RT Daily Blog

Working Girls: Heroines with Careers We Covet

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

We sometimes daydream about what it would be like to be the heroine of a romance novel — the angst, the drama, the hero. But several of this month's romances have caught our attention, not only because of them swoonworthy love story, but because of the heroine's awesome profession! Here's a roundup of our favorite  heroines on the job this month. 

The cover of Night Diver by Elizabeth Lowell

What a Reckless Rogue Needs by Vicky Dreiling - Not only is Vicky's heroine in her second Sinful Scoundrels series a divorcée — very edgy for Regency England — she's an architect and interior designer. Get it, Lady Angeline! Do you know how much math you need to understand to be an architect? A lot, that's how much. (You need significantly less to be a website editor.) She falls in love during a restoration project, which is not how most of those home projects go that we see on HGTV, but hey! That's why romance novels are so great. Fantasy.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Forewords - The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let you know the latest book news on the most exciting upcoming releases across genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHOR

Mainstream - Stephanie Butland’s Surrounded by Water is sure to make a splash with its heartwrenching tale about the death of a policeman who saves a young woman from drowning. In the aftermath, secrets in a marriage are exposed as grief overwhelms. Release date: TBA.

NEW SERIES

Contemporary Romance - In Regina Cole’s Any Way She Wants It, the first in her upcoming Sons of Cain series, a rising rock star deals with his guilt by partying. But when he falls for the band’s beautiful sound engineer, he may just learn to live again. Look for this sizzling read next spring!

CONTINUING SERIES


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 4/11/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend the whole week wanting to Breakaway?  

Here's what you missed on the RT website:

***

We announced the 2013 RT Reviewers' Choice & Career Achievement Awards winners! See Who Won >>

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Announcing The 2013 RT Reviewers' Choice And Career Achievement Awards Winners

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Oooh are we excited! Because today we're so happy and proud to present the 2013 Reviewers' Choice and Career Achievement Winners! Let us tell you, a lot of blood, sweat and tears (more tears than you might think!) went into selecting these, the best titles of 2013. Hearty congratulations to all of the winners, thank you for writing such amazing books last year. The award ceremony will take place at the RT Convention in New Orleans next month, we hope to see many of you there! 

 

Career Achievement


Contemporary Romance

Rachel Gibson

Erotic Romance


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. Don't believe us? Check out some of our favorite recent Tweets.  We're a little short this week because we're over here celebrating the RT Awards winners. Happy Friday!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Punniest Cozy Mystery Titles

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Who doesn't love a good pun? Wait, don't answer that. Unless the answer is yes. Because your RT Web Team can't resist punning. And some of the best puns can be found in the titles of cozy mystery novels. Not gonna lie, we kind of envy the editors who get to participate in these title brainstorming sessions. We've collected some of our recent favorites below — they'll slay you!

The cover of A Tale of Two Biddies

Bloom and Doom by Beverly Allen (Berkley, April 2014)

Shunned and Dangerous by Laura Bradford (Berkley, March 2014)

A Tale of Two Biddies by Kylie Logan (Berkley, February 2014)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The 100 Recap: Episode 1.3 - "Murphy's Law"

BY DJ DeSmyter, APRIL 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Last night’s episode opens on Clarke kneeling beside Wells’s grave. Finn shows up and tries cheering her up by giving her a pencil. It’s rather cute how excited she gets over the idea of being able to draw again. She tells Finn about how Wells used to trade his possessions to get her art supplies back on the Ark. She then circles back to the topic of her mom betraying her father and how she wishes she could do something to make her mom feel her pain. Suddenly, she gets an idea: cut off her wristband so her mother thinks she’s dead.

Meanwhile, in camp, Bellamy and Murphy oversee the others setting up an official base. Murphy’s still being a d-bag. Octavia tries to reassure Jasper that he’s safe and healthy. Jasper falls and they see two of Wells’s fingers lying next to Murphy’s knife. Yikes.

On the Ark, Abby runs into Wannabe Chancellor Kane and he basically tells her he’s stalking her and everyone else. He wants to accompany her to the lab, but when she tells him there’s a case of strep going around, he changes his mind and gets all scheme-y and suspicious. Abby goes on and meets up with Raven, who’s busy working on the ship. Abby’s itching to take flight, but the ship’s not ready.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

The Duke Diaries by Sophia Nash

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Not Quite Enough by Catherine Bybee

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

 

New Adult

Breathe by Abbi Glines

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Preview: Pitch-a-Palooza

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

Calling all writers! When Romancelandia takes over New Orleans next month for the RT Booklovers Convention, you’ll want your manuscripts in tiptop shape. Why? Because you’ll have the chance to pitch your books to the industry’s top editors and agents during our Pitch-a-Palooza event! Here’s the 411:

When: Friday, May 16 at 12:20 PM - 1:20 PM

Where: 3rd Floor, Acadia - Grand Ballroom

What: Pitch-a-Palooza is an hour-long event where aspiring and published authors will have three minutes to present their “elevator pitch” to an agent or an editor. When you’re done pitching one person, go right ahead and get in line for another. Think of it like agent/editor speed dating! This is a first-come, first-serve event, so be sure to arrive early. Please note that Pitch-A-Palooza is not the same as editor appointments and agent appointments.

And if you’re curious about which industry professionals you’ll be pitching to, here’s a sampling of some of the agents and editors:

Agents:


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

***

Illuminations by Arthur Rimbaud

Do you remember the furious visions of adolescence, when our language raped the formless world of childhood, transforming cries into words? I don’t, but if I read Rimbaud then I do — no clue why.

Plot: None.

Rating: 95 out of 100

2666 by Roberto Bolaño

The life and works of some people is intertwined (and untied) without any particular meaning or interactions; in the meanwhile more and more women die for no reason. A moving and distracted book, like the eyes of God to the world. 

Plot: In the meantime many women die.

Rating: 88 out of 100


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST