RT Daily Blog

Video Interview: Jacquelyn Frank

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 04, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Jacquelyn Frank has made a remarkable journey from the lowest low, being nearly homeless, to the highest height, achieving her dream of becoming a best-selling author. Now the author, who is known for her unique paranormal tales, is taking on a new challenge. Under the pseudonym Jax, Frank has released her first erotic science fiction tale, The Bid, which features shapeshifters, slaves and a blue heroine. RT Reviewer Joyce Morgan raves about the book, "Read it for the suspense, the worldbuilding or the sex scenes — most of all, read it for the fascinating storyline that builds to a pulse-pounding climax."

This new endeavor is just one more surprise in a life of many transformations. So how did she do it? Frank shares her story with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. Learn about the ups and downs of her publishing career and find out how a writing contest changed her entire life. Frank also offers her advice for aspiring authors.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Making Memories With Mal

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 04, 2010 | PERMALINK

Eve Silver’s third Otherkin brother, Malthus Krayl, is the hero of Sins of the Flesh. Mal believes in working hard while harvesting evil souls for his father, underworld god Sutekh and playing hard, especially when it comes to romancing women. But what's this ladies' man to do when he meets his match in the beautiful Calliope? Watch the action unfold in this exclusive Sins of the Flesh extra!

Last month, readers got a glimpse of Dinner with Alastor, the suit-clad, über-controlled, incredibly sexy hero of Sins of the Soul. The month before that it was A Date with Dagan, the dark and dangerous hero of Sins of the Heart.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What I Fear Most...by Jennifer Allison

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Jennifer Allison is best known for her Young Adult series about the psychic investigator Gilda Joyce. However, the author has written a different type of paranormal tale for the anthology Fear: 13 Stories of Suspense and Horror. Her new story “The Perfects” combines several classic spine-tingling elements: creepy little kids, freaky dolls and a house of horror. So we had to know, what frightens Jennifer Allison?

When I was a child, I often awoke in the middle of the night and stared at various objects in my room. If you have any sort of imagination at all, this is a very bad idea. Naturally, my eyes played tricks on me, and I still remember my horror as I saw the shadowy figures of my plastic Barbie dolls appear to move in the darkness.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

October Is Paranormal Month!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

As the nights get longer and the days get colder, who doesn't love to curl up with a good book? (Or even better, a good series?) We stocking up on the paranormal romances and urban fantasies that keep us up at night and helping readers find the best chilling tales because October is Paranormal Month on the RT Daily Blog!

The publishing industry is certainly making this easy. Last week eight new paranormal and urban fantasy titles from our TBR list hit the bookstores. And throughout the month the latest novels will become available from fan-favorites L.A. Banks, Ilona Andrews, Meljean BrookRachel Vincent and more!

We will be celebrating the paranormal genre on the RT Daily Blog with video interviews, guest blogs and great giveaways. You will also find out who are our favorite vampires, what urban fantasy creatures have us staying out of dark allies and which evil villain we'd fight in our own adventure. Want to take part in the action? You can with our month long "Dress The Character!" costume contest that will be revealed next week. And all the action leads up to our "Haunted Halloween" Giveaway!

To give you a taste of the action coming out this month - take a look at October's Paranormal Top Picks!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mindy Klasky's Genie In A Bottle

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

What would you wish for if a genie offered to make your dreams come true? A healthy family? The perfect job? A chance with your one true love? The possibilities seem endless! In author Mindy Klasky's newest novel, To Wish Or Not To Wish, a genie agrees to grant Erin Hollister three wishes. But with only three chances to get it right, she’s faced with a serious dilemma. So, we asked the author what she would wish for... 

One genie... Multiple wishes... When I started to write the As You Wish series, I let my imagination run wild with possibilities.

Okay. For storytelling purposes, I needed to put a limit on the wishes my characters could make. I mean, world peace, the eradication of poverty, and a cure for all diseases might make for a wonderful place to live out the rest of our natural lives, but as background for a romance? Not so much fun...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

"Zombies Vs. Unicorns"-Themed Haikus

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

Yesterday, when RT editors Stephanie and Elissa took a trip to CVS during lunch, they were assaulted (well, visually assaulted, anyway) by Halloween decorations, candy and costumes. It was, in a word, awesome. Because these ladies love Halloween. They also love unicorns and zombies, respectively, and our readers, who were so gracious as to play along in our Zombies vs. Unicorns haiku contest, which ran in the September issue of RT.

To get into the holiday spirit yourself, why not check out Zombies vs. Unicorns, the anthology edited by Holly Black and Justine Larbalestier, out this week from Simon Pulse? Our winners will be getting their own copies in the mail soon! 

Read on for the winning haikus (you guys are hilarious), and thanks to everyone who entered!

Shiny and white coat;
Beautiful and dangerous;
Why only virgins?
—  Sheree Tieh


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Paranormal Fans - Start Your Voting!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 20, 2010 | PERMALINK

Good news for paranormal fans - five authors have joined forces to create what Random House is calling the "first fan-driven, multi-author, chain story e-book" to come out of one of the major publishing houses. 

The story, A Glimpse of Darkness, will be co-written by Lara Adrian, Kelly Meding, Stacia Kane, Lucy A. Snyder and Harry Connolly. The authors will each be responsible for a segment of the tale that follows a djinn's daughter who is attempting to save her father's life.

Even better news? With A Glimpse of Darkness, you will have the opportunity to vote on the direction that the story takes at Suvudu.com

The best news? The short story begins today! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

So a Vampire, a Werewolf and a Human Walk Into a Bar …

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 10, 2010 | PERMALINK

Paranormal author Michele Bardsley brings humor to an often angst-filled genre — the vampire tale.

Vampires, being creatures of the night, tend to be crabby. Lack of sun, you know. Have you ever known anyone who has a great tan to be anything less than cheerful?

Of course, being pale, dead, and on a diet that makes the Fat Flush appetizing would make anyone cantankerous. Maybe being immortal, gorgeous, powerful, and mysterious is just too hard on a soul filled with regrets and the longing to just feel human once more.

Hah. Are you freaking kidding me?

I don’t buy the angst. Unless master vampires are roaming the earth looking for whiners (I’m looking at you, Lorcan O’Halloran, oh guilt-filled one), then it doesn’t make a lot of sense. Granted, humans can be whiners, too, but filling up an eternity with regret is soooo not appealing. After the first century or two, wouldn’t a vampire just get the hell over himself? And who would date a guy (or girl) like that anyway?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Virginia Kantra On Teens, Moms, And Unexpected Abilities - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 07, 2010 | PERMALINK

In the latest Children of the Sea novel, Immortal Seaparanormal author Virginia Kantra's heroine, Elizabeth Rodriguez, is raising two teenagers and her son, Zack has some unique abilities. He is half fin folk!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Joan Frances Turner Is Bringing Zombies To LIfe (In More Than One Way) - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 03, 2010 | PERMALINK
Author Joan Frances Turner 's debut novel, Dust, is a September RT Top Pick! The urban fantasy novel takes a new look at zombies as though they shared many qualities with humans: such as life cycles, a system of beliefs and vulnerabilities to man-made viruses.

We are seriously digging the old school Public Service Announcement-themed videos the author is running for the book's September 7th release. You can check them out below:

Parents Who Eat Brains Have Children Who Eat Brains >>

This Is Your Brain For Breakfast >>

Friends Don't Let Friends Eat Friends >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST