RT Daily Blog

Mystery Book Recommendations: April 2013

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 19, 2013 | PERMALINK

With hundreds, maybe thousands, of crimes to choose from, mystery authors have a plethora of mayhem to include in their novels. So what fictional crimes are proving to be popular this month? Three classics — break-ins, kidnappings and murder. And no matter which kind of story gives you chills and keeps you up at night, we've got your fix. Check out our handy guide to this month's most intriguing crime stories.

While a break-in, most of the time, doesn’t lead to violence, it can be quite disturbing to have your home burglarized. There are two titles out this month that investigate suspicious break-ins. First up is When the Devil Doesn’t Show by Christine Barber, a procedural mystery about home invasions during the Christmas season in New Mexico. And the second is There Was An Old Woman by Hallie Ephron which has heroine Mina mistakenly accused of trespassing. The home she breaks into is actually her mother's, but even Mina's best snooping skills may not be enough to save her mom from an unknown threat.


Read More>>

Tags: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Find Out Why Becky Masterman's Heroine Rages Against A Killer - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 21, 2013 | PERMALINK
Brigid Quinn's past is best left alone. Her years working for the FBI and tracking down sexual predators are behind her, but there is one last case that Brigid cannot forget and one last murderer she must catch ... before he catches up to her. With a suspenseful plot, unique heroine and dangerous villain, there is a lot to love about Becky Masterman's novel, Rage Against the Dying. We recently talked with this debut author to learn more about Brigid and her troubles. And at the end of the interview, we are giving away audiobooks of the story!

*** 

Brigid Quinn, aka Stinger, has retired from the FBI. Why did she decide to leave?  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
17COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mystery Book Recommendations: March 2013

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 14, 2013 | PERMALINK

On the hunt for a mystery tale that has a great hook? Get ready to find your thrills in the following RT recommended books that include big doses of the occult, politics and conspiracies — oh my!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Q&A With Author Simone St. James On An Inquiry Into Love And Death

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

Author Simone St. James' latest novel, An Inquiry into Love and Death, is an intricate blend of mystery, paranormal and historical fiction. When her ghost hunter uncle meets his demise after falling off of a cliff, college student Jillian Leigh goes to his seaside home to collect his things. When handsome Scotland Yard inspector Drew Merriken tells Jillian he believes her uncle's death was a murder, the two must investigate and put to rest an angry spirit. We asked the author about her 1920s-set mystery and what readers can expect from her next.

***

You write historically set mysteries with a touch of the paranormal. This makes for complex, interesting reads. When you begin to write a story, which aspect of the book do you focus on first?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mystery Book Recommendations: February 2013

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 18, 2013 | PERMALINK

Is what to read next a mystery to you? Look no further than RT's recommendation for the best mystery, suspense and thriller novels releasing this month.

If you love rooting for unlikely heroes, then we suggest you check out Alan Bradley's Speaking From Among The Bones, a historical mystery featuring the 12-year-old Flavia De Luce. And for more for young protags, Lisa O'Donnell's The Death of Bees pairs up sisters who have been abandoned by their parents.

Amateur sleuthing is more than a hobby for the characters in this month's cozy mysteries — it is a calling. The three books that called to us this month are Easter Bunny Murder by Leslie Meier, Bonnie of Evidence by Maddy Hunter and Fonduing Fathers by Julie Hyzy.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lucky 13: Our Most Anticipated Mystery, Suspense And Thriller Books Coming in 2013

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 17, 2013 | PERMALINK

With a new year comes resolutions, new beginnings and best of all ... new books! This month we'll be sharing 13 titles across the genres we're looking forward to in 2013, continuing with Mystery, Suspense and Thriller releases! So just in case your TBR list wasn't already a mile long, here are a dozen (plus one!) mystery/thriller/suspense titles we're anticipating in 2013:


 

Into the Dark by Alison Gaylin 

Releases February 2013


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

January Mystery Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 16, 2013 | PERMALINK

The holidays are over, but one peek outside of your window will tell you that winter is just beginning. During January the weather can always be a bit frightful, so why not wile away the dark days with so oh-so-delightful mysteries. In this overview, we round up some of the best of the genre releasing this month.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Le French Book: French Mysteries In Translation

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 20, 2012 | PERMALINK


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Editors' Best of 2012: Liz's Picks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

This blog post is part of a series that the RT Editors will be taking part in during the month of December. Please check back all month long for each editor's installment!

***

With 2012 winding down, the RT editors thought December would be a good time to reflect on what each of us read this year and which books stuck with us long after we finished them. While this year's RT Awards winners won't be announced until our convention in May, we've decided to share our personal favorites of 2012, in no particular order. Today RT's mystery aficionado and managing editor Liz French brings us her year in books:

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

November Mystery Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

Get ready for a bit of armchair traveling with this month’s novels. To Europe and beyond, November’s mysteries and suspense stories are sending readers on adventures in exotic locales. And after you are done with your journey, get ready to hear from a debut author who gives us some important insight into her heroine who has faced death many, many times. Next up on the agenda is a visit from J.T. Ellison as the author sleuths out the scariest setting for a thriller novel. And finally, in the cozy corner readers will recognize a few famous faces including an actress lookalike, reality show star and musician. So no matter what you are in the mood for — a lighthearted murder mystery set in Hollywood or a darker thriller that takes you further afield — readers are going to be able to find exactly what they are looking for in this roundup of November’s best mystery novels.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST