RT Daily Blog

Take A Tour Of Crying Souls Hospital With Author Linda Wisdom

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month paranormal author Linda Wisdom treats readers to another tale of sexy demons in A Demon Does it Better. Heroine Lili, a powerful witch and healer, takes a job at Crying Souls Hospital to hunt for a patient that went missing, never guessing that it will catapult her into an adventure filled with danger, intrigue and one very hunky demon named Jared. Today the author takes us through the front doors of Crying Souls Hospital for a look at what a magical place this really is.

Thank you Morgan at RT Book Reviews for having me here! When Morgan asked me to give a guided tour of Crying Souls I thought "how cool!" Turns out it’s not as easy as it sounds.

I see the hospital inside my head as a 3-D building. Too bad I can’t just download it to my computer. :) So I’ll do the best I can to show you what the hospital is like. 

***

“You’re all going to die!” The un-named vulture that perched over the hospital entrance flapped his wings and craned his head, snapping his beak at all who approached the gothic-style building.

Hm, hospital designed to keep you alive and a vulture designed to want you dead and rotting. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five Reasons To Read Christine Feehan's Spirit Bound

BY Morgan Doremus, JANUARY 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Christine Feehan’s newest release is Spirit Bound, the second book in her paranormal Sea Haven series. A spin-off of the author's Drake Sisters novels, the Sea Haven books take place in the same fictional town on the California coast, which attracts those with supernatural gifts. In this outing, Stefan Prakenskii has been called to Sea Haven, or rather ordered to the town, to investigate Judith Henderson, a beautiful artist who has caught the attention of a dangerous criminal. Stefan adopts the persona of a mild mannered businessman in order to blend in, but living in a place where powerful psychics are the norm, Stefan cannot hide his gifts. He also finds it impossible to hide his feelings for Judith, which is unusual for Stefan who has been trained since childhood to stay emotionally detached from everything and everyone. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jaime Rush On What Lies Beyond The Darkness — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

Jaime Rush’s Offspring series features a group of supernatural characters that work to control their powers while evading the government. In the newest release, Beyond the Darkness, shapeshifting hero Cheveyo must find a peaceful way to protect the Offspring from extraterrestrials that want the group's coveted abilities. But when one of the Offspring, Petra, is captured, all bets are off. Today, Jamie Rush reveals how she developed the unique creatures in her Offspring series — and gives readers a chance to win the series first, A Perfect Darkness!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
18COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Richelle Mead Ends Her Dark Swan Series — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

2011 is not the only thing coming to an end. Readers also must say goodbye to Richelle Mead’s Dark Swan series. The final book, Shadow Heiran RT Top Pick! is releasing today. So to celebrate the finale of this fantastic series, we are giving away a complete set. Why’s that? Because this fast-paced, urban fantasy quartet was a winner from book one. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
132COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get The Look: Thea Harrison's True Colors

BY Morgan Doremus, DECEMBER 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

Perhaps the greatest unexpected gift to romance readers this year has been Thea Harrison's Elder Races books. The May series starter, Dragon Bound, received a coveted Gold RT review and the subsequent stories continue to wow readers. These paranormal romances include passion, mystery and a delightful mix of truly unique characters. Within the pages of these books, Wyr creatures, immortal beings from the magical lands of an alternate universe, are sometimes treated like gods and in other cases feared for the devils they can become.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview With Kate Douglas

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

Fan-favorite paranormal erotica author (and the winner of RT's 2010 Career Achievement Award for erotica) Kate Douglas shares some inside information about her wolves and other "sexy beasts" with RT's Elissa. Find out how the Wolf Tales series grew because readers loved it so much, the many different ways the author thinks about romantic love and how she incorporates this into her writing. Plus, Douglas shares why she loves pushing the limits in erotica and discusses how far the genre has come since her career's beginning.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

If You Like ... You'll Love: Allie Harrison's Hide and Seek

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

Looking to add a few books to your TBR pile? In our newest column "If You Like ... You'll Love" RT staffers and reviewers will pick one new read and then suggest three other books that hold the same appeal. Today we look at Allie Harrison’s Hide and Seek.

Author Allie Harrison penned her first novel in 1993. The award-winning Dream a Deadly Dream was followed by two more books before the author took a decade long break from publishing. Then, in 2008, Harrison returned with Blood in the Moonlight a story that delved into the world of paranormal romance. The author has since published two more books and collaborated on a third. However, it is with the newly reviewed Hide and Seek that Harrison truly showcases her skills. This tale pairs the talented psychic Tess Fairmont with coroner Dr. Michael Adams. Tess is able to touch the dead (or living) and see their last moments. But will Tess be seeing her own demise when she stumbles into the crosshairs of a serial killer or will the Michael be able to help keep her out of trouble? 

RT reviewer Karen Sweeny-Justice says, “Harrison scores with a tale that combines elements of the paranormal and suspense genres into a good old-fashioned whodunit. The heroine is a fully developed and realized character readers will root for; the widowed hero is a doctor who cares deeply for the bodies entrusted to his morgue; and the contemporary setting and secondary characters flesh out the storytelling. More than Ghost Whisperer meets Quincy, M.E., this compelling narrative makes for a page-turner readers won’t want to put down.”

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Which Steampunk Christmas Novella Is Right For You?

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

Trees are trimmed, candles have been located, presents are wrapped and meals are planned. (Or if you’re like us, they haven’t yet, but by the time people are expecting holiday cheer, everything will be done.) After all of your hard work it’s time to get yourself a gift and what better than some terrific steampunk holiday stories? The newly released anthology A Clockwork Christmas contains four short stories that will certainly get you in the mood to celebrate. You can buy the e-collection from Carina Press, or purchase any of these tales individually. And because we know you don’t have a whole lot of spare time right now, we’ve broken down each story in the quartet so that at a glance you can see which of these terrific short stories might be right for you. 

 

 

 

 

Title: “Crime Wave In A Corset” 

Author: Stacy Gail

Setting: Boston at the turn of last century


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Quick Paranormal Romance Fix For The Holidays

BY Morgan Doremus, DECEMBER 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

I admit it, I am a total sucker for short stories. I love that the happily ever after between characters can blossom in only a few pages. It is almost an instant gratification that, as readers, we can read a whole love story in under an hour. However, not all short stories are created equal. The condensed format makes them very difficult to write. There is so much to pack into a few pages that a lot of the time readers can feel cheated, like we missed out on fundamental world building or character development. But every once in a while, a short story is so well crafted, so well written that we just can’t forget it. That’s the way I feel about Marjorie M. Liu’s “Six” from the 2007 anthology Holidays Are Hell.

“Six” begins in the back room massage parlor in the heart of Shanghai. Our heroine, Six, is there working undercover for Squad Twelve, an elite secret military force. She’s investigating the murder of the Foreign Minister’s wife. Unfortunately, this puts her in the middle of some seriously intense trouble — something paranormal that her training has not prepared her for.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Daybreak By Ellen Connor

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Daybreak concludes the futuristic paranormal series co-written by Ann Aguirre and Carrie Lofty under the pen name Ellen Connor. The tale reunites childhood friends Pen and Tru from Nightfall, which Morgan and Whitney Dished about several months ago. But will these all-grown-up characters be able to forge a new (adult) relationship in this harsh world or are they doomed to failure like the society that they are products of?

Morgan: “Let’s read Daybreak,” you said. “We have to read Tru’s story,” you said. And innocent ole me thought it a great idea. Until Tru shows up in the story.

Whitney: Okay, he is a bit different from how we left him at the end of the first book in the Dark Age Dawning series. But, in his defense, Tru was only a teen in that story ...

Morgan: Yeah, and he is grown up to be a complete jerk! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST