RT Daily Blog

Sneak Peek: Terri Garey's Devil Without A Cause

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Terri Garey's upcoming novel, Devil Without a Cause. We go beyond the back cover blurb with the author who shares why she brought back Sammy Divine (aka the Devil) from her popular Nicki Styx series.

***

I’ve always loved a good story. Some of the first ones I ever recall hearing came straight from the Bible: the expulsion of Adam and Eve from the Garden of Eden, Joseph and his coat of many colors, the parting of the Red Sea by Moses. As I grew older I discovered the world of Greek mythology, fabulous tales of gods and monsters like the deadly Medusa, the fearsome Minotaur, and Cerberus, the ferocious three-headed dog who supposedly guarded the gates to the Underworld. Ancient myths and legends have always captured my imagination, as did the idea of fallen angels and the ever-present, age-old battle of good vs. evil.

In Devil Without a Cause, I got the opportunity to exercise a storyteller’s prerogative by adding a bit of a twist to one of the oldest stories of all. Everyone’s heard the tale of how the Devil tempted Eve to sin by taking a bite of forbidden fruit, but what if the Devil felt that he was the one tempted, and then forever punished for it? What if the reason he wreaked so much havoc in the world is that, unable to resist the charms of a beautiful, mortal woman, he was angry at mankind for causing him to be cast out of Heaven?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Which New Paranormal Historical Romance Should You Be Reading?

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month we noticed a spike in paranormal activity in our historical section. With so many fabulous new tales coming out, we’ve created a quiz to help you find the historical story that will satisfying your particular paranormal craving. Should you be picking up the latest from Amanda Quick or are you in the mood to get bitten by Colleen Gleason’s newest novel? We can help you figure it out with our handy quiz!

***

Which setting do you prefer to read about?
A) Victorian England
B) Medieval England
C) Regency England
D) Sixteenth Century Scotland

Choose your favorite ‘feature creature’.
A) Psychic
B) Shapeshifter
C) Vampire
D) Fairy

What’s your heroic ‘type’?
A) Paranormal Hunter
B) Cursed Warrior
C) Guardian Vampire
D) Highland Laird

Which heroine do you relate to the most?
A) An independent woman who fights her own battles
B) An innocent lady engaged to another
C) A brave sister protecting her family
D) A magical fairy princess

Which movie do you like the best?
A) Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (1931)
B) Ladyhawke (1985)
C) Bram Stoker’s Dracula (1992)
D) Willow (1986)

***

If you choose mostly A’s:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cassie Ryan On The Demon And The Succubus

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

Cassie Ryan gives readers a behind the scenes peek at the Nevada brothel where her heroine works in this month's paranormal romance The Demon and the Succubus. Find out which popular tv show inspired the story’s setting and what readers can expect between the pages of this series second!

Wow! What an honor it was to be asked to blog for RT BOOK REVIEWS, which has been one of my favorite companies...and conventions since I first started writing. I was asked to talk a little bit about the setting for my newest release, book 2 in the Sisters of Darkness series, The Demon and the Succubus. The book begins in a legalized Nevada brothel.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

An Evening With Author Gini Koch

BY MORGAN, APRIL 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Saturday evening the romance section of Posman Books in New York City was jam-packed with fans all wanting science fiction romance author Gini Koch’s autograph. Earlier this month Gini released the third in her Alien Collective series Alien in the Family. Gini’s books sold out fast, but that didn’t stop readers from grabbing up the author’s post cards and magnates. Gini mingled with the crowd who she greeted like friends — one thing you notice right away when meeting Ms. Koch, she's a hugger. 

Traditionally sci fi romance has been a bit of a hard sell, but Gini is more than happy with her chosen genre — it gives her room to talk to the crowd about a wide range of topics. Everything from Galaxy Quest to love triangles was discussed during the signing with many references to music. (Aerosmith is the author’s favorite, but she says to really get into her series, try Smash Mouth’s album Get the Picture).  

Well into the evening, I decided to ask the crowd what they loved so much about Gini’s books and the answer was unanimous: one and all are in love with the characters (especially the dreamy Jeff) and they also couldn’t get enough of the series’ realism. “It’s just so believable,” claimed one fan. “Like it could really happen.” 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Theme Spotlight: Witches

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

We love witches in our paranormal novels and we aren’t the only ones! Today author Kelley Armstrong chats about what makes witches so intriguing. Then we highlight some of the long-running series, newly started sagas and a few extra witches in this theme spotlight.

In my Otherworld series, most supernatural types get a single narrator. Only one breaks that rule—in eleven books, I’ve had three witch heroines. Why? Because I’ve discovered that witches are the most versatile character type. They have the best range of abilities limited only by skill and willpower. In short, they make great heroines.

Give a woman the power to cast spells, and she can be many things. She can be a kick-ass dark witch, like Eve Levine (Haunted, 2005). Or she can be a brainy ethical crusader, like Paige Winterbourne (Stolen, 2003). Like Paige, she can be constantly striving to develop her powers. Or like Savannah Levine, she can be genetically blessed with so much that she must struggle to control it. Every scenario leads to a different path for the witch…and for the woman.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Partying At The Vampire Ball

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Convention attendees wrapped up the day by letting loose at the annual Vampire Ball, hosted by Heather Graham and Helen A. Rosburg. We celebrated the Hollywood-inspired theme Zombie Dancers From Planet 9 in costumed style. After enjoying a show during dinner, the D.J. turned up the music so we could party all night long.

Co-host Heather Graham sings "Hooray For Hollywood"

Master of Ceremonies and co-host Helen A. Rosburg

Zombie Dancers From Planet 9


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Being Un-Human In Paranormal Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

When it comes to the world of paranormal romance, readers know that they can will be able to find anything and everything that could go bump in the night within the pages of these books. But how do authors keep these characters fresh? At today’s paranormal panel readers got an insider look at how genre experts Angela Knight, Shana Abe, Kate Douglas, Jacquelyn Frank and Erin Quinn make their magical beings seem so real. 

We got a chance to chat with the authors about which otherworldly characters are their top creature choice and how each author makes their special characters come to life:

Angela Knight shares that her choice was easy to make. “My favorite otherworld creature to write is the vampire. I've been fascinated by vamps since I was a teenager in the late 1970s, when I read Interview With a Vampire by Anne Rice. Which was a very sensual book, if disturbing in a lot of ways.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Creating Dark And Dangerous Urban Fantasy Worlds

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

From demons to vampires, kick-butt heroines and dark alliances, the worlds of the Urban Fantasy genre are a dark re-imagining of our own. But what sources do authors mine for inspiration and how do they keep readers coming back for more? Earlier today Jackie Kessler moderated a discussion with Kelley Armstrong, Diana RowlandRachel Vincent and Jaye Wells about the ways that they create the creatures they feature, the directions that the genre is moving in and what fans can expect from them next. 

We got a chance to chat with Jackie Kessler about the characters readers can find in Urban Fantasy today and she said one of the best things about the genre is that "when you write urban fantasy, you aren’t limited to the human race."

While we are all familiar with the ever-popular vampire tales, Jackie was quick to point out that Urban Fantasy is not limited to just vampires. She then went on to give us a 'cheat sheet' to the creatures found in the panelists' books: 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Jenna Black's Dark Descendant

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Jenna Black's upcoming April novel, Dark Descendant. Black leaves behind her vampires and fae to start a new series about the children of mythic gods. Today we go beyond the back cover blurb to talk about how the author is leaving her own special mark on these gifted offspring.

***

The Joys of Cannibalism

My dream of being a published author took me a long time to achieve. Sixteen years, to be exact. During those sixteen years of collecting rejection letters, I wrote eighteen full novels and one incomplete one. It was the eighteenth novel that finally sold and launched my career as a published author.

When I tell people this story, they invariably ask me if I’ve subsequently sold any of my first seventeen books. The answer is no, because my writing has evolved too much since then for me to be happy with those older books. However, when it came time for me to start a new urban fantasy series, I decided to go back and cannibalize that one incomplete novel that was sitting in a drawer. (Figuratively—it was actually sitting on a hard drive, but let’s not get technical.)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Magazine Extras: A Paranormal Primer Part Two

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

In the May issue of RT we offered a primer on several long-running and ongoing paranormal romance and urban fantasy series. Because there are so many great series out there, we couldn’t highlight them all in the magazine, so here are a few more series roundups. Let us know what you think of this feature in the comments below and post your thoughts on these going paranormal romance/urban fantasy series.

***

Kim Harrison
The Hollows
(Urban Fantasy)

First Book: Dead Witch Walking, May 2004

Current book (No. 9): Pale Demon, February 

Tell us about your heroine: Rachel Morgan is a twentysomething witch living in modern-day Cincinnati, fighting paranormal crimes and falling in and out of love. With a strong moral compass and a perchance to dress badly for the situation, she stumbles through mishap after mishap, trying to make a difference in the world, unintentionally making things worse as she serves as a catalyst for change both in small things and large. I've enjoyed writing Rachel tremendously. She's determined, focused, and the girl next door - with a little something up her sleeve.

Your universe is populated with … witches, vampires, pixies and werewolves.

How has your series changed since the first book? The Hollows stands at nine right now, which necessitates a lot of development, but the biggest change is Rachel's realization of who she is and how she is impacting others. She's done a lot of growing, and as I prepare to wrap the series up, we will be seeing Rachel coming into her own and taking charge. Smaller changes? Elves are out of the closet, werewolves have the potential to be a political force, the source of magic is in danger of evaporating, demons are poised for a last-ditch effort to save their species, and vampires are looking to Rachel to find a way for them to keep their souls after death. I think she can do it.  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST