RT Daily Blog

Mark Your Calendars: We're Recapping The Witches of East End

BY Elissa Petruzzi, OCTOBER 02, 2013 | PERMALINK

As a lifelong reader, I sometimes have mixed feelings about book-to-film adaptations. I love books so much, and I just worry that Hollywood won't understand their awesomeness and mess them up. But when my fellow website editor — and almost-name twin — Elisa Verna, asked me to recap the upcoming Witches of East End TV show for the site, I couldn't say no. Here are the top three reasons why.

1. I really liked the book, Melissa de la Cruz's Witches of East End. I've always loved witch stories, and am obsessed with all things Hamptons. So there's a potential for awesomeness here.

2. A celebrity gossip fiend (I know), all summer I watched in awe as the beautiful Jenna Dewan-Tatum wowed the universe with her pregnant glow. With a hot, doting husband at her side. In London. Basically, I'm sure she has magical powers as it is, so my girl Jenna should be good at playing a witch on TV. And I need to be watching as it happens.

3. Elisa can be very persuasive. She called me to action, and off we go.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Wayback Whensday: How The RT Convention Changed Lynsay Sands' Career

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 02, 2013 | PERMALINK

If you've ever been to the RT Booklover's Convention, you know it can be a life-changing experience. There's the smart, informative workshops that can jumpstart your writing. The agent and editor appointments that just might net you that book deal. The Faery Ball where you could meet your bewinged soul mates. We could go on. 

But today we're here with Lynsay Sands, to hear how the 1999 RT Booklovers Convention changed her life, and helped her to create her über-popular Argeneau vampire series. This month's One Lucky Vampire makes a decade that these bestselling books have been with us, and February's release, Vampire Most Wanted, is entry number twenty! We, of course, wanted to know how it all happened.

***

Pamela Palmer, Lynsay Sands and Merrie Destefano at the RT Convention in 2009 — 10 years after Lynsay's first RT Con.


Tell us about attending your first RT Convention.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal Romance, Vampire, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Convention, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Jan DeLima Talks Long Hours, The Call and Photoshopping Vampire Eyes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2013 | PERMALINK

We at RT love discovering new authors to tell you about, so when Jan DeLima’s debut, Celtic Moon received a 4-1/2 star review, we had to know more! (Yes, we're this nosey in our personal lives, too.) Celtic Moon is the story of Sophie, who’s been on the run with her son for nearly 16 years. Only now he’s showing signs of shifting, and so Sophie must return to the rustic Maine countryside and to the man she’s been fleeing — but hasn’t been able to forget. Luckily, Jan was very obliging and answered all of our nosey questions.

Name: Jan DeLima

Book: Celtic Moon

Genre: Urban Fantasy/Paranormal Romance

Current Home: Maine

Author Icon: Jude Deveraux immediately comes to mind for writing the first romance novel I ever read, Twin of Fire, and therefore opening a door into what would become my favorite genre.

Favorite Word: Honor


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal Romance, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free For All: Stephen King's Doctor Sleep!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 27, 2013 | PERMALINK

Did you read The Shining as a kid? Because the RT Web Team sure did. Sure, it was kinda dense reading for our tween years, but hey, it made us into book lovers. Stephen King is a master, there's no doubt about it. And so when we heard that he was returning to his Shining universe with Doctor Sleep, we said to ourselves, selves, we've got to get that book for a Friday Free For All.  

And so it was! So if you want to find out what happened to Danny Torrance, comment below on your favorite King title for a chance to win one of fiour hard copies of Doctor Sleep, out this week. U.S. residents only. Winners will be announced here next Friday.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
34COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: N.J. Walters' Damek's Redemption

BY Cyndy Aleo, SEPTEMBER 18, 2013 | PERMALINK

There are times when I feel like every book I review is really like a diary entry and I'm sharing my feels with all our readers. Including my secret never-pass-up tropes. For instance, I will never pass up a coma story. Or an amnesia story. But mostly, I will never pass up a broken, angsty vampire. Ever.

I know what you're saying. "Cyndy, vampires are so over." But here's the thing: They never really are, though. We've been obsessed with sexy vampires doing their thing since at least 1871 when J. Le Fanu's Carmilla brought us its titular hot lesbian vampire. 

So when N.J. Walters brings her werewolf series around to the standoffish vampire, Damek, I was intrigued.

Call me crazy, but all romantic vampires are judged against an ideal: not Bram Stoker's Dracula, not Anne Rice's Lestat, but rather, Nora Robert's Cian from her novel Valley of Silence. Cian is my vampire model: alpha male without crossing over into abusive, full of angst and loneliness in an eternity in which he loses anyone he might love — and incredibly sexy when he finally loses his hard-fought control and falls for the heroine.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mimi Jean Pamfiloff on Mayan Gods — And Why You Want to Read About Them

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 11, 2013 | PERMALINK

Sure, we’ve all read great romances starring the Greek and Roman gods, but what about the Mayans? Paranormal author Mimi Jean Pamfiloff has long been fascinated with the Mayans, who appear in her latest Vampires Need Not … Apply? And today she’s here today to tell us about that time she saw one (yes, really) and some reasons why you want to read a romance starring them.

Take it away, Mimi!


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal Romance, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Q&A: Sherrilyn Kenyon Talks Styxx - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 09, 2013 | PERMALINK

Sherrilyn Kenyon's latest Dark-Hunter novel, Styxx, hit shelves last week, and we decided to celebrate this long-running series by asking the author about her wounded hero Styxx, writing a character with a disability and what readers can expect next. Plus, we've got a chance to win either a hardcover or audio CD copy of the book!

***

Styxx is the 23rd book in the Dark-Hunter series. How has your writing changed since book one?

I would like to think that it’s improved. I might be delusional, but that’s what I hope and strive for with each publication.

The book takes some pretty dark twists and turns. How does the dark tone enhance the overall story?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
34COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

J.R. Ward Giveaway: Win A Fallen Angels Series Set!

BY Elissa Petruzzi, SEPTEMBER 06, 2013 | PERMALINK

Oh, reader. The summer's over, the pool's closed, your vacation a distant memory. But luckily, we at RT are here for you. And so, on this first September Friday, when everyone in publishing has to stay at work until 5 p.m., we're giving away some J.R. Ward books!

That's right, to prepare you for Ward's upcoming October 1 release, Possession, her fifth Fallen Angels title, which features Fallen Angel Jim Heron, who must make a deal with the devil, we're giving away one series set of the first four books: Covet, Crave, Envy and Rapture, so you have time get all caught up.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
20COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Burn With Me By R.G. Alexander

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 27, 2013 | PERMALINK

The summer days are dwindling and the kids are heading back to school. Doesn't that just put you in the mood to cozy up to a London-set, paranormal romance? Well, friends, we at RT are here for you. Today we've got an exclusive excerpt of R.G. Alexander's Burn with Me, out today from Samhain, which reviewer Jaime Giraldi calls, "an awesome start to a series."

Trilogy starter Burn with Me stars Aziza, a heroine living on borrowed time. Believing herself cursed, her demise on its way, Aziza begins hallucinating — or is she? — during a trip to London. Little does she know what fate has in store for her ...

Death was following her.

She’d left her coat in the pub, she thought absently, wrapping her arms around herself as the air chilled her. As if she might split apart if she didn’t. She made her way around the men, most of whom had taken their hats off or bowed their heads in a sad, habitual form of respect at the view in front of them. Aziza reached the front of the circle of people and looked down.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal Romance, E/book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

August Seal Of Excellence

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 22, 2013 | PERMALINK

Each month the RT editors select one book that is not only compelling, but pushes the boundaries of genre fiction and stands out from all the other books that are reviewed in that issue and on the website. August 2013's RT Seal of Excellence — the editors' pick for best book of the month — is awarded to Kelley Armstrong's paranormal-laced mystery Omens. 



Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST