RT Daily Blog

Debra Webb Debuts Her New Self-Pubbed Mystery Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today we take a coffee break with popular romantic suspense author Debra Webb. Webb is known for her Colby books, series length tales of pulse-pounding action and romance, but this month she is embarking on a new project — a self-pubbed mystery series that kicks off with May's Dirty

***

Can you tell us a little about your newest release Dirty?


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

TNT To Offer Tuesday Night Mysteries

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

Cable television channel TNT is lining up “The TNT Tuesday Night Mystery” feature. This programing will include contemporary crime dramas as well as made-for-TV movies that will be shown each week. And even more exciting, many of the proposed projects are adaptations of works from fan-favorite mystery authors. 

Beginning in November, TNT will premier movies that are based on popular novels like Scott Turow’s Innocent, Sandra Brown’s Ricochet, Lisa Gardner’s Hide, as well as other works by Richard North Patterson, April Smith and Mary and Carol Higgins Clark


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cozy Corner: Joanna Campbell Slan's Life - More Interesting Than Fiction

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

Mystery author Joanna Campbell Slan shares what she has in common with her cozy series heroine, Kiki Lowenstein.

Once upon a time, a writing coach gave my critique group this sterling piece of advice: “Never, ever use your own life as the basis for a protagonist. Trust me. You’re just not that interesting.”

Since she was the expert and I was the beginner, I did the logical thing. I ignored her. I created Kiki Lowenstein, a spunky and good-hearted woman who regularly finds trouble stuck to the bottom of her shoes.

You see, I think most of us actually DO have interesting lives. And so I use my personal foibles regularly for material that (with a little tweaking) perfectly illustrates Kiki’s lack of pretensiousness.

For example, one day while on carpool duty, I drove away from a gas pump with the hose still attached. (Yeah, it was a real parenting low point. Or highpoint, depending on your sense of humor.) One of my son’s friends in the back seat tapped me on the shoulder and stuttered, “Uh…Mrs. Slan? Uh…there’s a…a hose hooked up to the car.”

“Whose car?” I asked.

“Um…yours.”


Read More>>

Tags: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Stefanie Pintoff On Secret Of The White Rose And The Art Of Criminology In The Early 20th Century!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are more than a little bit obsessed with Criminal Minds, CSI and Bones, so we were excited to learn about Stefanie Pintoff's new release Secret of the White RoseThe story features a turn-of-the-century sleuth Simon Ziele who uses the era's budding practice of criminology to solve a judge's murder. So we knew we had to ask the author, "what are the CSI techniques of the early 1900s?" 

My historical mystery series revolving around Detective Simon Ziele and early criminal scientist Alistair Sinclair is set in early 1900s New York. It’s a time period I was attracted to largely because of the zeitgeist of this era, which was characterized by a tremendous faith in possibility. People – especially scientists – believed that the next big discovery was just around the corner, certain to change society for the better. Their innovations were revolutionizing all fields and areas of life – criminology among them.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Richard Castle Graphic Novel Announced

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Are you a fan of the television show Castle? (Or maybe in love with hunky Nathan Fillion?) Viewers will be getting another look inside the Castle series with an upcoming graphic novel. 

Marvel Entertainment and ABC Studios have just announced that they will be publishing Richard Castle’s Deadly Storm as a hardcover graphic novel. While readers won’t be getting any more Nathan Fillion, we will get to meet the dark and dangerous Derrick Storm, the character from Richard Castle’s books. 

Veteran comic book writers Brian Michael Bendis and Kelly Sue DeConnick are currently working on the 100+ page graphic novel with Lan Medina set to illustrate the story. The new project joins the Castle franchise which already includes the TV series as well as two Richard Castle novels Heat Wave and Naked Heat. Richard Castle’s Deadly Storm is set to be released this September. And make sure to check out the September issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine for an exclusive interview with the graphic novel’s creators. 

For more about Castle universe check out the fan-centric site RichardCastle.Net.  


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Real-Life ATF Heroes Speak at RT Booklover’s Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

Thriller author Andrew Peterson is no stranger to dangerous and daring escapades. But how does this author come up with these scenes of mayhem? This daredevil author combines his own experiences of target shooting, scuba diving and helicopter flying, with a little bit imagination. But when he's in doubt he turns to trusted sources, such as government agents, for more information. Today the author describes his experiences meeting ATF agents at the 2011 RT Booklovers Convention and what he has scheduled for next year.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cozy Corner: Several Series Hit The Road Just In Time For Beach-Book Season!

BY MORGAN, MAY 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

What is it about a really good cozy mystery series that brings readers back book after book? My thought is that it has to be the great amateur sleuths who take on the crimes around them and don’t stop until they get the bad guy. But it can be hard to keep a series fresh several stories into it. So what is an author to do? Send their sleuth on a trip, of course. Just in time for toting your book to the beach, or somewhere air conditioned, here is a guide to a few cozies series that feature amateur detectives solving crime not-so-close to home.

 

 

Clutches and Curses by Dorothy Howell
Book 4 in the Haley Randolph Mystery series
Releases May 2011

After being cursed by a customer, L.A. salesgirl (and purse-aholic) Haley Randolph absolutely needs an escape. So she is off to Las Vegas. But when her rival shows up dead, Haley is the prime suspect and must work her stilettos off to find the real killer.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

April's Seal Of Excellence Winner Author Carol McCleary Top 5 Historical Figures Who Deserve Their Own Novels - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Mystery Author Carol McCleary's latest historical mystery The Illusion of Murder won RT's April Seal of Excellence. The editors were captivated by the way that McCleary brought historical figure Nellie Bly to life, capturing the female reporter's race around the world as seen through a cleverly annotated diary. Today we chat with McCleary about why she brought Nelly Bly to life and which other famous females of history she believes deserve their own novels and why. And don't miss your chance to win a copy of The Illusion of Murder at the end of this post!

***

Why I chose Nellie Bly as my main protagonist:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cozy Corner: Miranda James On Two New Men Of Mystery

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Last summer, Miranda James introduced readers to the sleuth who is keeping killers at bay in her Cat in the Stacks mysteries. This librarian lead is back to unravel another reader's mystery in this month's Classified as Murder. But don't expect a feisty heroine, in a bit of gender-bending fun, James' book-loving leads are a man and his cat! 

When you mention the words “cozy mystery” these days, what probably comes to mind most often is “female sleuth.” That’s because 99% of cozy mysteries these days do have female main characters, usually amateurs, who do the crime-solving. Two writers who have bucked that trend recently are Jeffrey Cohen, with his Elliot Freed series, and Miranda James (aka me), with the Cat in the Stacks series featuring not one, but two, males as lead characters: Charlie Harris and his Maine coon cat, Diesel.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Dorothy St. James On Creating Complete Cozy Characters

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

Aspiring authors, how do you keep your cozy characters sane as they stumble over corpse after corpse? And how does a character go from unlucky body-finder to eagle eyed amateur sleuth? It is a daunting prospect but you aren’t on your own with these dilemmas. Today cozy author Dorothy St. James (aka Dorothy McFalls) shares some of the tricks of the trade that she learned from four fellow mystery authors!

“If Jessica Fletcher walks into a room, run! Someone is about to be murdered, and you sure as heck don’t want it to be you.”

Growing up, this was a running joke in my family.

The idea that an amateur sleuth/mystery novelist would become involved with a murder investigation week after week grew all the more unbelievable with each season of Murder She Wrote until one night my dad exclaimed that Jessica Fletcher was a serial killer who cleverly framed scores of innocent dupes.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST