RT Daily Blog

Magazine Extras: Nalini Singh Psy/Changeling Series Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are really looking forward to the latest chapter in bestselling author Nalini Singh's Psy/Changeling series, this month's Kiss of Snow — and we know you are too. Fans of the series have been clamoring to find out more about Hawke and Sienna since the series starter, Slave To Sensation. So to get you caught up on what's been happening between the mentally gifted Psy and the animal shifters known as Changelings, we are giving you a chance to win the series' nine-book backlist before Singh's new release hits shelves at the end of May. 

The author chatted with RT Executive Editor Faygie Levy about her popular paranormal series in the June issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine. In the article “A Kiss of Romance, Times Two,” Singh gives an insider's look at the evolution of the series and talks a bit about what you can expect from Kiss of Snow.

And if that doesn't have you convinced that Kiss of Snow should definitely be in your TBR pile, each day for the next two weeks RT's Web Editor (and uber-fan) Morgan Doremus will reveal the reasons why she thinks Kiss of Snow is so great. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
255COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Stephanie Julian's What A Goddess Wants

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Stephanie Julian's upcoming series Forgotten Goddesses which begins in July with What a Goddess Wants. We go beyond the back cover blurb with the author who shares how this erotic paranormal romance puts a new spin on little known Etruscan goddesses.

***

What a Goddess Wants is the first in the Forgotten Goddesses erotic romance series from Sourcebooks Casablanca. The book features a beautiful goddess, a handsome hero, a nasty blue demon and a magical community that’s coexisted with ours in secret for several millennia.

Tessa is the Etruscan Goddess of the Sun, formerly adored by millions (well, that might be pushing it a little), but who’s now living in relative obscurity in Reading, Pennsylvania, where much of the Etruscan population has been settled for two hundred years.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Author Marcella Burnard

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Marcella Burnard thrilled readers with her debut novel last November's futuristic paranormal romance Enemy Within. This story was a November Top Pick and nominated for that month's Seal of Excellence. Burnard followed up Enemy Within with this month's Enemy Games, which also received a Top Pick. Today Burnard shares a look at her writing process and more in this video interview with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus.

Marcella Burnard on her futuristic paranormal romances >>

Marcella Burnard on the differences between the first and second Enemy books >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Melissa Marr's First Novel For Adults Graveminder Optioned For Television Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month Melissa Marr releases her first adult novel, the paranormal fiction Graveminder. The novel, which got a Top Pick from RT's Senior Reviewer Jill Smith, has already been optioned for a television series. It was picked up by Ken Olin, the same man responsible for the popular shows Alias and Brothers & Sisters! The deal was made at the 2011 RT Booklovers Convention, but just recently announced. 

Graveminder wowed RT's Smith who says of Marr's latest, "In her atmospheric and eerie tale, readers and protagonists jointly discover the secrets literally buried in this small town as Marr weaves a richly gothic tale filled with curses, responsibility and death."


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Thea Harrison Answers Our Questions About Her Paranormal Romance Dragon Bound!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Thea Harrison thrilled us with her debut paranormal romance, this month's Dragon Bound. Harrison's story pits spunky heroine Pia against a dragon hero who is determined to uncover all of her secrets. The tale got a 4 1/2 stars Gold rating from RT Senior Reviewer Jill Smith who says, "Utilizing vivid characters, edge-of-your-seat danger and an intriguing alternate reality, Harrison crafts a novel that grabs you from the first sentence and makes you bitterly regret that the book must end." Now we chat with the author for an insider look at her brilliantly paranormal world, dynamic characters and what fans can expect when her series second hits shelves in August!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: There are a lot of interesting mythical creatures in Dragon Bound from gryphons, to an evil Dark Fae King, witches and even a temperamental dragon hero. How did you decide what characters would populate your world?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Susan Grant Takes Readers Around The World (And The Universe)

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Susan Grant has a reputation for transporting readers across the universe with her science fiction romance tales — and this month's The Last Warrior promises to be another trip that is (pardon our pun) out of this world. But Susan Grant is happy also happy to take people around the world during her day job, as a jumbo jet pilot who frequently heads to exotic locals. 

Most of you know me as a bestselling author of 15 assorted paranormal, military, and science fiction romances. A few may know that I live a double life as a 747 jumbo jet pilot, flying overseas routes for United Airlines.

I've flown commercially for 23 years, and before that I was a jet pilot for the US Air Force. In any given month I may land in China, South Korea, Australia, Vietnam, Hong Kong, Singapore, or Japan, staying a night or two then flying home.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kevin Hearne On The Deep Themes In His New Urban Fantasy Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Kevin Hearne gives readers a special look at his new urban fantasy series, The Iron Druid Chronicles. Learn about the serious themes that are hiding out in this series that unites different ancient gods and classic myths into one fast-paced adventure!

Hounded was written as much for my own entertainment as anyone else’s—and I certainly did not intend for it to be “deep” and fraught with the kind of gravitas that makes the jowls of college professors quiver portentously. But now that I’m a couple of years removed from writing it, I’m capable of putting on my English teacher hat and making up some pseudo-academic stuff that is entertaining in its own nerdy way.

Though I make no claims to literature with my series, there are some serious themes that are entirely intentional, such as the idea that only love and friendship can anchor a long-lived person to his or her humanity. A broader look at humanity’s struggle with faith vs. reason arose unintentionally, however, in the process of building the world.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Terri Garey's Devil Without A Cause

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Terri Garey's upcoming novel, Devil Without a Cause. We go beyond the back cover blurb with the author who shares why she brought back Sammy Divine (aka the Devil) from her popular Nicki Styx series.

***

I’ve always loved a good story. Some of the first ones I ever recall hearing came straight from the Bible: the expulsion of Adam and Eve from the Garden of Eden, Joseph and his coat of many colors, the parting of the Red Sea by Moses. As I grew older I discovered the world of Greek mythology, fabulous tales of gods and monsters like the deadly Medusa, the fearsome Minotaur, and Cerberus, the ferocious three-headed dog who supposedly guarded the gates to the Underworld. Ancient myths and legends have always captured my imagination, as did the idea of fallen angels and the ever-present, age-old battle of good vs. evil.

In Devil Without a Cause, I got the opportunity to exercise a storyteller’s prerogative by adding a bit of a twist to one of the oldest stories of all. Everyone’s heard the tale of how the Devil tempted Eve to sin by taking a bite of forbidden fruit, but what if the Devil felt that he was the one tempted, and then forever punished for it? What if the reason he wreaked so much havoc in the world is that, unable to resist the charms of a beautiful, mortal woman, he was angry at mankind for causing him to be cast out of Heaven?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Which New Paranormal Historical Romance Should You Be Reading?

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month we noticed a spike in paranormal activity in our historical section. With so many fabulous new tales coming out, we’ve created a quiz to help you find the historical story that will satisfying your particular paranormal craving. Should you be picking up the latest from Amanda Quick or are you in the mood to get bitten by Colleen Gleason’s newest novel? We can help you figure it out with our handy quiz!

***

Which setting do you prefer to read about?
A) Victorian England
B) Medieval England
C) Regency England
D) Sixteenth Century Scotland

Choose your favorite ‘feature creature’.
A) Psychic
B) Shapeshifter
C) Vampire
D) Fairy

What’s your heroic ‘type’?
A) Paranormal Hunter
B) Cursed Warrior
C) Guardian Vampire
D) Highland Laird

Which heroine do you relate to the most?
A) An independent woman who fights her own battles
B) An innocent lady engaged to another
C) A brave sister protecting her family
D) A magical fairy princess

Which movie do you like the best?
A) Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (1931)
B) Ladyhawke (1985)
C) Bram Stoker’s Dracula (1992)
D) Willow (1986)

***

If you choose mostly A’s:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cassie Ryan On The Demon And The Succubus

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

Cassie Ryan gives readers a behind the scenes peek at the Nevada brothel where her heroine works in this month's paranormal romance The Demon and the Succubus. Find out which popular tv show inspired the story’s setting and what readers can expect between the pages of this series second!

Wow! What an honor it was to be asked to blog for RT BOOK REVIEWS, which has been one of my favorite companies...and conventions since I first started writing. I was asked to talk a little bit about the setting for my newest release, book 2 in the Sisters of Darkness series, The Demon and the Succubus. The book begins in a legalized Nevada brothel.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST