a world where no human has held that office for thirty-six years. When the man finds himself on the wrong side of the acting councilman, it's clear that this will be an even harder uphill battle than they expected!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Reports From Brooklyn Story's Launch Party

BY Faygie Levy, NOVEMBER 03, 2010 | PERMALINK

We at RT are always happy when we hear about a new author, but there's something special when the author is from Brooklyn, where RT is based. The latest author to celebrate the borough is Suzanne Corso. The author is getting raves for her debut mainstream novel, Brooklyn Story, which will be out in late December.

The book tells the story of a half-Italian, half-Jewish girl from Bensonhurst, Brooklyn in the late 1970s and her journey to find her place in the world. Brooklyn Story, which is already being looked at for film adaptation, with no less than Penny Marshall and Lorraine Bracco attached, was first written by Corso when she was just 19. Though it has been rewritten and revised, Corso says the essence of her story remained.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Diana Holquist Offers Writing Help

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 03, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Diana Holquist shares her thoughts for aspiring authors with Sarah Wendell of the popular blog Smart Bitches, Trashy Books. Holquist discusses her creative process with blogger and how she incorporates alpha male heroes into her contemporary romances.

Diana Holquist on Her Creative Process >>

More From the RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meet The Heroines From Nora Roberts' Bride Quartet Series - With Giveaway!

BY Morgan Doremus, NOVEMBER 02, 2010 | PERMALINK

Traditional romance novels are usually about one woman getting her HEA. Sometimes she has a friend, co-worker or family member who falls in love in the same book, but as a rule, it is the romance between one hero and one heroine that is the main focus. It is rare to find romance novels where the heroine's friends are as much a part of a woman's story as her hero is. However, Nora Roberts has created just this with her outstanding series the Bride Quartet.

In these books, readers get to know the inner workings of four dynamic characters - Mac, Emma, Laurel and, the binding force behind them all, Parker. These women have been best friends since they were little, and have recently come back together to create a business where each of them is an equal partner. The series starts with the Quartet, as the women are called, living together on an estate outside of New York City planning weddings for bridezillas and loving every second of it. During each of the stories, one of the ladies finds true love, but at no point does this love get in the way of their deep and abiding sisterhood. 

Fans of Nora Roberts have been treated with lasting female friendships before. Examples of this can be found in the Stars of Mithra series, the Dream Trilogy, or from the male POV the Chesapeake Bay Saga. But while in earlier series' this friendship is only a part of the whole story, the Bride Quartet is actually structured around a friendship that oftentimes takes precedence over the character's love lives.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
16COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 11/2/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 02, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writing Advice from Mainstream Author Cathy Lamb

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 02, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Cathy Lamb shares the wise advice that helped her get published when she was an aspiring author. And don't miss the excerpt of her 2007 debut novel, Julia's Chocolates, at the end of the post!

I will give all aspiring writers the advice that I wish I had gotten years and years ago, before a mountain sized load of rejection letters from two category romance publishers almost buried me in a literary avalanche. You may not want to hear it, you may not agree with it, you may find it discouraging….or, like me, you might follow it with a hop, skip, and a jump, or at least a tiny jig.

So, here it is: If you are continually getting rejections in one genre – category romance, science fiction, fiction, nonfiction, whatever it is - and brace yourself here - you may need to change genres entirely. Yep. You may need to take a deep breath, drown yourself in decaf mochas, which is what I do, or a box of chocolates, which is what I did when I was in the midst of rejection hell, and start over. 

Here’s the truth: Your talents may not lie in the place you’re currently trying to publish in.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jillian Hunter's Hero(es) - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

Best-selling historical romance author Jillian Hunter talks about her latest Regency hero, a writer who has stumbled upon "the bad boy phenomenon" in his serialized stories. And don’t miss the excerpt and GIVEAWAY at the end of the post.

Hello to RT readers everywhere! I’ve been a fan of RT BOOK REVIEWS since it was first published, and it’s always a thrill to be invited to share what is new in my small corner of the romance world. This blog actually brings me full circle. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
22COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST