RT Daily Blog

Extended Review: Fighting Kat By PJ Schnyder

BY Trent Hart, JANUARY 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

I first met PJ Schnyder in Kansas City at the RT Convention in 2013 while she was on a panel. As a person she is fabulous, funny, and engaging; all qualities that made me intrigued about her writing. I put her on my “To Be Read List”, but had many others to get through first. Finally I had time to pick up her London Undead series. I devoured both Bite Me and Sing for the Dead. The latter earned a spot on my Picks of 2013 List!

While waiting for the next book in that series, I decided to give her Sci-Fi Romance series, The Triton Experiment, a go. Typically I am not a big fan of Sci-Fi, but I had continually heard great things about it. Suffice to say, I’m a reformed believer in the genre! PJ finds the perfect balance of concepts that make the book futuristic, but not leaving me scratching my head at unfamiliar concepts.

The first entry is a novella, Hunting Kat, and it hooked me in from the start. Being so short, I was left begging for more. Fortunately I was able to obtain an ARC of the first full book, Fighting Kat, which releases this coming Monday. Before I get into the meat of the book, my recommendation is you need to get on this series stat!

The book picks up a few months from where Hunting Kat left off. Mercenary-for-hire Kat, and Lt. Rygard have continued their “casual” liaison, a relationship that neither has expected to develop. Her crew is en route to support his, when trouble strikes, he and his unit now missing. She’s immediately on the hunt for her man, her cat-like nature in full force.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Book Hankerings: Our Most Anticipated Science Fiction & Fantasy Coming In 2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

Happy New Year, readers! The best thing about the new year, in our humble opinions anyway, is all the new books to look forward to! We don’t know about you, but there are an awful lot of books we’re hankering for in 2014. In the hopes that you’ll join us in obsessing, over the next week we’ll be listing our most anticipated books of 2014, by genre. Today, we continue with SF/F!


 

The Fool's Assassin by Robin Hobb

Releases April 2014

Back in 1996 Robin Hobb released a book called Assassin's Apprentice, which kicked off her popular Farseer trilogy. If you're a fan of epic fantasy, you probably know the series, and you're probably anxious for the last chapter in Fitz's story. In true epic fantasy fashion, this last chapter is in fact three books — starting with The Fool's Assassin in April!

 

     


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner's 5 Need-To-Know Tips for Surviving on a Spaceship

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 12, 2013 | PERMALINK

Traveling on a spaceship can be fraught with many dangers, whether you’re headed for a black hole or under attack from intergalactic space pirates. Luckily for you, Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner have done the research for you and put it all into their RT Top Pick! rated These Broken Stars. And today, they’ve laid out their top tips in handy-dandy list form. Print it out and stick it in your purse next to your towel, that way next time you’re flying to Alpha Centauri, you'll be prepared!

***

5. Always read the safety card instructions. In the event that your ship malfunctions (or gets torn out of inter-dimensional space) it’s handy to know exactly what escape pod you’re meant to be in. Particularly in ships with more than a few thousand passengers, the ensuing panic following an “Abandon Ship” order is often worse than the crash itself!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2013 RT Awards Nominees Celebration: Best Fantasy Novel

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 27, 2013 | PERMALINK

Every year, the review staff at RT Book Reviews reads and rates more than three thousand books. And when each year draws to a close, we pick the best of the bunch for our readers to enjoy — the Reviewers’ Choice Awards. For the next few weeks, leading up to Thanksgiving, we’re going to be celebrating the nominations for many of these awards, across genres. We hope you’ll join us in congratulating all these wonderful authors, and, hey, if you find a great new book to read, all the better! Today, we'll be taking a look at the nominees for Best Fantasy Novel!

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Where No Woman Has Gone Before (Except They Totally Have): Ann Leckie & Rachel Bach On Gender & The Science Fiction Community

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 16, 2013 | PERMALINK

With plenty of recent discussion about diversity in SFF, we were thrilled to see two female authors, Ann Leckie and Rachel Bach, with science fiction titles out this fall. Not only that, but they're both space operas featuring heroines who put it all on the line. We invited both authors to discuss with us what they think of the overhwelmingly male genre, and how they've come to make a place for themselves and other women in the science fiction community.

    


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Does NYCC: The Cosplay Recap!

BY Mala Bhattacharjee, OCTOBER 14, 2013 | PERMALINK

Geek Pride was in full force this weekend at the Javits Center for the 2013 New York Comic Con — and of course RT was in attendance. I, along with Assistant Web Editor DJ DeSmyter, got in on the fun. Below are some of my favorite NYCC cosplayers (that's "people who dress up in character costume" for you Muggles out there) from the weekend.

 

 

There were Batmen (Batmans?!) from many eras at NYCC. I stopped one who smiles! Gasp.

Jack Sparrow looked pretty exhausted on Day Two. Must've been all the rum!

As befitting her House, a gorgeous Rowena Ravenclaw had quite the clever— and detailed — period costume.

A stunningly accurate Kaylee and River from Firefly (and guest!) were definitely shiny!

Is it just me or does this dashing Nightwing look a little like Daniel Radcliffe in tights?

Wee Black Canary and wee Elektra have the best.parents.ever.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Perfect Ruin by Lauren DeStefano

BY DJ DeSmyter, OCTOBER 01, 2013 | PERMALINK

Lauren DeStefano's Perfect Ruin is exquisite. With its story of free will, love and the power of dreaming beyond one's boundaries, it's every bit as captivating as it is courageous. Intelligently written and thought provoking, it’s the start of yet another astounding series from DeStefano.

Sixteen-year-old Morgan Stockhour knows better than to dream of life outside the confines of Internment, the floating island she calls home. Life is perfect on Interment — at least that’s what the people have come to believe. But when a girl’s body is found, marking the first murder in years, Internment no longer feels safe. Morgan is hungry for answers and for the possibilities that lie beyond the island. With her best friend and her betrothed at her side, Morgan will dive deeper into Interment’s secrets. But is she prepared for everything she may lose along the way?


Read More>>

Tags: Futuristic, Science Fiction, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Elliott James On Prince Charming And Happily Ever After

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 24, 2013 | PERMALINK

Fairy tales have been all the rage for awhile, with TV show Once Upon a Time and many (many, many) novel adaptations. But we at RT never really tired of these classic stories, maybe it hearkens back to our Pretty, Pretty Princess days. Regardless, our interest was piqued when we heard of Elliot James' Charming, and we had to hear more about James' take on this classic hero. Here's what James had to say: 

One expects certain things from a Prince Charming story: a dream prince, a beautiful woman with a more beautiful soul who becomes imperiled, an element of magic, a rise from rags to riches, and a happily ever after. The thing is though, those stories don’t really belong to Prince Charming at all. Prince Charming is more or less a cardboard cut-out, a bland, earnest (but wealthy and good looking) prop who does this sort of Jekyll-and-Hyde routine where he goes from pretty boy to monster slayer and back again at the drop of a rose.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

5 Diverse SFF Novels You Should Probably Read

BY Elisa Verna, SEPTEMBER 05, 2013 | PERMALINK

When Jim C. Hines created the #DiversityinSFF tag on Twitter this week, SFF fans were quick to chime in with their book and author recommendations. While SFF is predominantly a straight, white male-dominated genre, there's no shortage of awesome, diverse speculative fiction. Here are five recent novels (in no particular order) I think you should read if you're looking for stories that challenge the norm.

***

1. Fortune's Pawn by Rachel Bach

So Fortune's Pawn doesn't release until November 5th, but I just reviewed it for the November issue of RT and it's absolutely wonderful. Devi isn't just your standard "kick butt" space opera character, she's a woman who is unashamed of her sexuality and openly admits to enjoying sex because she works in a dangerous profession with an incredibly high mortality rate, and if you might die tomorrow, why not enjoy today? And it's never a point of contention in the novel, it's simply part of who she is.

2. Quicksilver by R.J. Anderson


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

August Science Fiction/Fantasy Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 14, 2013 | PERMALINK

This month's notable science fiction and fantasy titles are all over the map. From an epic king seeking revenge to a steampunk adventure, a magical librarian, an alien invasion and a dark mystery, there's no lack of variety in August's selection of speculative fiction. Read on to learn more about the stories we recommend, and see what our expert reviewers had to say.


Read More>>

Tags: Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST