RT Daily Blog

On Space Travel and Nomads: Line & Orbit's Lisa Soem and Sunny Moraine

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

Listen, we love a good space adventure. There’s something so exciting and foreign about floating amongst the stars. So our interest was piqued when we heard of Lisa Soem and Sunny Moraine’s RT Top Pick! Line and Orbit. It’s the story of what happens when Adam is cast out of his genetically perfect society. Space nomad Lochlan rescues Adam and the two develop feelings for each other amidst the space travel and intrigue. Sounds so good, right?! We made Lisa and Sunny sit down and tell us everything.

***

It's interesting that while your story is a male/male romance, it's a mild one, with no heavy sex scenes. Tell us more.


Read More>>

Tags: Futuristic, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bitten Recap: Episode 1.4 - "Grief"

BY Mala Bhattacharjee, FEBRUARY 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

In Bitten 1.4, “Grief,” it’s time to round up the mutts and show off your butts! Wait, the latter is every week …

The Pack gathers at Stonehaven to drink a toast to Poor Dead Pete as a motley wolf wanders in the woods. A taunting howl interrupts the Pete lovefest, and the Pack members split off in pursuit. Why are they running as humans? Limited CGI budget? Who knows? In any case, Elena finds Pete’s jacket hung as a “nyah-nyah.” “Tonight we mourn for Pete, tomorrow we hunt,” intones Jeremy.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free for All: Cynthia Eden's Burn for Me

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 31, 2014 | PERMALINK

Readers, we are high fiving you from across the Internet, because it's Friday! We made it! To celebrate we've got a great giveaway for you, the first in Cynthia Eden's new Phoenix Fire series, Burn for Me. It's a scorching paranormal romance starring journalist Eve Bradley, who's going undercover in a secret facility that's conducting horrific tests on supernatural beings. She's assigned to study the sexy, trapped Cain O'Connor, and Eve quickly realizes she has to break him out. Want to know what happens next? Enter to win one of five copies below. U.S. residents only, please. 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

And for more supernatural stories, visit our Everything Paranormal page! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: M.D. Waters

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 30, 2014 | PERMALINK

Debut author alert! (We seriously need to invest in a siren.) We’ve been hearing lots of buzz about M.D. Waters’s debut, Archetype, and so we were thrilled when the futuristic fantasy received an RT Top Pick! rating from our reviewer extraordinaire, Jill M. Smith. Archetype is the first half of a duology starring Emma, who awakens in a hospital room, unable to remember anything. Living in a world with plummeting fertility rates, women are treated as commodities. She’s had a terrible accident, according to her husband Declan. Only Emma keeps having unsettling memories, memories that include resistance fighting — and another man. We welcome M.D. to the fold by asking a whole bunch of nosey questions. And she obliged us by answering!

***

Name: M.D. Waters

Book: Archetype

Genre: Science-Fiction / Futuristic Suspense

Current Home: Mechanicsville, MD


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bitten Recap: Episode 1.3 - "Trespass"

BY Mala Bhattacharjee, JANUARY 28, 2014 | PERMALINK

This week on episode 1.3 of the Real Werewolves of New York, “Trespass,” Elena and Clay hunt the murderous mutt. Here puppy, puppy…

As the Pack members crouch around the mutt’s newest victim, hunters and their dogs approach. Jeremy warns Clay and Nick against trying to cover it up. “We had nothing to do with this,” he assures the humans. Tempers start to rise. Elena plays visual chicken with a hunting dog and Clay knocks a guy in the face with his own gun. Fortunately, Jeremy’s good sense prevails (he buys it in bulk from Costco), and he calls the sheriff. Inside at Stonehaven, Clay gets all huffy about Elena challenging the dog. “You act like I’ve never been bitten before,” she snarks. The wolves return to figuring out the mutt’s motives and Elena promises to stay until they find him. “I want him alive,” Jeremy reminds her and Clay. They need to discover who turned him! Meanwhile, Nick, Logan and Pete are put on the task of tracking down Karl Marsten, a mutt with his paw on the pulse of non-Pack society.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A DELightful Interview: Delilah S. Dawson And Delphine Dryden Talk Steampunk, Chihuahuas And Limericks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 28, 2014 | PERMALINK

Authors Delilah S. Dawson and Delphine Dryden have a lot in common. They both write romance in multiple genres, their first and last names start with D and they both have new steampunk novels releasing soon — this week Delilah S. Dawson's Wicked After Midnight hits shelves and next week is Delphine Dryden's Scarlet Devices. We secretly think they might be the Borg and we're all slowly going to assimilate and become part of their Del cult, but we're okay with that. To get everyone acquainted with their new steampunk-writing overlords, we asked the authors to interview each other. You have been warned.

Delphine: I hear you may be a chihuahua in a sweater coat. Is this true Y/N?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Four Kim Harrison Ebooks For Less Than $4 Each

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 22, 2014 | PERMALINK

It can be so hard waiting for the next book in a favorite author's series to come out. But there is one good aspect of all that waiting. Their backlist usually goes on e-sale! Check it: although Kim Harrison's twelfth Hollows book, The Undead Pool, doesn't release until February 25, right now readers can get digital versions of four of Kim's novels — for less than $4 each. So if you've been meaning to stock up your ereader, now's your chance! All prices listed are accurate at the time of this posting. Happy reading!

       

Dead Witch Walking by Kim Harrison (Hollows #1)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bitten Recap: Episode 1.2 - "Prodigal"

BY Mala Bhattacharjee, JANUARY 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

Welcome to “Bitten” episode two, “Prodigal,” where the previouslies recap the entire first episode in case you didn’t read mine.

Returned to Stonehaven (very stone, not so haven), Elena has a chilly reunion with Clay. We flash back to four years ago, when they walked through the same gates. Elena was adorably, neurotically, excited to “meet the family.” “Darlin’, I got you,” a marginally less creeper Clay promised. In the now, Elena and Clay circle and snark. Unresolved sexual tension? Nah, just tension. “I’m here because a wolf needs to be tracked,” she insists. “I’m not here for us.” (Famous last words. This is a naked show.) Clay can’t help but be annoyingly overprotective. How can you tell Elena’s not havin’ it? She ignores his offer of food! She’s much happier to see Pack Alpha Jeremy. (There are hugs!) They discuss the threat from the murderous mutt wreaking havoc in Bear Valley, and Jeremy wants to send Elena and Clay out tracking. “I’d rather go with the local psychopath,” she says. “You forget, darlin’, I AM the local psychopath,” drawls Clay. (Local to where? Hipster Williamsburg?)

Elena and the local psychopath

source


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bitter Spirits, Indeed: A Speakeasy Tour with Jenn Bennett

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

We’ll be honest. Living in New York, we’ve boozed in a few establishments you needed a password and a willingness to walk through a basement or a dark alley to get to. But what’s fun and games now was deadly serious during Prohibition. To school us on how San Francisco revelers got their moonshine access in the 20s, today we’ve got Jenn Bennett, author of the RT Top Pick!, Prohibition-set Bitter Spirits, to give us the scoop. Take it away, Jenn!

The Prohibition-era speakeasy has enjoyed a resurgence over the last few years, with bars remodeled after the iconic underground 1920s watering holes popping up in New York, Los Angeles and Chicago. Most of these nighttime hot spots require a not-so-secret password to get in (uncovered by a quick online search). Some, like the reservation-only Bourbon and Branch bar in San Francisco, maintain hidden entrances — its only identification being an “Anti-Saloon League” sign hanging from the side of the building.

Bitter Spirits, the first book in my new Roaring Twenties series takes place in 1927 San Francisco. And because my hero is a bootlegger and my heroine works in a speakeasy, I did some poking into the original speakeasy scene in the Bay Area.

A flapper's garter flask


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

1001 Dark Nights with Shayla Black — Plus Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

It’s a new year, the perfect time for an exciting new publishing project! How about one based on The Arabian Nights: 1001 Nights, helmed by Liz Berry and MJ Rose? You’ll remember that in those 1001 tales, Scheherazade desperately attempts to entertain her husband, the King of Persia, with new tales so he will postpone her execution.

1001 Dark Nights is a collection of sexy erotic or paranormal novellas, written by 12 bestselling authors, including Heather Graham, Larissa Ione and Lorelei James, who will entertain readers long into the night. The stories will be released one per month throughout 2014. Shayla Black, the first author to be featured in this new undertaking, has an excerpt of her story to peek at today. Read on for more — and a giveaway!

Shayla tells us:


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST