RT Daily Blog

Steve Hockensmith Ditches His Prelude

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

Steve Hockensmith's latest addition to his mystery series Holmes on the Range with this month's World's Greatest Sleuth! The novel follows the adventure of two brothers in the late 1800s, that travel to the first-ever World's Fair in order to enter the competition for the title of the World's Greatest Sleuth. Enjoy this exclusive look at the original prologue of Hockensmith's new release.

I admit it: I’m a cheater. Not at cards or Monopoly. Not on my taxes. And dear Lord -- I’m not talking about cheating on my wife! How could you think such a thing of me?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meet Mary Jane Clark's Newest Heroine - With Recipe!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Mystery author Mary Jane Clark shares the inspiration for the heroine of To Have and to Kill, the first story her new Wedding Cake Mystery series. Twenty-something Piper Donovan has just returned home to help out at her mother’s bakery. And don’t miss a special taste of this new heroine with Piper’s Simple Buttercream Icing recipe at the end of this post!

While I was watching television one morning, Martha Stewart appeared to publicize her book: Wedding Cakes. The book featured more than 100 wedding cakes, each one beautiful, luscious-looking and incredibly creative. Each cake was a work of art, a mini-masterpiece. I wanted to see more. I bought the book.

The pages were filled with the most mouth-watering and eye-pleasing visual images: Daisy Garden Cake, Lemon Grove Cake, Pink Lusterware Cake, Banana Orchid Cake, Garden of Sweet Delights Cake, Lily-of-the-Valley Cake, Devils’ Food Finale Cake, Tuscan Grapes Cake, Seven Tier Coconut Cake and on and on. Each cake was as colorful and whimsical as its name implied. Each was expertly designed and executed. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Three new mysteries each get a *Web Exclusive Review*!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

The multi-faceted mystery genre is out in full force this January. In the January issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine there were tales of suspense, paranormal occurrences, amateur sleuths and much more. And three other diverse January mysteries are each getting a *Web Exclusive Review* today!

Lois Winston starts her new series featuring amateur sleuth Anastasia Pollack in Assault with a Deadly Glue Gun. Travel back in time to solve a mystery about The Attenbury Emeralds with Lord Peter Wimsey and his wife, written by Jill Paton Walsh. And finally it is an embarrassment of mystery novella riches in Joyce Carol Oats' latest anthology, Give Me Your Heart.

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lori Avocato adds to her popular Pauline Sokol mystery series

BY Faygie Levy, JANUARY 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

If you're one of the many who enjoyed Lori Avocato's Pauline Sokol mysteries about a nurse turned fraud investigator this is your lucky day. Avocato has written and self-published the seventh adventure in the series, Dead Weight. It is available on her website, LoriAvocato.com for $7. Back for more fun with Pauline are Jagger, Goldie and friends. Also, look for a series epilogue to be e-released shortly. To learn more about the previous books in the series, check out Avocato's RT page for a list of her previous releases.

For more on authors self-publishing their own stories check out the February issue of RT Book Reviews on sale now.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Three Tasty Mysteries - With Recipes!

BY Whitney Sullivan, JANUARY 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of my very favorite trends in the mystery genre is the tales of deception and death that involve cooking and baking escapades. I love figuring out the identity of a murder, thief or other evil-doer, and then introducing a new recipe into my kitchen repertoire from the story I just devoured. So we went to Sheila Connolly, Jenn McKinlay and Julie Hyzy, who are each continuing their sleuths' adventures this month. The three authors share the food aspect in these yummy mysteries — and a recipe from their tasty series!

 

A Killer Crop
by Sheila Connolly


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

BONUS CONTENT: More from the Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child Magazine Article - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

In the February issue of RT Book Reviews, RT’s Liz French interviewed thriller co-authors Lincoln Child and Douglas Preston about their new series starring a new hero, Gideon Crew. We didn’t have quite enough room to include all the Q&As, but we thought you’d like to hear about Douglas Preston’s adventures in Italy and his involvement in the Amanda Knox case (Knox, an American living in Italy, was recently convicted of murdering her roommate). Additionally, we asked both authors which classic books they simply couldn’t get through and Child especially was very candid. And don’t miss the giveaway at the end of this bonus content from the February issue!

Liz French: Mr. Preston, Tom Cruise’s production company has optioned Monster of Florence. Care to comment? Would you also like to comment about your involvement in the Amanda Knox case and your entanglements with Italian prosecutor Giuliano Mignini? Is it true that you were one of the many persons of interest in the Monster of Florence case?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Victoria Laurie's Homage To Agatha Christie

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Victoria Laurie's newest tale was inspired by the maven of mystery herself, Agatha Christie. Learn how Laurie channeled Christie when crafting the latest novel in the Ghost Hunter Mystery serues, Ghouls, Ghouls, Ghouls.

Several months ago when I was casting about for a new story idea for the next book in my Ghost Hunter’s Mysteries series, I looked to the classics and found fantastic inspiration in Agatha Christie.

Like so many millions and millions of others, I simply adore Agatha. It’s not just that her mysteries are so well plotted; it’s the way she tells the story that I admire so much. With her succinct and easy style her novels are indeed timeless and just so readable...you know? 

I also love that in every Agatha Christie book I read, I find little pieces of myself reflected back in her characters. It’s part of her genius, I think, to show us our whole selves – and not just those bits about us we like. Masterful.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Pamela Callow on her heroine Kate Lange - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Pamela Callow stops by to chat about her heroine Kate Lange and the second mystery in the Kate Lange thriller series, Indefensible. Callow shares how lawyer Kate uses all her resources to try to keep a desperate single father out of jail. And don’t miss your chance to check out an excerpt of Indefensible and enter to win your own copy of the new mystery at the end of this post!

If you enjoy reading thrillers, you probably are fascinated with stories about crime. I know I am. I’ve often wondered what it would be like to face a killer. Or what it must feel like to be wrongfully charged with committing a crime.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
14COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Podcast: CJ Lyons Chats About Her Final Angels of Mercy Novel - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

CJ Lyons concludes her popular Angels of Mercy series with Critical Condition, the fast paced thriller that is released today! Lyons, who is an ER doctor turned author, talks about readers can expect from the fourth novel in her popular medical thriller series. In Critical Condition all four of the series' heroines are trapped in the hospital with a serial killer on the loose, so this is sure to be another action-filled visit to the hospital. Lyons also shares what her fans can expect next — the author's upcoming series is co-written with Erin Brockovich. And don't miss your chance to win Critical Condition at the end of the interview!

LISTEN HERE


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Tom Franklin

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 03, 2010 | PERMALINK

M, I, Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter, I, Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter, I, Humpback, Humpback, I. Just a string of gibberish until it's put together as Mississippi, the setting of mystery author Tom Franklin’s Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter. This RT Top Pick! captures the feel of the South and has RT Reviewer Donna M. Carter raving, “Much more than a mystery, this literate, evocative tale is a story of guilty secrets, hidden loves and, ultimately, of redemption, with characters who are so real they practically walk off the page.” Now get an inside peek into the mind of the author behind Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter and don't miss the excerpt at the end of the interview.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST