RT Daily Blog

Holiday Gift Guide: For The Paranormal & Urban Fantasy Fans On Your List

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

It’s that time of year again, when you’ve got to make a list and check it twice to figure out what you’re going to get your loved ones. But don’t worry, we’re here to help with options for each type of person on your list. Today we bring you our top suggestions of what to get for the hard to gift-to paranormal romance and urban fantasy enthusiast …


Novel Ideas:

The community of paranormal and urban fantasy enthusiasts pretty widely agrees that at some point in our future a zombie takeover will occur. When these undead overlords come to take over it is not a matter of surviving the epidemic, but adapting to their new flesh-eating society. Before the tide turns against the living, arm your loved one with the Zombie Survival Aptitude Test, which will predict who will be able to adapt — and who will just be a casualty during the coming war. (If you think your giftee will score well on the test, then help them kick it up a notch by learning the grave crawling creatures' language with the educational text How To Speak Zombie.)

However, if you want to ring in the holidays with tidings that are a little less grim, we suggest that you gift your loved one some romance of the written variety. Raise their spirits with a special box set from one of the heavy hitters in paranormal romance. This could include Nora Roberts’ Key Trilogy box set, an urban fantasy collection of Laurel K. Hamilton’s Anita Blake series, or the immensely popular J.R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood box set. Or opt for an audio collection like Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Coffin Box Set that includes three of the author’s Dark-Hunter books.

If e-books are more your loved one’s style, then don’t worry we’ve got you covered with these six sets. Topping our list are Gena Showalter’s Lords of the Underworld Bundle, which features the first four books in the series and Lara Adrian’s Midnight Breed Bundle, that includes eight e-books. We also suggest Richelle Mead’s Dark Swan Collection, Kate Douglas’ DemonSlayer Bundle, this two-for-one set of Jade Lee’s DragonBorn books and the Yours for Eternity e-collection with digital reads from Hannah Howell, Kaitlin O’Riley and Alexandra Ivy!


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The December 2011 RT Seal Of Excellence Winner Is ...

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

Each month RT Book Reviews’ editors award the RT Seal of Excellence to one book that is not only compelling, but stands out from the more than 250 books reviewed in that issue and on the website.

So which novel won the December 2011 RT Seal of Excellence and what other titles were contenders for the Seal this month?

Here's your hint: This tale of love and paranormal creatures is positively on fire!

Find Out Now >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Judi McCoy Is In The Hospital But On The Road To Recovery!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

BLOG UPDATE 12/4/2011: Late last week we reported that Judi McCoy, who had been hospitalized since the end of November, was awake and responding. Sadly, this is not the case. A note on her Facebook page reads: “Judi is still in a coma, but does open her eyes frequently. Readers, fans, and fellow-authors are asked NOT TO SEND ANY FLOWERS OR WELL WISHES to Judi at this point, as she will not realize what has come to the hospital for her.”

McCoy is currently penning a series of cozy mysteries featuring the adventures of dog walker Ellie Engleman and her yorkie-poo sidekick, Rudy. The most recent book in the series is this year’s Till Death Do Us Barkwhich transported this crime solving duo to the Hamptons for some summer R&R, and of course, some sleuthing. 


Read More>>

Tags: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Adventures In Self-Publishing: Masters of Seduction Paranormal Anthology

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our new column Adventures in Self-Publishing, we bring you at look at this ever-expanding market: going in-depth to see what types of titles readers can find, sharing special extended reviews and getting the how-to of self-publishing, straight from authors who are doing it on their own.

Today, Marsha Canham tells us how she and five other fan-favorite authors who have traditionally been print published, decided to release their own e-anthology, Masters of Seduction. Learn how this group of writers came together for the project, why they believe it makes e-book history and how you can get your hands on this new anthology!


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Beginning Of The End For Meyer's Twilight Saga And What's Up Next

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

This weekend Stephenie Meyer’s Twihards flocked to the theaters for the beginning of the end. We mean to say, Breaking Dawn - Part 1 hit movie theaters across the country and raked in a cool $139.5 million in it's first weekend. 

Breaking Dawn – Part 1 tells the first half of the final chapter in Bella and Edward’s story including the couple’s long awaited wedding, the birth of their daughter and (spoiler alert) Bella’s transition into being part of her new husband’s fangy family.

However, like its characters, the film adaptations of the series have grown up since Twilight came to the big screen back in 2008. 

The movies have certainly grown in earning capability. $139.5 million in earnings for Breaking Dawn – Part 1 is certainly a marked improvement over the original Twilight’s $70.5 million. And although the latest movie fell short of the series’ second box office earnings its first week ($142.8 million), Breaking Dawn did land on the list of the top five movies with the best opening weekend sales.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lisa Renee Jones On Her New Hero, Sterling - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month author Lisa Renee Jones thrills readers with her paranormal romance series second, The Storm That Is Sterling. Today the author takes readers behind the scenes for a special look at the inspiration for her latest hero, Sterling Jeter. And then don't miss your chance to win a very special prize pack from the author at the end of the post.

Hello everyone and happy holidays! I love this time of year and I always find so many reasons to enjoy life during the holidays. Food, family, more food! Yes — I do love the food! 

This season I have a little something extra to celebrate and that is the release of The Storm That Is Sterling. One of the reasons I love this book, and this hero — Sterling — is that it’s his story of finding love, almost losing love, and then finding happiness despite the odds. After all, the holidays are a time for us to celebrate our gifts and, life and love are gifts in every possible way.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
65COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Paranormal Month Wrap-Up: RT Exclusive Video Interview With L.A. Banks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 31, 2011 | PERMALINK

We've been celebrating paranormal reads all month long — you can take a look back at the coverage here. For a special supernatural send-off, today we are premiering a never-before-seen RT exclusive interview with the amazing L.A. Banks, who passed away earlier this year. In this video interview, RT's Morgan and the L.A. discuss the author's past, how she wove her own experiences into her popular Vampire Huntress series and why it was important to the author to tell stories about characters that illustrate the idea that no matter what others say about you, you are the one that makes your future.

L.A. Banks On Writing Her Own Life Into Her Books >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

Congratulations to 3Kids1Cat for winning our giant 20-book paranormal giveaway and we hope you all have a happy and safe Halloween!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Can The CDC's Advice Help You Survive A Zombie Pandemic?

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

With Halloween just around the corner, there’s a new comic out that has just been published by the Center for Disease Control (CDC), which is getting us in the frightened frame of mind. Preparedness 101: Zombie Pandemic is the CDC's newest method of educating people about what resources are available and what type of provisions should be gathered in the event of a disaster — be it a zombie plague or something else entirely. Intrigued? You can download the comic for free here and then find out what RT’s Whitney and Morgan think of some of the CDC’s suggestions for zombie pandemic survival ...

***

CDC Tip: Turn to the televised news, the CDC’s website and the radio stations for information regarding a zombie outbreak.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

So You Want To Read A Paranormal Graphic Novel ...

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

Do you want try out a paranormal graphic novel but don’t know where to start? All of our coverage of Comic Con 2011 got us in the mood to check out some new illustrated tales. So for some expert advice on which new supernatural stories to pick up, we called in RT reviewer Ruth. Today, she shares how she started reading graphic novels and recommends four of her recent finds.

I enjoy romance comics! When I was a much younger woman (I am in my sixties, now) my husband would walk with me to the corner drugstore where we would buy two bottles of Coca-Cola and two comics. For several years, this was our routine, walking hand in hand and enjoying the balance of our life together. Being newlyweds we didn't have much money and still this was a favorite treat. His preferred issues were Captain America and Spiderman, but I liked anything with a romantic story. 


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Introducing Adam, Jacquelyn Frank's Latest Nightwalker!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling paranormal author Jacquelyn Frank takes readers behind the scenes of her latest Nightwalker installment, Adam. Discover what makes Adam an ideal hero, who the most important people in his life are and when you can get your hands on his tale!

Hello my beautiful friends and devotees of the Nightwalker World! I know, I know! It’s been so long since you’ve heard from this series! Three years since Noah, in fact, if I am counting correctly. Sigh. I didn’t mean to leave you hanging (lie) so long. And it really wasn’t so long (lie) if you think about it because I did write the Shadowdwellers series, which is a race of Nightwalkers and did advance the Nightwalker World plot. (Technicality.)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST