RT Daily Blog

Author Ethan Cross Explores the Minds of Serial Killers - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today thriller author Ethan Cross releases The Shepherd the terrifying tale of a serial killer run amok and the conspiracy that keeps him free. We asked the author to give us a peek inside the mind of his killer Francis Ackerman Jr. Cross does just that by exploring how Ackerman's past and genetics come together to create the perfect serial killer. Interested in reading more? Check out the giveaway at the end of the post to get your own copy of this thrilling read.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Jeffrey Small Answers Our Questions About His Debut Novel The Breath Of God

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Jeffrey Small’s March suspense, The Breath of God, received an RT Top Pick! This debut book is plotted around a real historical document from 1887 that continues to be controversial. So we knew we would have to go straight to the author to answers about this intriguing new tale!

***

Writing about missing texts following Jesus' life opens you up to criticism from Biblical and religious readers. Were you at all intimidated by this?

I suspected that two of the novel's themes would be controversial: exploring the mystery behind what Jesus was doing in the twenty years of his life that the Bible doesn't address that made him into the man he became and the importance of inter-religious dialogue so that we can understand the influences among and the common themes between the world's religions. Throughout history, religion has been one of the major causes of war, persecution, and exclusion. We see these problems ongoing today with Islamic terrorism and with what I call "Country Club Christianity"—the attitude that "I'm saved, but you're not" that leads to persecution of gays, discrimination against those of other religions, and the relegation of women to subservient roles. By having more dialogue among religions, we cannot only lessen these tensions by exploring the commonalities rather than the differences among the great faiths of the world, but we can also enlighten our own faiths by opening our minds to ideas we may not have considered. Rather than being intimidated by a reaction to these themes, I felt a calling to bring them out into the open.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Antiques Knock-Off By Barbara Allan

BY MORGAN, MARCH 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week Whitney and I Dish about Barbara Allan’s new mystery, Antiques Knock-Off. This title is the latest in Allan's popular Trash'n'Treasures series but the first that Whitney or I ever picked up. Both being big fans of such comedy classics as Bringing Up Baby, we were intrigued by RT reviewer Pat Cooper's 4 1/2 star review that called this tale "laugh out loud" and "a screwball comedy cozy". 

Now for the Dish:

Morgan: First off, I feel like I have to mention how much is happening in this mystery. Brandy is an amateur sleuth who is seven months pregnant (as a surrogate for her best friend), off her Prozac prescription and dealing with her unruly mother (who Brandy's just learned is actually her grandmother). She is also dating a cop and trying to keep her antique shop running. 

Whitney: Don’t forget that Brandy also attempts, with little success, to keep her parentage - which would be a political scandal - under wraps, a secret that will soon be public knowledge if nasty neighbor Connie has anything to do with it. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lisa Gardner Answers Our Questions About Love You More

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

Out now is Lisa Gardner’s newest tale of suspense and danger Love You More. In this RT Top Pick! Gold, RT Senior Reviewer Jill M. Smith says the tale is “unbelievably gripping and clever, you won’t want to put it down until the final page!” Now we chat with Gardner for a special look at D.D. Warren’s latest investigation - a race to hunt down a killer and locate a missing child - and the author shares what fans can expect from this tale that brings back the man that this policewoman was forced to walk away from.

***

Love You More, finds PD Sgt. Det. D.D. Warren desperately searching for a missing six-year-old, whose mother, the state trooper Tessa Leoni, may have killed the child’s father. Did the murder and abduction come to you together when you sat down to write the story, or did one crime help inspire the other?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Sara J. Henry

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

Name: Sara J. Henry

First novel: Learning to Swim

Age: Forever not-quite-grown-up

Current home: On a dirt road in a small southern Vermont town

Author icon: Don’t really have one, but one of my favorite books has always been Brat Farrar, by Josephine Tey.

Number of manuscripts hidden under the bed: None, unless you count the one begun in pencil in a composition book when I was 12.

Time it took to sell first book: Six weeks – or ten years, depending on how you look at it (ten years of occasionally looking at the manuscript but having no idea how to rewrite, and six weeks after I finally revised the manuscript and sent it out).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Around the World: The Belgian Congo

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Tamar Myers gives readers a unique look at the Belgian Congo during the late 1950s in her new mystery, The Headhunter's Daughter. With fighting tribes, feuding missionaries and killer animals the nation is full of dangers. When the American missionary Amanda Brown hears of a European girl being raised by a native tibe, Amanda sets out to bring this mystery child back "home". But all is not as it seems when this young girl's reappearance threatens to exposed a secret that is decades old. Now the author shares her personal experiences with the Belgian Congo in this author interview!

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Many Mysteries Of February

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

February is full of chills — at least in our neck of the woods — so we're bringing you five new mysteries that will encourage you to cuddle up with a warm blanket and lose yourself in the drama of other people's lives. 

 

Seeking a Cozy With a Serious Message? Check out G.A. McKevett (aka contemporary romance author Sonja Massie)'s new novel A Decadent Way to Die. This mystery has Savannah Reid racing to discover who is trying to kill off the wealthy elderly owner of a doll company. Greedy family members abound however, RT Reviewer Page Traynor also noted that the story had a more serious note, in includes a "moving, well done subplot of abuse against women." 

Read the Review >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Steve Hockensmith Ditches His Prelude

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

Steve Hockensmith's latest addition to his mystery series Holmes on the Range with this month's World's Greatest Sleuth! The novel follows the adventure of two brothers in the late 1800s, that travel to the first-ever World's Fair in order to enter the competition for the title of the World's Greatest Sleuth. Enjoy this exclusive look at the original prologue of Hockensmith's new release.

I admit it: I’m a cheater. Not at cards or Monopoly. Not on my taxes. And dear Lord -- I’m not talking about cheating on my wife! How could you think such a thing of me?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meet Mary Jane Clark's Newest Heroine - With Recipe!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Mystery author Mary Jane Clark shares the inspiration for the heroine of To Have and to Kill, the first story her new Wedding Cake Mystery series. Twenty-something Piper Donovan has just returned home to help out at her mother’s bakery. And don’t miss a special taste of this new heroine with Piper’s Simple Buttercream Icing recipe at the end of this post!

While I was watching television one morning, Martha Stewart appeared to publicize her book: Wedding Cakes. The book featured more than 100 wedding cakes, each one beautiful, luscious-looking and incredibly creative. Each cake was a work of art, a mini-masterpiece. I wanted to see more. I bought the book.

The pages were filled with the most mouth-watering and eye-pleasing visual images: Daisy Garden Cake, Lemon Grove Cake, Pink Lusterware Cake, Banana Orchid Cake, Garden of Sweet Delights Cake, Lily-of-the-Valley Cake, Devils’ Food Finale Cake, Tuscan Grapes Cake, Seven Tier Coconut Cake and on and on. Each cake was as colorful and whimsical as its name implied. Each was expertly designed and executed. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Three new mysteries each get a *Web Exclusive Review*!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

The multi-faceted mystery genre is out in full force this January. In the January issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine there were tales of suspense, paranormal occurrences, amateur sleuths and much more. And three other diverse January mysteries are each getting a *Web Exclusive Review* today!

Lois Winston starts her new series featuring amateur sleuth Anastasia Pollack in Assault with a Deadly Glue Gun. Travel back in time to solve a mystery about The Attenbury Emeralds with Lord Peter Wimsey and his wife, written by Jill Paton Walsh. And finally it is an embarrassment of mystery novella riches in Joyce Carol Oats' latest anthology, Give Me Your Heart.

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST