RT Daily Blog

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Working Stiff By Rachel Caine

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week Morgan and Whitney dive into the first Revivalist novel Working Stiff by Rachel Caine. This new release has corporate spies, zombies and Bryn Davis, an ex-military veteran who has just inherited, and we use that word losely, a funeral home.

Morgan: I can say without a doubt that Bryn Davis is the first ex-military, dead, funeral director heroine I have ever read about.

Whitney: She’s definitely not your average romance heroine. And she is just as surprised by her new life as we are. Working Stiff starts with her first day of being a funeral director and just looks what happens. There’s awful customers, a girl who commits suicide in the bathroom, a creepy perv who hits on her, and oh yeah — she gets killed and then reanimated!

Morgan: Oh yeah, that teeny detail.

Whitney: And to add insult to injury it is the evil — and totally skeevie — mortician Fast Freddy who takes her out. 

Morgan: At the command of Fairview Mortuary owner Mr. Fairview, who had seemed so nice all day!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Richelle Mead - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Richelle Mead has a lot in the works. She's just released her newest urban fantasy, Succubus Revealed, has more than one graphic novel in production and is getting ready to continue her YA series with this month's Bloodlines, the first in the Vampire Academy spinoff series. Today the author stops by to chat with RT's Morgan Doremus about exactly what readers can expect from her next. And then enter for your own chance to win a copy of Bloodlines below!

Behind The Scenes With Richelle Mead >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

GIVEAWAY ALERT: One lucky winner will receive a copy of Bloodlines by Richelle Mead. To enter leave a comment on this author message telling us how you'd survive life at Amberwood Prep, the boarding school in Palm Springs, CA. Or email your comment here with the subject line "Richelle Mead's Bloodlines Giveaway" and your us mailing address. The winners will be announced on September 7.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
14COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Time Travel Spotlight: Author Interview With Lynn Kurland - With Reader Poll!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are focusing on time travel romances all week long on the RT site and we knew that our spotlight would not be complete without author Lynn Kurland. She has been writing these stories in different incarnations for the past fifteen years, and has moved from historical romance to the fantasy genre and back with her tales of characters that transcend both space and time. So today we caught up with Lynn Kurland to pick her brain about what it really means to write time travel tales!

***

Why a time travel romance? What is it about your characters being out of time and place that appeals to you?

For me, time travels are the ultimate fish-out-of-water stories. I think having characters completely out of their comfort zone forces them to confront things they might not otherwise, which hopefully makes for a good story.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Primal Law by J.D. Tyler

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author JD Tyler (the pen name for Jo Davis who also writes contemporary romances and eroticas) will keep fans on their toes with this all-new paranormal series starter. Fast-paced and suspenseful, Primal Law, the first in the Alpha Pack series will appeal to J.R. Ward and Sherrilyn Kenyon fans. But don’t be surprised if these sexy shifters leave you howling for more ...

Whitney: One thing I can say is for those readers looking for a leisurely, sweet read, Primal Law is not for you because this author doesn’t know the meaning of the word slow. The story has deadly fighting, sweaty sex and paranormal creatures literally coming out of the woodwork! 

Morgan: And that is just in the first couple of chapters.

Whitney: In the prologue, we meet hero Jaxon Law as he and his of team Navy SEAL shapeshifters are caught in an ambush. In the course of a few pages Jax loses his best friends in the fighting and learns that his lover, Beryl, is the one responsible for their deaths. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Time Travel Spotlight: Jude Deveraux Answers Our Questions

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are spotlighting time travel all week long and as you learned yesterday one of the web team's favorite time travel authors is Jude Deveraux. Although Whitney and Morgan can't decide which is a their number one travel tale, A Knight in Shining Armor and Remembrance top both of their lists for the must-read that they always suggest to readers looking to test the time travel waters. So it only makes sense to start our round of author interviews with the talent who got us hooked on this type of novel. Today we host an author interview with the incomparable Jude Deveraux!

***

A Knight in Shining Armor was first published in 1990 and has been in print ever since. What do you think it is about this story that continues to capture readers' imaginations?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spotlight On Time Travel Tales

BY Morgan Doremus, AUGUST 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Whitney and I both love tales of time travel. So when better than the dog days of summer to feature stories about people coming and going across time? All this week we will be taking readers behind the scenes with some of our favorite time travel author aficionados and then we will share a look at what’s ahead for fans to anticipate! But we also wanted to do a bit of time traveling ourselves, so we decided to rewind to a few weeks ago to give you an insider's look at the conversation we had that prompted our spotlight on time travel romances ...

(Out the blue) Morgan: You know what book I love — Jude Deveraux’s A Knight in Shining ArmorIt is one of those stories that every romance fan should read at least once. 

Whitney: Time travel romance is hard to pull off, but Deveraux is a master. Another one of hers that really stands out for me is her reincarnation story Remembrance

Morgan: Let's spotlight time travel on the site! And we can choose our favorites to share.

Whitney: I call Remembrance! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Perfecting Dialogue In Sarah Jane Stratford's The Moonlight Brigade

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Sarah Jane Stratford delivers her second novel in the compelling Millennials series with this month's The Moonlight Brigade. RT reviewer Debbie Haupt praised the story saying, "If you love the flavor of bygone dialogue, a literary fantasy with a hint of Shelley or Stoker, you'll love this WWII-set tale." We wanted to know how the author crafted this evocative dialogue, so we asked her to deconstruct a few of her characters' conversations for this illuminating post!

When I first began exploring the millennial vampires, it was natural that they would be avid and erudite conversationalists, simply as a result of having lived so long. Being caught up in World War II wouldn't change that. At the outset of The Moonlight Brigade, it is 1941 and circumstances have taken Mors to Rome, his ancient stomping grounds, where he trains partisans to fight and falls in love with their leader.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

We Mourn the Loss of Bestselling Author Leslie Esdaile aka L.A. Banks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

We regret to announce that beloved author L.A. Banks (aka Leslie Esdaile) lost her battle with late-stage adrenal cancer on August 2.

Over the last few months the book community banned together raising money to help the author with mounting medical bills. (Ironically in March 2010 she spoke at a healthcare reform rally in Glenside, Penn., where she was selected to introduce President Obama but not before telling her story as a single mom with a daughter in college who was faced with the dilemma of choosing between insuring her daughter or herself. See her speech here.)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Nalini Singh On Her Psy-Changeling Series - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today RT's Morgan Doremus interviews one of her favorite authors, Nalini Singh, about her popular Psy-Changeling series. For those unfamiliar with these paranormal reads, get caught up on the action of the first ten books and see why you need to be enjoying these novels. And long-time fans will get some special insider information — as well as news about the next book in the series. After the video be sure to enter for a chance to win a signed copy of the latest Psy-Changeling novel Kiss of Snow, which received a rare RT Gold rating!

Nalini Singh Talks Her Psy-Changeling Series >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
22COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jeaniene Frost's First E-Novella Now $1.99

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

Thanks to the e-book revolution, there are more books available to readers than ever before, and oftentimes they can be found at great prices. Another reason to love digital content is because now publishers are able to get even more creative in the ways they release stories. For example, take anthologies. Before, if you wanted to read a short story in an anthology, you had to purchase the entire collection. But now publishers are releasing single stories for readers to buy. This is the case for Jeaniene Frost’s “Happily Never After.” First appearing in the 2008 anthology Weddings From Hell, readers can now pick up this e-novella for only $1.99.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST