RT Daily Blog

Haiku 4 U: March Mysteries

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Every month your RT Web Team examines the books releasing. We plot and plan how best to cover them for you. Sometimes the process becomes almost … meditative, as we ogle the book covers and back cover copy. So it makes sense (in our minds, anyway) that we've come up with a new feature: Haiku 4 U. In it, we'll cover a genre trend in that beloved 5-7-5 syllable format, and then wax on about why these titles are the ones for you. Join us in the mindful exercise, or just check out the reads we recommend!

This month’s best mysteries feature blasts from the past!

The past, it lingers

We must learn from our mistakes

Only if we can


   

PAST MURDERS …


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The King of Horror Returns: Stephen King Announces New Novel Revival

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

Legendary and renowned author Stephen King has officially announced his return to the literary scene following last fall's Doctor Sleep. On November 11, 2014, eager fans can pick up Revival, a new and dark read sure to please readers across the board. Set in a New England town, the arrival of a mysterious and alluring minister and his wife stirs up secret obsessions, family tragedies and unexpected bonds. To read the full synopsis and announcement, visit King's official website here.

Alright, King fans, let the countdown begin!

Image courtesy of John Robinson via flickr.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Laura Lippman's Favorite Baltimore Haunts

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Laura Lippman’s mysteries are awesome for so many reasons, their intricate narratives, the multifaceted characters — and the way her Baltimore setting shines. Baltimore native Lippman and her husband David Simon, creator of the much lauded TV show The Wire, have vividly brought the Maryland port city to life for years. So in celebration of Laura’s latest, the RT Top Pick! After I’m Gone, we asked her to share her favorite places in Baltimore to hang out. Here’s what she had to say:

1) The bar at Cinghiale. This is our household go-to for comfort and celebration. When our daughter was small, we would just prop her car seat on the bar while we ate grilled calamari and drank Barolo.

2) A tie between two neighborhood restaurants — the Wine Market and Bluegrass Tavern. Both do great variations on mac 'n' cheese and when you have a 3-year-old, that's key. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mystery Overview: February

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Kids say — and do — the darndest things, and in this month’s mystery overview, we’re taking a look at some chilling cases where the adults aren’t the only ones getting in on the action or drama. Today’s youngsters are smarter than we sometimes give them credit for, and this month’s recommendations prove they have what it takes. So let’s get started, shall we?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Seven Valentine's Day Recipes From Mystery Lovers' Kitchen

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

Who do you turn to when you're looking to make something tasty for your sweetie this Valentine's Day? Why, cozy mystery authors, of course! (Who did you think we'd say, Martha Stewart?) After all, many of them craft their suspenseful stories around decadent treats. Today, the lovely ladies from Mystery Lovers' Kitchen are here to share their favorite V-Day dishes, sweet and savory, and best of all? You can take all the credit!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mystery Overview: January

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

Whether you’re a dancer, actor or even a manager of a theatre, you probably know the world of art can be a little … well, cutthroat. Jealousy arises easily and stress can lead to disasters. In this month’s mystery overview, we take a look at a handful of exciting new January books that feature the dangers of treading the artful waters. So let’s raise the curtain and get on with the show!

First up is Joelle Charbonneau’s A Chorus Lineup, in which Glee club coach Paige Marshall must keep her students safe at Nationals when someone begins sabotaging costumes and sets. Even though her team has yet to be affected, Paige is still on edge, especially when the woman who accuses her of being the culprit winds up dead. Will Paige be able to shine the spotlight on the murder, or will the murderer get an encore?


Read More>>

Tags: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mystery Overview: December

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

Were any gauntlets thrown at Thanksgiving? Any vendettas to be sworn by New Year's light? For our December mystery picks, nothing completes the holiday season like a hearty dose of vengeance — especially when justice is served in the name of family. 

In Maggie Barbieri’s Once Upon a Lie, Maeve Conlon’s awful cousin Sean is murdered, finally freeing Maeve from his abuse. But all is not well when her forgetful 80-year-old father becomes a prime suspect. Maeve must deal with her past in order to clear her father’s name.

Meanwhile, in Laura Joh Rowland’s latest, The Shogun’s Daughter dies from smallpox, but her mother isn't convinced the disease was behind her death. Believing her daughter was murdered so the family’s enemy could become heir, Sano desperately tries to solve the murder before it’s too late.


Read More>>

Tags: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Gobble, Gobble: More Thanksgiving Recipes from Your Favorite Mystery Authors

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 20, 2013 | PERMALINK

We don't know about you, dear readers, but we're dreaming of all the pie we'll be eating next week. (We love stuffing and fixings and turkey, sure, but pie will forever hold the first place in our hearts.) If you're longing for your stretchy pants and familial angst all because it will get you to that delicious food, we've got two more recipes for you to consider today, mashed potatoes from the culinary master of murder, Joanne Fluke, whose Lake Eden Cookbook is out now, and Kristina McMorris' Pineapple Cream Cheese Pie, which we'd really appreciate if someone would make for us right now. Kristina's The Pieces We Keep is out next week!

***

Joanne Fluke’s Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

This is a slow cooker recipe, but you can also do it in the oven. Edna Ferguson contributed this recipe. She says every new bride should be presented with it, right along with her wedding ring.

Approximately 8 pounds potatoes, peeled


Read More>>

Tags: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mystery Overview: November

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2013 | PERMALINK

Nobody said it quite as profoundly as the cast of High School Musical when they said, er, sang the words, “we’re all in this together.”= The power of teamwork should never be underestimated and this month’s selection of noteworthy mystery reads all feature characters who rely on others for help, whether they be partners, mentors or simply good friends. Ready to solve some mysteries? Take a look!

Let’s start with Judith Rock’s The Whispering of Bones. In this latest Charles du Luc mystery, Charles and his mentor stumble upon a recently murdered body. The scene is too horrifying for his mentor to handle and his old friend unfortunately dies from shock. Determined to seek justice for his mentor and the victim, Charles sets out to uncover who’s behind the killing and finds himself more involved than he could ever imagine.


Read More>>

Tags: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Soup's On! Mystery Authors Share Their Favorite Turkey Day Soup Recipes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 18, 2013 | PERMALINK

Have you made your Thanksgiving menu yet? We’re mostly done, but we’re always open to suggestions. Which is why we turned to some mystery authors to cook up some intrigue for us! Today we’ve got two soup recipes for you, one from Ellen Marie Wiseman, whose Top Pick! rated What She Left Behind hits shelves this January — and the other from Laura Levine, whose latest, "Nightmare on Elf Street" appears in Secret Santa and features elves, cats and murder. We know what we’ll be reading once the holidays are over! In the meantime, we’re heading to the kitchen to start cooking.

***

Ellen Marie Wiseman’s Butternut Squash Soup

6-8 strips bacon (can you ever have enough bacon?)

1 cup chopped onion

2 garlic cloves, minced

2 cups mashed, cooked butternut squash (I bake mine for the best flavor, frozen squash doesn't do this soup justice!)

2 tablespoons flour


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST