RT Daily Blog

Morgan & Whitney Dish: India Black And The Widow Of Windsor By Carol K. Carr

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

In the second book in Carol K. Carr’s Madam of Espionage series, the author has her heroine, India Black, spend Christmas in the Scottish highlands protecting Queen Victoria from a death threat. But don’t expect this mystery to have the lavish, sumptuous feeling of nobility enjoying a royal retreat that one might expect from this setting. This is a historical like no other! 

Morgan: Forget pomp and circumstance, there is absolutely nothing glamorous about the characters in India Black and the Widow of Windsor

Whitney: Exactly. We see them in all their smelly, dirty, sneezy glory.

Morgan: And the story’s heroine, India, is a culprit of the “uglification” of the era. From calling Queen Victoria, Vicky, to insulting Prime Minister Disraeli’s clothing, India takes these historical figures, so often put on a pedestal, down a few (hundred) notches.

Whitney: And it’s not like India is one of their own, either. She’s the madam of a London brothel!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Otto Penzler To Publish E-book Mystery Originals And Backlist Titles

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

BLOG UPDATE 10/27/2011: Otto Penzler's digital imprint from MysteriousPress.com has just launched! In order to celebrate the new line (and their new website), Mysterious Press is giving away three free e-books to one lucky Twitter user who follow them @eMysteries between now and November 2nd. The winner will receive The City When it Rains by Thomas H. Cook, Rilke on Black by Ken Bruen and The Mordida Man by Ross Thomas.


Read More>>

Tags: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Holiday Baking With Joanne Fluke's Hannah Swensen — With Recipes!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today mystery author Joanne Fluke shares an RT-exclusive short story about her heroine Hannah Swensen's holiday celebration and three recipes for you to try at home!

***

The weather was perfect, crisp and cold with a light blanket of freshly fallen snow. The house smelled like chocolate from the Bourbon Brownies I'd made for the adults and the Double Chocolate Puff Cookies I'd baked for the kids. I'd been cooking since five in the morning and now I was sitting at my downstairs neighbor's kitchen table, having a cup of coffee while she basted the turkey. We were celebrating Thanksgiving together. The kids were at the skating rink with their grandparents, the husbands were watching football, and in a few hours, we would be feeding twenty-five guests.


Read More>>

Tags: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2011 CWA Dagger Award Winners Announced

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

The Crime Writers’ Association, has just announced the winners of the coveted Dagger Awards this year. The top book prize, the Gold Dagger, went to Tom Franklin for Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter. We were excited to see Franklin's terrific work has been honored. RT rated this novel as a Top Pick! and also nominated it for an RT Seal of Excellence award. (If you are interested in learning more about the story, be sure to check out the special author interview that Franklin gave us just after the book hit shelves.) 

Tom Franklin enters the ranks of an elite group of Dagger holders which also includes previous winners Sara Paretsky, Patricia Cornwell, Dick Francis and John le Carre, just to name a few. The CWA, a UK-based writer's organization, has been awarding Daggers since 1955. A look at their past winners shows the group has a strong track record of recognizing what's new in crime fiction as well as honoring authors who consistently deliver high-quality stories.


Read More>>

Tags: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Peggy Webb

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Peggy Webb, author of the Southern Cousins mystery series, chats with RT's Morgan about crafting her lighthearted cozy mystery stories, how Elvis the crime-solving basset hound came to be and gives us an insider look at amateur sleuth Callie and her latest adventure in Elvis and the Tropical Double Trouble. Plus, get an exclusive look at what's next for Callie and Elvis! New to the series? You can download a free e-copy of the first Southern Cousins mystery, Elvis and the Dearly Departed, from Amazon here!

Peggy Webb Chats About Her Southern Cousins Mystery Series >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Harlan Coben

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Harlan Coben is one of the top names of mystery. Today the bestselling scribe chats with RT's Morgan about his early novels, the evolution of his beloved sports agent-turned-sleuth, Myron, and how his trademark writing style developed. Readers can get a blast from the past when Coben chats about his second novel, Miracle Cure, which has just been re-released. And then don't miss a behind the scenes look at the author's latest new endeavor, his first-ever YA novel!

Harlan Coben On His Writing >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

James M. Cain's Final Noir To Be Published By Hard Case Crime

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

Hard Case Crime will be releasing James M. Cain's final work, a never-before-published mystery titled The Cocktail Waitress in Fall 2012. 

James M. Cain is widely considered one of the best noir authors — on par with Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler at the top of this mystery subgenre. Best known for his gritty mystery novels including Mildred Pierce and The Postman Always Rings Twice, Cain revealed in the preface of his bestselling Double Indemnity that he did not deliberately write noir novels. Instead he said, "I make no conscious effort to be tough, or hard-boiled, or grim, or any of the things I am usually called. I merely try to write as the character would write, and I never forget that the average man, from the fields, the streets, the bars, the offices, and even the gutters of his country, has acquired a vividness of speech that goes beyond anything I could invent, and that if I stick to this heritage, this logos of the American countryside, I shall attain a maximum of effectiveness with very little effort."


Read More>>

Tags: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Magazine Extras: Questions For Cozy Author Peggy Webb

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

In the October issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS RT's Stephanie Klose profiled a few of our favorite new cozy mystery series. We adore these fun stories that feature small-town amateur sleuths, so we are keeping the fun going! Today we asked award-winning author Peggy Webb why she loves the subgenre and to get us up to speed on her series just before Elvis and the Tropical Double Trouble hits stores next month.

Who is your sleuth?

One of my sleuths is the basset hound Elvis, who thinks he's the King of Rock 'n' Roll reincarnated. I believe a sleuth with four legs instead of two definitely qualifies as different! He is also one of the two major narrators. 

How does the music theme play into the stories?


Read More>>

Tags: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Dress For Hardboiled Success

BY Liz French, SEPTEMBER 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

The first thing I noticed about Hard Case Crime’s fantastic noir titles was the retro-looking covers featuring busty babes and firm-jawed men. The throwback look gave you a taste of what was inside, whether it was a carefully curated reissue of a long-out-of-print classic or a new hardboiled novel by a modern-day writer.

I’m not the only one to be struck by the covers, which were painted by such masters of the craft as Robert McGinnis, Glen Orbik and Gregory Manchess. Designer Hally McGehean incorporated these iconic covers into her “Hard Case Crime dress,” which was on display during New York’s Fashion Week. The Hard Case dress was one of 10 McGehean paraded down the runway at a fashion show at New York’s High Line and a Soho Gallery yesterday. The dress in question has every cover ever published by Hard Case in the series incorporated into the skirt, and an especially clever use of McGinniss’ horizontal cover painting for Losers Live Longer by Russell Atwood. McGehean made that image into a belt for the dress, and fashioned the top out of tiny interleaved copies of John Farris’ Baby Moll (another McGinnis cover).


Read More>>

Tags: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Everything Is Fodder: Eileen Carr On Vanished In The Night

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today mystery author Eileen Carr comes clean about her "shameless" habit of using situations around her for writing inspiration. Do you want to know how soccer, alcoholism and the relationships that adults have with their parents all figure into her newest book Vanished in the Night? The author stopped by RT to answer this questions and more!

I get asked a lot about where I get my ideas. I think it would be easier to tell people where I don't get them. I am shameless. I don't think there's anything or anyone I won't mine for material for a book.

For instance, I mined my kids' soccer careers to come up with the setting for the school in Vanished in the Night. It gets trickier when you start stealing people's emotional lives. 


Read More>>

Tags: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST