RT Daily Blog

Witches of East End Recap: 1.9 "A Parching Imbued"

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 02, 2013 | PERMALINK

Alright, fellow Witches, let's get down to business! If you missed last night's episode of Witches of East End or need a refresher, read on!

 

source

We open up to our favorite Beauchamp witches on the beach dressed in beautiful white dresses and working some magic to restore Freya’s powers. When the spell fails, the ladies contemplate the situation and the threat of the shifter. A storm begins brewing and Joanna hopes Wendy conjured it for dramatic effect. No dice. It’s none other than Penelope playing peeping Tom. She’s such a creeper.

Later on, Joanna, Wendy and Freya find another spell that might help them identify the shifter. Problem is, it requires Freya’s blood. After a little slice to the finger (ouch!), the three discuss their predicament. Freya thinks it was the flowers, Wendy thinks Penelope or Dash are behind it and Joanna thinks they’re all wrong because she tested Freya’s perfect fiancé and his weird mom. Joanna later reveals to Wendy she hasn’t actually tested Penelope and plans to do so at the rehearsal dinner.

Oh, look, there’s Killian! He and Penelope talk about how he’s leaving the next morning and he promises to keep in touch.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Witches of East End Recap - Episode 1.8 "Snake Eyes"

BY Elissa Petruzzi, NOVEMBER 25, 2013 | PERMALINK

Well, Witches of East End fans, we’ve received a second season pick up! So fear not that there are only two episodes left after this one. Let’s get to it, because the drama’s running high and there are a ton of revelations this episode …

Ingrid and Freya are at the bar discussing Johanna’s tarot revelation: that one brother will be Freya’s soul mate, the other her destroyer. They try to decide who’s who. Our guy Dash is still in London, incommunicado. Freya’s bartending away her worries by giving patrons little potions with their cocktails. (Would totally go to that bar.)

Penelope is at Fairhaven, bringing bouquets of flowers back to life, as one does. She’s also writing Freya a note.

You should hug your non-evil MIL this Thanksgiving, no?
source

Johanna shows Wendy the portal key, aka the serpent’s clavum, which she never destroyed. Wendy is not pleased. Jo refuses to get rid of it — it’s the only connection to their home.

Ingrid’s at work, and Mike is back! He’s allegedly writing a historical novel set in East End and he wants our girl’s help. We’re pretty sure there’s more to the story, or he wouldn’t be getting so much air time.

Killian’s at the bar with Freya. She is not so happy with him. Doctor Amy overhears their fight. Ruh roh.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2013 RT Awards Nominees Celebration: Urban Fantasy Worldbuilding

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 21, 2013 | PERMALINK

Every year, the review staff at RT Book Reviews reads and rates more than three thousand books. And when each year draws to a close, we pick the best of the bunch for our readers to enjoy — the Reviewers’ Choice Awards. For the next few weeks, leading up to Thanksgiving, we’re going to be celebrating the nominations for many of these awards, across genres. We hope you’ll join us in congratulating all these wonderful authors, and, hey, if you find a great new book to read, all the better! Today, we'll be taking a look at the nominees for Urban Fantasy Worldbuilding!

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2013 RT Awards Nominees Celebration: Paranormal & Urban Fantasy Indie/Self-Pubbed

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2013 | PERMALINK

Every year, the review staff at RT Book Reviews reads and rates more than three thousand books. And when each year draws to a close, we pick the best of the bunch for our readers to enjoy — the Reviewers’ Choice Awards. For the next few weeks, leading up to Thanksgiving, we’re going to be celebrating the nominations for many of these awards, across genres. We hope you’ll join us in congratulating all these wonderful authors, and, hey, if you find a great new book to read, all the better! Today, we'll be taking a look at the nominees for Paranormal & UF Indie/Self-Pubbed!

 


       

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Witches of East End Recap - Episode 1.7 "Unburied"

BY Elissa Petruzzi, NOVEMBER 18, 2013 | PERMALINK

We’re really getting into the thick of it on the Witches of East End. This episode sees the shapeshifter revealed, and our girl Wendy gets some bad news. Good thing there’s more shirtless Freddie Prinze Jr. to cheer us up! (And the less said of the promo for the Flowers in the Attic TV movie, the better, hmm?)

We open on Wendy writhing (not in a good way), tied to a chair. She’s pleading with an angry looking Ingrid, who thrusts her hand into Wendy’s chest, Temple of Doom style.

Cut to … 24 hours earlier!

Freya’s finishing up inventory at the bar and, of course, Killian’s there to help. It’s hot in there — literally, not Nelly style. Killian wipes a bead of sweat off of Freya’s arm, and I know it sounds gross, but he does it while — say it with me — gazing longingly at her. They make out.

 

Sweat beads can’t gross out people this attractive.

image from here

But don’t get mad because Freya wakes up, waking Dash too. (Freya apparently has a large abundance of gorgeous nightgowns. Lucky Channing.) Seems Dash is used to her sleep talk, and he says he’ll listen closer next time.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Witches of East End Recap - Episode 1.6 "Potentia Noctis"

BY Elissa Petruzzi, NOVEMBER 11, 2013 | PERMALINK

Well not only does this show entertain each week, but now I am inundated with holiday cheer thanks to all the commercials for holiday movies on Lifetime. If you need me any time between now and New Year’s, I’ll be on my couch, with ice cream, weeping as Dolly Parton teaches everyone the true meaning of the season. Onto the recap …

We’re at the Fairhaven estate, and Freya’s swimming in the gorgeous indoor pool. She backstrokes right into Killian. They flirt. Obvs. Freya tells Killian she’s worried that he’s waiting for her. He doth protest too much. Dash shows up and scolds Killian for swimming so soon after being nearly shocked to death last week, telling him he needs to come in for a checkup. Freya asks Dash if the brothers are cool now, and Dash dashes that he’s just trying to make things work. Freya says Dash is the best person she’s ever met (in soap language, this means: ain’t never gonna work out).

The pool scene was obviously a cover for shirtless Killian. Twitter was not complaining last night.

image from here


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Story So Far ... Cat Adams on Their Blood Singer Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 07, 2013 | PERMALINK

Our latest edition of The Story So Far … features Cat Adams, aka CT Adams and Cathy Clamp, and their super popular Blood Singer series. Book six in the series, To Dance With the Devil, releases this week, so we thought this was a perfect time to take a look back at The Story So Far with the ladies themselves. Here’s what they had to say about each Blood Singer book.

1. Blood Song:

The setup: Celia Graves was a “vanilla” human bodyguard until a job went bad and a master vampire decided to try to bring her over, making her an “abomination” — neither vampire nor fully human.  Now she has three days to save the world, her sanity and her soul.

The scoop: The fun thing about BLOOD SONG was that it hit me in the head like a brick. I was at a con with my co-author and saw a photo in the dealer’s room of a vampire with a black daisy in her teeth. In that moment I had the whole world, the characters, the plot for the first book.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Witches Of East End Recap: Episode 1.5 - "Electric Avenue"

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

Witches of East End has definitely hit its stride, and this week’s episode had some laughs, some tears and some sexytimes. Ready for the recap?

Wendy’s checking on a sad Ingrid; it’s Adam’s funeral today. Wendy offers to go with her niece, but Ingrid’s not going. Ingrid blames herself, because, say it with me, of the repercussions of the unnecessary resurrection spell. Ingrid just wants to grieve in her own way. (She may be sad, but her hair looks fantastic.) We find out why she doesn’t have sad hair when she closes the door and smiles at: hey, Adam!

Penelope and Freya are ogling a vintage dress found by some workers on the estate.

Freya’s at work with her new coworker Killian. A blonde is checking our guy out. And oh! It’s Elyse! Dash’s first fiancée, who slept with Killian too.

 

Say it with us: Dun dun dun!

image from here


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win A Copy Of Charlaine Harris' After Dead

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 01, 2013 | PERMALINK

Since we're talking the end of a series with our Francis Ray giveaway, we figured we had to include Charlaine Harris' post-Sookie Stackhouse novel, After Dead, which gives readers a glimpse into what happened to each character after the series closer, Dead Ever After.  We can't really talk about After Dead without unloading a whole mess of spoilers, but here's what Senior Reviewer Jill M. Smith had to say about the book:

"For long-time Sookie Stackhouse fans this compilation of 'where are they now' tidbits is the perfect complement to their 'Dead' collection. Award-winning Harris provides snippets of info on characters both large and small, making this the perfect finishing touch for her beloved and long-running series."

Sounds like a must for Sookie fans, regardless of how you felt about the series ending. Plus, we've got four promotional posters to go along with the book!

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Boo to You: Authors' Favorite Halloween Episodes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 31, 2013 | PERMALINK

If you couldn't tell all month by our Mega Monster Mash Giveaway, costume suggestions and more, we at RT are pretty big fans of Halloween. And we want you to have an awesome All Hallow's Eve. So if you're not into the bar scene, at some point tonight you'll be at home, looking to entertain yourself between trick or treaters. And we certainly don't want you to be boo-red. (We can't stop. We're too excited.) So we queried some of our favorite authors to find out their favorite Halloween TV episodes and movies — what they always watch at this time of year. We also, ahem, included video clips, if you feel the need to take a break at work today. (We don't judge!) Here's what they had to say:

Jennifer L. Armentrout: My favorite Halloween TV show isn't really a show, but a made-for-TV movie. Whenever Halloweentown comes on, I have to watch it. There's just something about Debbie Reynolds and a town where everyday is Halloween that just gets me. 

The broom scene from Halloweentown


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST