RT Daily Blog

Eternal Love: The Ever-Changing Lynsay Sands

BY DJ DeSmyter, JULY 16, 2013 | PERMALINK

There is no one quite like the prolific and talented Lynsay Sands, author of the bestselling Argeneau vampire series and RT favorite. But while her vampires enthrall readers and leave them wanting more, Lynsay has also swept readers away with her historical romances. Many of these luxurious and passionate stories have been RT Top Picks and in 2010, Taming the Highland Bride was an RT Reviewers Choice winner!

Readers are sure to be enchanted by the author's latest historical tale, An English Bride in Scotland. Here at RT, we can’t wait for the rest of you to get your hands on this book, which features Lynsay’s signature humor and sensuality.

With such a broad range of work, Lynsay must really love her job — and she does! She even shared with us some of her favorite things about being an author:

  • Meeting my readers

  • The writing itself

  • My agent


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Reveal: Find Out Who Lindsey Piper Really Is

BY Mala Bhattacharjee, JULY 12, 2013 | PERMALINK

If you read our August issue Q&A with paranormal romance “newbie” Lindsey Piper, then you know that she’s crafting quite the delicious monarchy with her new Dragon Kings series — and that she’s someone fans are already familiar with. So, who is the mysterious dragon lady? You know her as historical romance author Carrie Lofty and one-half of the writing team behind scandalous siren Katie Porter! Grab a throne and take a seat, as we ask Carrie all about ruling her new kingdom … and what territory she’s taking over next.

***

You've written as Carrie Lofty, Ellen Connor and Katie Porter. How did Lindsey Piper come to be?


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Ilona Andrews

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 10, 2013 | PERMALINK

Urban Fantasy fans are in for a treat with today’s interview with the bestselling husband-wife writing team, Ilona Andrews. Ilona and Gordon Andrews have taken the Urban Fantasy world by storm with their thrilling Kate Daniels and The Edge series, which combine elements of magic, romance and action to create engaging and exciting stories that are frequent RT favorites and award winners. But what is it like to work with a spouse? Do they ever fight over which way the plot should turn or how a character should react? And who wins the argument? Our very own Morgan sat down with this popular team to discuss how they divide the work and their writing goals. Then the interview ends with a hilarious and insightful trivia game to see how well this powerhouse couple know each other as writers!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Darynda Jones On Provoking The Devil, And Other Mistakes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 09, 2013 | PERMALINK

Charley Davidson, the heroine of Darynda Jones' humorous paranormal romance series knows a thing or two about getting in trouble. After all, as a grim reaper/private eye, she has the occasional run-in with Satan himself. So how does Charley deal with the lord of the underworld, and more importantly, get out of these sticky situations? Today the author joins us to share some of Charley's most memorable moments, and the lessons she's learned.

As the caffeine addicted grim reaper, a gig that comes with a modicum of supernatural abilities, Charley Davidson tends to take what others might consider an abundance of unnecessary risks. For example, taunting the son of Satan when he’s angry might not be the healthiest outlet for one’s sarcastic nature. And yet, that is exactly what Charley would do when faced with the alternative: Let angry dogs sulk. Alone. And unprovoked. But provoking seems to be one of Charley’s favorite pastimes.

Here are a few other examples of Charley biting off more than she can chew.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

White Trash Zombie Fun: A Glance At Diana Rowland’s Hit Series

BY DJ DeSmyter, JULY 03, 2013 | PERMALINK

When one thinks of zombies, they usually don’t think of endearing, romantic or humorous. But bestselling author Diana Rowland’s White Trash Zombie series has won over readers with those exact qualities — and here at RT Book Reviews, we just can’t get enough of this series, which won our 2012 Urban Fantasy Protagonist Award! But the fun certainly doesn’t stop with the book’s interior content — Rowland’s covers for the series are just as quirky and engaging!

Each of the books’ covers are full of energy and attitude, and the illustrations of the heroine, Angel, help convey these qualities. The covers are definitely attention-grabbing and you can’t help but want to grab all three books and read them back to back. Author Diana Rowland loves the covers, too, and says, “...There’s a scene in the movie Despicable Me where one of the little girls finally wins a giant stuffed unicorn, and she screeches, ‘IT’S SO FLUFFY!’. That’s pretty much my reaction to every single one of my White Trash Zombie covers, along with some joyful flailing and high-pitched shrieking.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: Larissa Ione Answers Our Questions About Reaver

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 26, 2013 | PERMALINK

The dark, dangerous and addictive Demonica series has propelled paranormal romance author Larissa Ione onto bestseller lists and into readers' hearts. Continuing in this world with the spin off Lords of Deliverance series, these books feature cursed demons, deadly assassins and harbingers of death — and these are the good guys. So you can only imagine the evil our heroes and heroines are up against! Larissa continues her intense storytelling with the December release of Reaver. Fans have been begging for this rogue angel's story and the author delivers in a big way by teaming Reaver up with Harvester, a 'Fallen' heroine who is in the process of infiltrating Satan's lair. Needless to say, there is a lot happening in this upcoming release, so we just had to ask the author what we can expect from Reaver.  

***

Reaver may be an angel, but his attitude is anything but angelic. What from his attitude caused him so much pain that he has adopted his bad boy persona? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Nicole Peeler Looks Back At Her Jane True Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 12, 2013 | PERMALINK

This month author Nicole Peeler released the sixth and final book in her Urban Fantasy Jane True series, Tempest Reborn. Readers will finally see if halfling selkie Jane can destroy The Red and The White forever. But even as we are thrilled with the series finale, there is always that bittersweet moment when we say goodbye to characters we have grown to love. In this post, we ask the author to take a look back and describe the series' most unforgettable moments. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Vampire Academy: Blood Sisters - Meet The Cast!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 11, 2013 | PERMALINK

Last week, we interviewed author Richelle Mead and she answered our questions about the movie adaptation for her YA Vampire Academy series. Excited to see her fictional world come to life, Mead said that every actor cast in the film absolutely captures her VA characters. But just who will be bringing this paranormal saga to life? Today we give you a run down of the actors you will see on the big screen Valentine's Day 2014, when Vampire Academy: Blood Sisters releases in theaters everywhere.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Cover Reveal: Coreene Callahan's Fury Of Desire

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 11, 2013 | PERMALINK

Romance readers who take on a series — whether it be contemporary, historical, paranormal or beyond — always have that one secondary character that they're just dying to see get their happily ever after. For many of Coreene Callahan's Dragonfury readers, that character is Wick — a wounded fighter whose much deserved HEA is coming in book four, Fury of Desire.

Callahan's Nightfury dragon shifters — a half-human, half-dragon race committed to protecting mankind — have been feuding with another faction of dragons hell bent on wiping out humans, so with tension building across three books, Wick certainly has his work cut out for him. Today we're happy to unveil the cover of Fury of Desire, which depicts a hunky Wick among a burning yellow color scheme, inspired by his piercing amber eyes.

Writing an entire series is a serious commitment for an author. We asked Callahan about what she's learned over the course of her series and how the first three Dragonfury books influence the fourth:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Richelle Mead

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

At this year's RT Convention, RT's Morgan had the pleasure of sitting down with author Richelle Mead. Known for writing fantastic paranormal romances, Mead is releasing Gameboard of the Gods today. In this interview, the author talks about her new novel — the start of a futuristic series featuring a military heroine who teams up with a government agent who is living in exile. Mead calls the story a slow burning romance, with much more to come. Plus, the author discusses news about the upcoming Vampire Academy movie!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST