RT Daily Blog

Sneak Peek: Jenna Black's Dark Descendant

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Jenna Black's upcoming April novel, Dark Descendant. Black leaves behind her vampires and fae to start a new series about the children of mythic gods. Today we go beyond the back cover blurb to talk about how the author is leaving her own special mark on these gifted offspring.

***

The Joys of Cannibalism

My dream of being a published author took me a long time to achieve. Sixteen years, to be exact. During those sixteen years of collecting rejection letters, I wrote eighteen full novels and one incomplete one. It was the eighteenth novel that finally sold and launched my career as a published author.

When I tell people this story, they invariably ask me if I’ve subsequently sold any of my first seventeen books. The answer is no, because my writing has evolved too much since then for me to be happy with those older books. However, when it came time for me to start a new urban fantasy series, I decided to go back and cannibalize that one incomplete novel that was sitting in a drawer. (Figuratively—it was actually sitting on a hard drive, but let’s not get technical.)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Magazine Extras: A Paranormal Primer Part Two

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

In the May issue of RT we offered a primer on several long-running and ongoing paranormal romance and urban fantasy series. Because there are so many great series out there, we couldn’t highlight them all in the magazine, so here are a few more series roundups. Let us know what you think of this feature in the comments below and post your thoughts on these going paranormal romance/urban fantasy series.

***

Kim Harrison
The Hollows
(Urban Fantasy)

First Book: Dead Witch Walking, May 2004

Current book (No. 9): Pale Demon, February 

Tell us about your heroine: Rachel Morgan is a twentysomething witch living in modern-day Cincinnati, fighting paranormal crimes and falling in and out of love. With a strong moral compass and a perchance to dress badly for the situation, she stumbles through mishap after mishap, trying to make a difference in the world, unintentionally making things worse as she serves as a catalyst for change both in small things and large. I've enjoyed writing Rachel tremendously. She's determined, focused, and the girl next door - with a little something up her sleeve.

Your universe is populated with … witches, vampires, pixies and werewolves.

How has your series changed since the first book? The Hollows stands at nine right now, which necessitates a lot of development, but the biggest change is Rachel's realization of who she is and how she is impacting others. She's done a lot of growing, and as I prepare to wrap the series up, we will be seeing Rachel coming into her own and taking charge. Smaller changes? Elves are out of the closet, werewolves have the potential to be a political force, the source of magic is in danger of evaporating, demons are poised for a last-ditch effort to save their species, and vampires are looking to Rachel to find a way for them to keep their souls after death. I think she can do it.  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Lisa Renee Jones On The Legend Of Michael - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Lisa Renee Jones' upcoming novel, The Legend of Michael. We go beyond the back cover blurb with the author who shares how her fascination with Area 51 inspired her new paranormal Zodius series. And don't miss the giveaway at the end of her message!

***

Thank you so much for the opportunity to talk about The Legend of Michael, my May 2011 Sourcebooks release. The Legend of Michael is book 1 of the Zodius series. Book two will release in November 2011.

I’ve always found Area 51 intriguing, and often found myself reading one conspiracy theory or another about what really happens inside that top secret military base. The fact that the government barely acknowledges Area 51 exists, and for many years denied it all together, only makes it all the more interesting to me.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
47COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Diane Whiteside's The Shadow Guard Is Inspired By ...

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

From classic cinema to a popular novel series and an animated movie, today author Diane Whiteside gives us a behind the scenes look at some of the sources of inspiration that she wove into the major players in her new Urban Fantasy novel, The Shadow Guard!

Many different things can inspire a story. Heck, sometimes it just springs to life in an author’s brain and defies the poor soul to think about anything else until it’s written down. The Shadow Guard, my April 2011 release from Brava, mercifully had three main inspirations.

First, Ingrid Bergman has always fascinated me. Casablanca – who can forget Humphrey Bogart’s immortal line, “here’s looking at you, kid?” You always knew why that hardened man of the world could never forget her.  

In Alfred Hitchcock’s thriller Notorious, she portrays a fragile beauty who discovers inner strength amid betrayal on all sides, including from those she should be able to trust, and saves her country. Cary Grant, as the hero, doesn’t trust her but still finds himself falling in love.  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meet Rebecca Royce's Westervelt Wolves

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

Rebecca Royce looks back at the evolution of her popular paranormal series about shapeshifters The Westervelt Wolves. Learn how inspiration for this furry clan struck the author like a bolt of lightening, and what fans can expect next.

Welcome to Westervelt!

Let me start out by saying that I am so unbelievable excited to be here today blogging about my series: The Westervelt Wolves. Thank you so much for having me!

The Westervelt Wolves started with the book Her Wolf. It is the story of Tristan and Ashlee and how their love story began the struggle of the Westervelt Wolves to reclaim their lives from the horror their father’s evil plots pushed upon them. Her Wolf came to me one day when I was at the zoo with my kids. I looked at the wolf pen and, since I am a fan of all things paranormal romance, I thought: “what if one of these wolves was not a wolf but a wolf-shifter trapped in that cage?”


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Devyn Quinn's Darkness Descending

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Devyn Quinn's upcoming novel, Darkness Descending. We go beyond the back cover blurb with the author who shares how this August's Buffy-inspired novel became the start of something so much more.

***

Darkness Descending, the first book of my Vampire Armageddon series with NAL, had a difficult journey finding its place in this world. It all began when I was watching a popular television show about a certain young blonde vampire slayer. The one thing that always struck me was how easy it seemed to create a vampire. A bite, the victim dies, and then rises instant vampire! As Ricky would say to Lucy, it seemed to me that there was more 'splainin’ needed to make everything mesh in a logical manner.

I know, I know. It's all fiction, right? But I want my fiction to make sense, I say, as I pound my desk with a fist.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Karen Harper And Erin Quinn On Writing Irish Characters - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! We celebrating the holiday with a very special interview. Karen Harper and Erin Quinn two of our favorite authors who bring the Emerald Isle to life in fiction with their Ireland-set tales! And don’t miss your chance to win Karen Harper’s The Irish Princess and an ADVANCED READER COPY of Erin Quinn’s Haunting Desire at the end of this interview

***

Both of you are obviously attracted to Ireland as a setting for your historicals. What drew you to use Ireland, other, perhaps, than Irish descent?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
28COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hannah Jayne Shares Her Approach To Writing

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Hannah Jayne shares why "There is no plan B" when it comes to her writing career. Learn how the author of this month's Urban Fantasy series starter Under Wraps dove head first into writing.

I’ve known I was going to be a writer since the second grade. I had a brilliant plan post-college — work a respectable 9 to 5 each day, push out the Great American Novel at night. I mean really, how hard could it be? Twenty years and innumerable Pepto-pink cubicle walls later, my 9 to 5 was causing me chest pains and buying my therapist a Mercedes and I had written exactly… nothing. I mean, if you don’t count grocery lists, raving manifestos and scathing emails to Microsoft denouncing their products (I’ve since gone Mac, btw).

So I quit my job. If I was going to be a writer, what better time to start than right now, right?

When I tell this to would-be authors, I’m always met with saucer-wide eyes. “But… what if it didn’t work out?”

To which I stare back blankly.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Excerpt: Ann Aguirre's Shady Lady

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Get a peek between the covers of  Ann Aguirre's new Urban Fantasy novel, Shady Lady. With this extended excerpt you can dive right into the latest Corine Solomon adventure which will hit stores in April!

***

Lust sizzled through me. There were two of them, a matched pair. I knew a woman wasn’t supposed to want such things, but sometimes we had desires—dark desires—that couldn’t be denied. There was no doubt about it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Excerpt: Sherrilyn Kenyon's Born Of Shadows

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Sherrilyn Kenyon gives us a peek between the covers of her newest League novel, the futuristic paranormal romance, Born of Shadows. Check out the first two pages of the story below and don’t miss the special treat at the end of this post!

***

Twenty-two Years Later

“Thank the gods you’re here. I’ve been running arou—”

Without flinching or breaking his stride as he walked down a filthy, dark alley, Caillen jerked his blaster out and fired straight into his sister’s shoulder, cutting her words off before she wasted his time.

Not to kill her or hurt her. Just to shut her up before she made things worse for both of them.

Right now, he didn’t have time to listen to her bullshit. He was here to save her life.

And hopefully his too.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST