RT Daily Blog

Cover Chat: Frost Burned By Patricia Briggs

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

It will have been two years since the last Mercy Thompson title hit the shelves when the seventh in the series, Frost Burned, is released in March 2013. Fans are rabid for news of the New York Times bestselling series and its fierce coyote-shifting heroine, Mercy. Since its inception in 2006 with Moon Called, author Patricia Briggs’ creation has thrilled readers and made its way up book lists.

With an enthralling character like Mercedes “Mercy” Thompson it’s easy to understand the appeal of the series. She’s the ultimate Ms. Fix-it: By day she’s a Volkswagen mechanic, but at night she’s usually taking care of whatever danger has crossed her path. Mercy’s a Native American who has the power to shift, at will, into the form of a coyote. In the series she’s taken on a number of otherworldly creatures, and her latest venture found her — finally! — married to her mate, handsome werewolf Adam.

But, as usual, things aren’t smooth sailing in Mercy’s little corner of Washington. Straight from the author’s website, we found this telling little tidbit:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Kira Brady

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

Name: Kira Brady

Book: Hearts of Darkness

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Current Home: Seattle, WA

Job (when not writing): I play zoo tour guide, craft diva, and storybook queen for my two year old heroine-in-training. 

Author Icons: Meljean Brook and Ilona Andrews. I love their world building, action-adventure plots, and delicious love stories.

What was it like writing Hearts of Darkness? What was the easiest part? The most difficult? 

When I wrote Hearts of Darkness, I had neither child nor day job. I spent most of my time frolicking, reading every book I could get my hands on, and traveling the world with my globetrotting husband. Discipline was the hardest part! I also hadn't figured out that I'm a plotter, not a pantser. I threw out a lot of extra scenes that didn't fit into the final book. I have less time now, but I'm a lot more efficient about how I work.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Gunmetal Magic By Ilona Andrews

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 02, 2012 | PERMALINK

This week Ilona Andrews releases Gunmetal Magic, which features leading lady Andrea Nash, the best friend the author’s long-running heroine Kate Daniels. But Andrea is on her own when a shifter crime throws this were-hyena back together with the man who broke her heart. Can Andrea and Raphael work out a truce in time to save the pack from a dark supernatural evil?

Whitney: You know when you finish a book and you just want to hoot and holler with glee? Well, that was my experience with this novel.

Morgan: Agreed! We were both Andrews’ novices, but I am pretty confident that we are both now solidly in this author’s camp. Her backlist better get ready for the Morgan Invasion!

Whitney: I can’t believe I’ve been missing out on all the whole Ilona Andrews Reading Rainbow of Awesome. Gunmetal Magic had witty repartee, a twisting plot, excellent secondary characters and a hero and heroine who I absolutely fell in love with.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RWA 2012: From Vampires to Dragons With Yasmine Galenorn

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 01, 2012 | PERMALINK

When seeking advice on how to breathe life into your paranormal characters, look no further than the pro: Yasmine Galenorn. The author, creator of the Otherworld series, has penned many mystical beings and their worlds in rich, compelling detail. Take, for example, the engrossing D’Artigo Sisters. The three women, half-human, half-fae, have went on to inspire a 13-book series. At a craft workshop during the 2012 RWA Conference, the author shared her tips on creating life-like paranormal characters with aspiring writers. 

Tip #1 - When crafting a book, leave 90% of the main characters’ back stories out

Galenorn says that it is important for the author to know just about everything about their characters. But when it comes to imparting this information to the reader, be very careful. “Authors need to ask themselves if it is necessary for the reader to know something or just get to see the outcome.”


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Law And Order: Paranormal Style

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 26, 2012 | PERMALINK

In the paranormal criminal justice system, creatures are represented by various, yet equally important groups: Among them are the werewolves, vampires, witches and shifters. They investigate crime and prosecute the offenders. These are their stories.

***

Meet The Crime Fighter: Archer

What He Does: Member of the Bloodhound Guild

Where You’ll Find Him: In Archer’s Lady by Moira Rogers

Archer’s been accused of many things, but the one thing he most certainly is not is a traitor. Sent to the besieged frontier town of Crystal Springs to prove his loyalty to the Bloodhound Guild, he’s ready to prove his worth — especially to the pretty schoolteacher, Grace Linwood.

Today the author gives us a glimpse into the man who has dedicated his life to taking down the vampires that stalk the fine folk of the Wild West:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Coreene Callahan

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Coreene Callahan has thrilled readers with her debut Dragonfury series, which follows the half-human, half-dragon shifters of the Nightfury clan. The muscle-bound hunks who tower over six feet have won a legion of fans. With the third book, the eagerly anticipated Fury of Seduction, set to hit shelves on November 13, 2012, RT's Morgan was on hand at BEA to get the scoop from Callahan. They discuss the author's inclusion of strong, independent human women who find themselves thrown into the foreign, and oftentimes dangerous, world of dragon shifters. And the woman who falls in love with the hero of Fury of Seduction is going to need this strength, because her dragon is hot — in more ways than one. Coreene Callahan reveals the identity of the seductive shifter and more in the video below. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: Samantha Shannon's The Bone Season

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

Dubbed "The New J.K. Rowling," author Samantha Shannon created a buzz when it was announced that UK publisher Bloomsbury had bought the first three books in her seven book series in a very generous deal. Shannon's first novel, The Bone Season, is a dystopian paranormal adventure that follows heroine Paige Mahoney, a clairvoyant working in London's gritty underbelly, until she's kidnapped and brought to Oxford, where her life changes forever. Intrigued by this new series, we asked the author to share some details about her September debut.  

Oxford is a familiar name. You might know it as the place where people read books, engage in strange traditions and pore zealously over illegible fragments of Old English; or you might just know it as the place where the dictionary comes from. In The Bone Season, however, it’s a place where people go to die.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Steel's Edge By Ilona Andrews

BY Kate Girard, JULY 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

Ilona Andrews, the pen name for a husband and wife writing team, is a master in the dual worlds of paranormal romance and urban fantasy. Andrews made headlines with “her” Kate Daniels series, one of the early Urban Fantasy series, which included not one but two books that received coveted RT Gold ratings. However, it was Andrews’ Edge series that helped her claim the paranormal romance throne.

The Edge series started with 2009’s On the Edge, which won the year’s RT Reviewers’ Choice Award for Contemporary Paranormal Romance. Each year since then Andrews has added one full-length story to the Edge adventure. And the author has just released the first look at the cover of the fourth book: Steel’s Edge, which will hit stores on November 27, 2012.

I was convinced that I had to read the series based on the author’s explanation of the setting:


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hanna Martine's New Magic-Slinging Character Shares Intraoffice Memos

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK
With her debut novel Liquid Lies, Hanna Martine is poised to make a huge splash with her hot, steamy tale of a water elemental who craves the one thing she shouldn’t—a human man. Not only does Gwen Carraway possess the skill of turning her body into water, but she has the ability to pick up languages in an instant—a skill that makes her indispensable to the family business now that Mendacia has gone global. But considering that their business involves selling a bit of magic to the primaries, a.k.a. humans, some dealings are more dangerous than others. And although Gwen would prefer to handle matters on her own, without her father or the help of the man he wants her to marry, she’s aware that their product may attract the most unsavory of men. Today, Gwen has started an email chain to discuss their next deal. Little does she know that she's about to find herself in hot water—and she's about to meet the one man who'll show her what it really means to melt into a puddle.

 

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Haunted Moon By Yasmine Galenorn

BY Whitney Sullivan, JULY 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

Yasmine Galenorn is set to continue her Otherworld series — which is also known as The Sisters of the Moon series — with the upcoming Haunted Moon. And although the new novel doesn't hit shelves until January 2013, the author has just revealed the new book's look. And I have to say, this art is "conjuring" up the Eagles' "Witchy Woman" — which will now probably be stuck in my head all day. 

But let's get down to business, the Otherworld adventure started with 2006’s Witchling, which was an RT Top Pick! and was also nominated for an RT Reviewer’s Choice award that year. And the author has been keeping busy with the series ever since. Haunted Moon marks the sixteenth installment — and the 13th full-length novel. (If you haven’t read any of these books yet I urge you to check out Galenorn’s website for a comprehensive series overview and a slew of other series-related goodies!)


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST