RT Daily Blog

Ravenous Romance To Get Sister-Imprint Ravenous Shadows — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

Mystery fans will be very excited to hear that there will soon be a new line of mysteries, thrillers and horror stories from the team at Literary Partners Group. Titled Ravenous Shadows, this new imprint is headed by John Skipp, the New York Times bestselling author and editor who has spent much of his career working in horror and fantasy.

The just-launched Ravenous Shadows line features e-books that are between 30,000 and 60,000 words long. They are also priced accordingly, and will cost readers between $3.99 and $6.99. Eventually the Skipp’s goal is to publish between thirty and forty stories each year.

Ravenous Shadows is Literary Partners second digital imprint. In 2008 Ravenous Romance, an erotica audio and e-book line, debuted to great success. This prompted the company to branch into other genres. CEO Holly Schmidt said in the press release about the move, “It was always our plan to expand our business model to other fiction genres, and when we had the opportunity to work with John Skipp, we decided to start with horror/mystery/thrillers … Skipp provided us with a clear vision and strong point of view for the line, and really is the heart and soul of Ravenous Shadows.”


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
33COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

James Rollins Will Be At The 2012 RT Booklovers Convention!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 07, 2012 | PERMALINK

James Rollins is the bestselling author of the Sigma Force thrillers, a fast-paced series which will continue with this summer’s Bloodline. Rollins has also penned the Jake Ransom series for young readers and the novelized version of 2008’s Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull. We are thrilled that this fantastic talent will be joining us at the 2012 RT Booklovers Convention which will be held in Chicago from April 11 - 15.

Today, Rollins shared why he’s looking forward to convention: “Conventions are like people, each has their own unique personalities. And as much as I've heard about RT from my fellow authors and about how much FUN they've had, I knew I wanted to go. In addition, RT BOOK REVIEWS Magazine has always been a great supporter of my books, and I hope to be able to thank everyone in person. Plus I hear the Faerie Ball is featuring a Scottish Theme. Finally, an excuse to wear a kilt!”

***

So where can you find the author while he’s in Chicago? If you’re not already registered for convention but you want to see Rollins in action, you can catch him at these two events on Saturday, April 14.


Read More>>

Tags: Convention, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Jeffrey Allen On Stay At Home Dead

BY Morgan Doremus, JANUARY 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

Thriller writer Jeff Shelby debuts his cozy author alter-ego, Jeffrey Allen, with the release of this month's Stay at Home Dead. When stay-at-home dad Deuce Winters finds the dead body of a former high school rival in the back of his minivan, his life of folding laundry and caring for his daughter takes a turn as he tries to find the murderer. I asked the author about his own experience as a stay-at-home dad and how it influenced this fun mystery. Plus, Allen also shares his method for writing hilarious stories and tells us what's next for cozy hero Deuce!

***

While I assume you don't normally find dead bodies in your minivan or spend a whole lot of time clearing your name for murder, I am wondering if you have anything in common with your character Deuce?

I stayed at home with my daughter until she was seven. It was truly a privilege and the best decision I ever made. I was a Room Mom at her preschool and kindergarten and I feel incredibly fortunate to have had that time with her. I was minimally harassed by PTA moms.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The 2012 Edgar Award Nominees Are Announced!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

Congratulations to The Tattooed Girl: The Enigma of Stieg Larsson and the Secrets Behind the Most Compelling Thrillers of our Time by Dan Burstein, Arne de Keijzer and John-Henri Holmberg and The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson. Both of these 2011 books are among the titles nominated for a 2012 Edgar Allen Poe Award.

The 2012 Edgars, as they are informally called, are selected by Mystery Writers of America. The winners will be announced this Spring at the 66th annual banquet. This year’s Edgar Awards Grand Master is bestselling author Martha Grimes.

RT featured The Tattooed Girl in the September 2011 issue, as that month’s non-fic pick. The book is an unauthorized but incredibly in-depth guide to all things Stieg Larsson and his series. In the September issue, RT’s Managing Editor Liz French interviewed Dan Burstein, one of the book’s co-authors. He gave us a look inside the non-fic work and what inspired its creation ...


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mysteries In Translation: A Nordic And Scandanavian Author Invasion!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

Stieg Larsson’s Millennium series, which as most people know was imported from Sweden, has become an American phenomenon. So it’s no surprise that readers are anxious to get their hands on more novels from authors overseas.

To feed this demand, Grand Central Publishing is teaming up with Little, Brown Book Group U.K. for a new joint-publishing venture. Together, they plan to acquire and publish six mysteries in the crime, suspense and thriller subgenres which will be translated for American readers. The new project will be headed up by a director from each country.

Dan Mallory, the U.K. program director from Little, Brown said, “In recent years, fiction in translation, especially genre fiction, has enjoyed increased market pull in the English-speaking world. Now, in tandem with Grand Central, we're pleased to offer an utterly unique opportunity within English-language publishing: the chance for foreign writers to be published throughout the English-speaking world by a single company. In an increasingly globalized market, an author's international profile is more valuable than ever, and our new venture will enable us to coordinate our efforts and expertise in order to build those profiles and power those authors to brand status around the world.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Rick Mofina's The Burning Edge

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 04, 2012 | PERMALINK

Today RT’s Morgan and Whitney Dish about Rick Mofina’s latest suspense The Burning Edge. Investigative reporter Jack Gannon knows he has a good nose for stories, but with his new executive editor pressuring him, will he be able to connect the dots between a terrorist threat and a vicious roadside slaying before it’s too late?

Whitney: Now you know that I don’t normally venture into what I consider “boy book” territory — and without a romance in sight this is definitely that type of story — but I have to say, I really loved the book!

Morgan: I knew that you were going to like Jack Gannon. This is the third book I have read in Rick Mofina’s series and they are always a fast-paced reads with amazing characterization and terrific plotting.

Whitney: Jack’s particularly excellent. Mofina does a great job of bringing his hero to life as a multifaceted man who is able to express his frustrations with his job, with his ex, with his shifty-seeming sources. 

Morgan: And he does this all without ever taking away from the action of the story.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Magazine Extras: Father & Son Michael And Daniel Palmer Interview Each Other

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 04, 2012 | PERMALINK

Father and son Michael Palmer and Daniel Palmer are both thriller authors and both have books releasing this February. In the latest issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS they interviewed each other for the article “Father Knows Best?” Today we bring you two never before seen questions (and answers).

***

Michael: I remember when you started playing in bands after college. During the day you had some of the most heinous jobs imaginable. Could you tell us about some of them? 

Daniel: Let’s see … I used to play guitar and hand out leaflets for lunchtime harbor cruises dressed as pirate. Business people would often try to kick my peg leg out from underneath me. I opened and closed a juice bar, and then auctioned off the remnants of Juicy Juice when my business partner failed to pay his storage warehouse bill. Oh, did I mention that I used to work in that storage warehouse? Worst of all, though, was the Barmuda Triangle, a college dive where I tended bar and which was so cash strapped, a repo man from our vending machine company once carted away the sanitary napkin dispenser. That was a real low point for me. 

***

Daniel: You have been writing for many years. Is there any part of the craft that comes more easily now than when you first started? 


Read More>>

Tags: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

If You Like ... You'll Love: Stephen J. Cannell’s Vigilante

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Looking to add a few books to your TBR pile? In our newest column "If You Like ... You'll Love" RT staffers and reviewers will pick one new read and then suggest three other books that hold the same appeal. Today we look at Stephen J. Cannell’s Vigilante.

When Stephen J. Cannell passed away in September 2010, the world lost an excellent storyteller. Cannell was a television show writer, actor, creator and producer. Among the projects that he worked on are the classic shows Columbo, 21 Jump Street, The A-Team and The Rockford Files. And when he turned his attention to writing novels in 1995, he did so with the same enthusiasm, writing 17 books in those 15 years. As an author Cannell is best known for his 10-book Shane Scully series about an LAPD detective. This month the final Shane Scully story, Vigilantehit shelves. In this tale Scully takes on a murder that brings him face to face with possible police corruption, gang problems and a nosy reality TV star who wants nothing more than to see the detective fail. 

RT’s Jo Peters says, "The late Cannell’s last Scully novel is a fitting ending to the series, reminding us why Cannell was a significant part of our entertainment culture on TV and in print for decades: he was a darn good storyteller. This well-plotted story shouldn’t be missed.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Brandilyn Collins On Character Building And A First Look At Her March 2012 Tale!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Brandilyn Collins talks with RT's Morgan about crafting suspense stories with true crossover appeal, tales that resonate with both inspirational and secular readers. The author is best known for her gripping mysteries, but it's her well-drawn characters that keep us coming back time after time. Today, Collins shares a look how she creates these detailed heroes and heroines and gives RT readers a sneak peek her March 2012 novel, Gone to Ground!

Brandilyn Collins On Character Building And Her Upcoming Tale >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Holiday Gift Guide: For The Mystery Fans On Your List

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

It’s that time of year again, when you’ve got to make a list and check it twice to figure out what you’re going to get your loved ones. But don’t worry, we’re here to help with suggestions for each type of person on your list. Today we bring you our top suggestions of what to get for the hard to gift-to mystery enthusiast …

Gifts To Read:

We can’t get enough of e-books this year, but you don’t have to go whole-hog and pick up an e-reader for the mystery lover on your list. Instead we suggest giving a great set of e-books as an inexpensive and space-saving present! Don’t know where to start? Thankfully, Amazon is offering a range of these e-bundles in a wide variety of mystery sub-genres. You can keep the spirit of the holiday strong with the Prime Crime Holiday Bundle that features six reads (including three books that are still in hardcover). Or opt for a single-author holiday feature with Joanne Fluke’s four e-book collection. And keep it cozy by buying Tim Myer’s three e-book bundle. But if your giftee has you seeking books that are a bit more, shall we say, thrilling? Then we suggest you pick up Kevin O’Brien’s selection of suspense e-stories. Alternatively, you won't go wrong by snapping up the Kindle collection of John Grisham legal classics. Or stray towards scarier territory with the digital copies of the first four books in Dean Koontz’s Frankenstein series. No matter which bundle you select, you're sure to win a smile!


Read More>>

Tags: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST