RT Daily Blog

First Look: The Art of Richelle Mead's Dark Swan

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Richelle Mead shares an early look at the first volume of her Dark Swan graphic novel adaptation, Storm Born. Mead worked with scripter Grant Alter and artist Dave Hamann to adapt her popular Urban Fantasy series into this new format. Now, sneak a peek at their results! 


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

First Look: Jade Lee's Dragonborn Concept Art

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today author Jade Lee shares a sneak peek at the art of her new Dragonborn comic/graphic novel with RT readers. Comic book issues will be released this summer from Sea Lion Books and the complete graphic novel is scheduled to hit shelves this fall — but you don't have to wait that long to get a look at some of the ways that artist Wilson Junior is bringing Lee's beloved characters to life!


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Super Powers At The E-Book Expo And Graphic Novel Book Fair

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

At today's E-Book Expo and Graphic Novel Fair we got a chance to chat with some of our favorite graphic novel authors and artists. With so much phenomenal artistic talent in the room, we wanted to know what (other) superpower these brilliant minds wished that that possessed. 

Kelley Armstrong: Shapeshifting

L.A. Banks: The ability to control thunder

Holly Black: Eternal life

Anne Elizabeth: Telekinesis


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Scenes From The E-Book Expo And Graphic Novel Book Fair

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today's E-Book Expo And Graphic Novel Book Fair featured over a hundred e-book authors and graphic novel writers and artists. Among the authors in attendance were such big names as L.A. Banks, Melissa de la Cruz, Jayne Rylon and Gennita Low. At the Expo, there were also publisher exhibits and representatives from Barnes & Noble's Nook, Circle of Seven Productions, Kobo and Savvy Media Services. It was a sight to behold as readers took advantage of the opportunity to get close to the authors they love!

 

 

***

At RT, when we want author news we have lots of blog sites we visit. So we had to ask the authors when not writing where they go online.


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog, Convention, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Artist Trevor Goring

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Artist Trevor Goring has been illustrating comic books and graphic novels since he was in college. After graduating, he worked on the landmark comic 2000 AD before getting into storyboarding and creating concept art for movies and television. He has worked on such popular projects as Independence Day, X-Men 2 and the Twilight franchise. Today Trevor Goring chats with RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus about his previous projects and what fans can expect next.

Interview with artist/author Trevor Goring >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Form Versus Format: Tackling New Ways Of Telling A Story

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

The "novel lite" format of the recent manga story, Book Girl and the Famished Spirit, prompts RT reviewer Stacy Agdern to consider importance of book format. Today the reviewer reflects on the fun way that two new books are playing with what it means to be a paper and ink book.

There was a great deal of fanfare and discussion early last year surrounding the release of It’s A Book, a children’s book that celebrated the printed book in it’s own way. Some parts of the resulting discussions can also be applied to Yen Press’ Book Girl series. Both It’s A Book and the Book Girl series celebrate printed books and the love of reading. But more importantly, one of the central questions asked and answered regarding both of these tales is about format, more specifically, what is the most appropriate format for a story?

Clearly, It’s A Book belongs in a printed paper format. This cute little story, and the way the characters separate the simple qualities of a printed paper book from what they see as the encroachments of the technological age, would not have the same effect if the story were in an electronic or audio format.


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Aron Warner's Pariah Series

BY Whitney Sullivan, FEBRUARY 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

I am a big fan of stories about the unexpected results of genetic manipulation. From Frankenstein to James Patterson's Angel Experiment series and Christine Feehan's GhostWalkers novels, I can't get enough of these stories that warn about the dark side of scientific experiments. So I was instantly intrigued when I learned about Oscar winning producer Aron Warner's newest project, Pariah, a series about genetically mutated teens. 

Aron Warner made a name for himself with his work in the film industry. His name is attached to the film Shrek, for which he won an Academy Award. (Fun fact, this producer also voiced the Shrek character, Big Bad Wolf.) Warner was also involved in several other popular films including Antz, Tank Girl, True Lies, Titanic and the sixth Nightmare on Elm Street. However, for his new series Pariah, he's moved to a very different medium, graphic novels. Warner will be working with Sea Lion Books to publish Pariah, which is slated to be told as a set of twelve graphic novels.


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Artist Interview: Joe Staton On Adapting Ayn Rand’s Anthem

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Artist Joe Staton and author Charles Santino worked together to create the graphic novel adaptation of Anthem, the classic tale by Ayn Rand. In a *Web Exclusive Review* RT Reviewer Dawn Crowne says, “This graphic novel is a wonderful tribute to one of the most popular American novelists of modern time.” Crowne was particularly impressed with the way that the art of Anthem: The Graphic Novel reflected the story’s true sentiment that the future is a bleak one. Now Stanton takes us inside the pages of the project in this artist interview:

When creating Anthem: The Graphic Novel, how closely did you stay Rand’s original storyline?
Charles Santino and I were entirely faithful to book and respectful of Ms. Rand’s work. We really focused on the characterization of the two protagonists. I am especially proud of our work on Gaea [aka Liberty 5-3000]. She is such a strong character and we were really able to bring her out.

Where you at all intimidated adapting a work by such a popular author?
As an artist, you always feel pressure to make things look right. I mean, if you work on Scooby-Doo or Archie, you have to do it just right because everyone knows what they look like and how they act. Rand’s readers are just as strict. But I'd rather face an Ayn fan than a Star Trek fan!

The society in Anthem is made up of two very distinct groups – the workers living in collectives and the Council of Scholars who make the laws. How did you visually differentiate these two groups?


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Felix Gomez Comes To Comics!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Mario Acevedo's popular vampire hero, Felix Gomez, is wowing fans in a whole new way as the star of a new graphic novel series. So we sat down with Mario Acevedo to find out what fans could expect from Felix's newest adventures which begins with Mario Acevedo's Felix Gomez: Killing the Cobra Chinatown Trollop.

RT BOOK REVIEWS: This is not the first time that you have written about Felix. How does the graphic novel Chinatown Trollop fit into your Felix Gomez series?

Mario Acevedo: This is the prequel to Felix Gomez’s adventures in my first novel, The Nymphos of Rocky Flats. Chris Ryall, the publisher at IDW, found the mention where Felix refers to a previous assignment against the Han Cobra Chinese heroin smugglers and suggested the graphic novel revolve around that episode.


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WIN A COMIC BOOK CONTRACT AT THIS YEAR'S RT CONVENTION

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 31, 2011 | PERMALINK

Attention Aspiring Authors, Graphic Artists and Graphic Novel Lovers, enter Sea Lion Books LLC's contest for a new comic book contract to be awarded to one attendee at this year's RT Convention!

Sea Lion Books is the publishing house that has produced the graphic novels of such recognizable authors as P.C. Cast and Richelle Mead. Now the publisher behind such great works is giving away a one-shot comic contract to a lucky attendee at the RT BOOK LOVERS CONVENTION in L.A., April 6-10, 2011. Your project could be the next great graphic novel success! 

 
     

SUBMISSION DETAILS:


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST