RT Daily Blog

Cover Trends: Angel Wings — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

The newest class of angels featured in upcoming romance novels inspire some very passionate feelings in our hearts. One glance at these covers, and it’s easy to see why these heavenly beings have us positively wrapped around their fingers. It doesn't seem to matter what color these wings are or if they are made of smoke or tattoos, we bet you won’t be thinking of cherubs, halos or pearly gates when you take flight with any of the stories below. Plus, we're giving readers a chance to win two of these titles at the end of this post!

 

 

 

 

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
23COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Anne Rice

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 08, 2012 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Anne Rice shares a look inside of her paranormal world in this RT-exclusive video interview. Rice chats with RT's Morgan, about vampire mythology and the author's most famous male characters - including Lestat. Then, go deep inside Rice's newest novel, The Wolf Gift, to discover what "called" to her about these paranormal creatures and the sequel she never thought she'd write. (Plus, the author reveals a look at the upcoming film adaptation of The Tale of the Body Thief — and who she'd tap to star!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: The Sweetest Dark by Shana Abe

BY Whitney Sullivan, MAY 03, 2012 | PERMALINK

Beloved historical romance author Shana Abe debuted in 1998 and received immediate attention for her lush voice. But she certainly didn’t rest on her “published author” laurels for long, after just a few books Abe began adding fantasy elements to her tales, like shapeshifters and time travel. Her Drakon series kicked off with The Smoke Thief, which won an RT Reviewers’ Choice award in 2005 and introduced readers to dragon shapeshifters that would capture our imagination — and our hearts. So we were thrilled to learn that the author will once again be breaking new ground with a new paranormal historical series.

Book one, The Sweetest Dark, will hit shelves on August 21st and features the paranormal and historical elements that are this author’s signature style. When TSD picks up, we’re in England during 1915 — that’s smack dab in the second year of WWI for those of you who don’t normally head historical for your reading — and mysterious circumstances bring seventeen-year-old orphan Lora Jones to the elite (but oh so gothic) boarding school, Iverson. Lora has always been connected to an otherness, and according to the book’s official synopsis, literally, “hears songs that no one else can hear, dreams vividly of smoke and flight, and lives with a mysterious voice inside her that insists she’s far more than what she seems.”


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Charlaine Harris

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 01, 2012 | PERMALINK

Paranormal superstar Charlaine Harris continues to dazzles readers with her Sookie Stackhouse mysteries, including this month's Deadlocked, the second to last in the series. During the 2012 RT Booklovers Convention in April, RT's Morgan got a chance to sit down with the author to find out what's next after Sookie's story ends, Harris' thoughts on the HBO adaptation of the series, True Blood, and what readers can expect from the author's new project. Plus, Harris sheds some light on the newly-announced upcoming TV adaptation of her Harper Connelly series that has just been optioned by Syfy (you can read more about the project here).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Steampunk: This Is Not Your Mother’s Victorian Era

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 30, 2012 | PERMALINK

Whether or not you are familiar with the paranormal sub-genre steampunk, these "retro futuristic" books are definitely here to stay. However, with so many different types of stories, readers can easily become confused by these gear and steam laden tales. But don't despair, we are here to help! Today we discuss what constitutes a steampunk story, suggest a few starter books for readers new to the sub-genre and preview a few of the upcoming tales that we can’t get our hand on. So let’s take a page from the steampunk genre and put on our traveling goggles to prepare for adventure!

SO, WHAT IS STEAMPUNK ?

The term “steampunk” is thought to have been coined during the 1980s, as an alternative to cyberpunk, to describe the books written in an HG Wells-ian and Jules Vern-ian style. At its most specific, the term refers to an alternate Victorian-era England where steam-powered inventions are all the rage. However, this premise provided so much fodder for authors and creators who quickly re-imagined the entire world pivotally changing at this moment in time.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get Ready For Some Amazing Sci Fi And Fantasy Projects From The Syfy Network

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

It’s not secret that the television airwaves have recently been flooded with some outstanding science fiction and fantasy programming. And the success of HBO’s Game of Thrones and AMC’s Walking Dead have proven that sci fi and fantasy novels are worthy of being considered for TV series adaptations. So we weren’t surprised to learn that there are several more fantastic projects coming down the pipeline - this time from the Syfy Network.

This cable channel is hopping on the book-to-TV bandwagon with six new literary-related projects all expected to air in 2013. According to Syfy’s press release, viewers can expect to see a book series, short story, two stand-alone novels and two comic series transformed into TV shows. With more than a few talented producers and writers on board, we suspect longtime sci fi fans and genre newbies will be enjoying these promising programs and here’s why ...

In a similar vein as George R.R. Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire series, Stephen King’s medieval fantasy The Eyes of the Dragon is currently being scripted for a show by the same name. The novel follows a wicked magician as he attempts to overthrow the kingdom’s current king to steal the throne. With plenty of bloodshed and treachery, a writer from the TV-adaptation of King’s The Dead Zone and the producer of the mini-series adaptation of King’s Nightmares and Dreamscapes short story collection, we have a feeling the televised version of The Eyes of the Dragon will stay true to King’s work and satisfy fans of Game of Thrones.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: The Seduction Of Phaeton Black By Jillian Stone

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 26, 2012 | PERMALINK

This week Morgan and Whitney take a bite out of The Seduction of Phaeton Black, a steampunk story from author Jillian Stone. In this tale of love, lust and paranormal adventure, a detective on the hunt for a mysterious supernatural killer and an orphaned woman seeking justice for her recently deceased father will join forces, but will this unusual couple be able to find the right balance between work and pleasure?

Morgan: Before we start discussing this book, I feel like we need to get on the same page about character Phaeton Black. Hero or anti-hero?

Whitney: Hero. Sure he is a little … unusual, but that doesn’t mean that he isn’t still able to make the heroine’s heart flutter.

Morgan: Her heart and the “hearts” of many other ladies (and I’m using that term loosely). I say this rogue is a total anti-hero.

Whitney: Make your case.

Morgan: Point one: He sees specters and not the nice ones. His connection to the paranormal makes it nearly impossible to even be in normal society.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Black Dagger Brotherhood and Four-Letter words: J.R. Ward and Jessica Andersen Let Loose at Convention

BY Audrey Goodson Kingo, APRIL 25, 2012 | PERMALINK

As the newest staff member at RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine, this was my first time attending our convention — and boy was it a doozy! From meeting my favorite romance authors Susan Elizabeth Phillips and Loretta Chase to catching glimpses of fiction idols like Anne Rice and Sue Grafton, every minute of convention seemed to be packed with excitement. But my favorite moment, by far, was sitting in on the panel "No Holds Barred With J.R. Ward and Jessica Andersen." I'm not exaggerating when I say I've never encountered a more fanatic reader following than the people who were at this reader event. In fact, the crowd's obvious enthusiasm inspired me to pick up the Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood series, and just a week after convention, I'm already on book four. I can't wait until I get to the point that I understand all of the spoilers Ward divulged at the chat. Want to find out what they were? In Ward and Andersen's own words, "Keep reading!"


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
32COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Even Supernaturals Get The Blues

BY Morgan Doremus, APRIL 25, 2012 | PERMALINK

In paranormal romances, supernatural is oftentimes synonymous with superpowerful. Near immortal vampires, commanding witches, warrior angels — the list for otherworldly creatures with amazing abilities goes on and on. But what happens when a supernatural has a personal problem? Something that renders them vulnerable? And no, I am not talking about kryptonite, but rather anxiety that has gone out of control.

This situation is exactly what readers will find in Shawntelle Madison’s newly released tale, Coveted, which features Natalya Stravinsky, a werewolf shifter with a debilitating obsessive-compulsive disorder.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Gabi Stevens On Her Time Of Transition FInale Wishful Thinking

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

Today author Gabi Stevens finishes up her Time of Transition paranormal trilogy with Wishful Thinking. The tale concludes the author’s light Urban Fantasy series about a woman who discovers that she is the next in line to become a Fairy Godmother. In this story Gabi finds herself at Black’s Beach in San Diego, famous for something it doesn’t have a lot of — clothed bathers. But why did Stevens decide to send her heroine to a nude beach and what type of research did she do in order to incorporate this unusual setting into her latest novel? Find out in this special guest post.

You might imagine that the undergrads of the University of California at San Diego spend much of their (limited — believe it or not, UCSD is actually a studious school) spare time at the beach. You’d be right. When I went to school there, UCSD even offered PE classes in surfing, sailing, and sand volleyball. But if a student wanted to head to the beach nearest to campus, it required a hike down a cliff (fastest way) or following a long winding road (not so fast). Either way, you’d end up at Black’s Beach.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST