RT Daily Blog

A. Lee Martinez On The World Of Chasing The Moon

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month science fiction author A. Lee Martinez opens up a world of possibilities with Chasing the Moon. RT reviewer Donna M. Carter said, “Readers who like their science fiction on the wacky, mind-bending side, à la Douglas Adams, are sure to love this story that examines our place in the cosmos and our need to understand even the most inexplicable things.” Today, the author shares a behind the scenes look at the inspiration for this unusual tale. 

Chasing the Moon is a story you aren't meant to understand. It's about a universe too large and inscrutable to comprehend, where nothing is certain and everything our protagonists do just might be (at best) pointless or (at worst) dangerous. In short, it's a story about being human. Except with monsters.


Read More>>

Tags: Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RosettaBooks Hosts Science Fiction Writing Contest

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Aspiring authors, start your science fiction engines! The publisher RosettaBooks has just announced that they will be hosting a contest to find new voices in the genre. 

As RosettaBooks gets ready to release a selection of stories from the classic science fiction magazine Galaxy in digital format, they are scouring the galaxy, okay the Internet, in search of this generation’s newest brilliant storytellers.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

BEA 2011: Giant Book Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

We spent the past week at BEA meeting authors, publishers and fellow book enthusiasts. And each day we braved the long lines in the Autographing Area in order to give readers a chance to win signed books from fan favorite authors. 

Today is the day you've all been waiting for, because we are giving away not one, not two, but five bags full of signed books and ARCs from across genres! And with much thanks to all of the authors who contributed and publicists who made this giveaway possible, you can check out the lists below to see which books are in each bag.

To enter to win one or any of the bags, simply leave a comment below telling us what new book you can't wait to read and which bags you are hoping to win:

 

Mystery, Suspense and Thriller:

Inside by Brenda Novak — Signed and pubs in July!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
151COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Nebula Award Winners Announced!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America has officially announced the winners of the 2011 Nebula Awards. Top honors, the wining novel, went to Blackout/All Clear by Connie Willis. We were especially pleased by this since we absolutely love Ms. Willis’ books, and have been awaiting new works from the author for the past few years. In fact, these two novels are her first published full-length stories since 2002. But Willis has certainly made up for lost time with the fantastic novels that have three history researchers from the future Oxford University stranded in England during World War II. Willis’ Nebula win is certainly not a surprise (we nominated her ourselves this year for a RT Reviewers Choice Award), but what makes her works unique is that they are part of a “duology.” Her two novels should be read as a set. 

Other Nebula award winners this year are Rachel Swirsky for her novella “The Lady Who Plucked Red Flowers Beneath the Queens Window”, Terry Pratchett for his YA novel I Shall Wear Midnight and the film Inception


Read More>>

Tags: Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Maria Zannini On The Zombie Chicken Apocalypse

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

You may remember Maria Zannini from the Kensington/RT Writing With the Stars competition. This month the Zannini's newest tale of love and adventure, titled Apocalypse Rising, is releasing from Carina Press. Today the author gives readers a taste of her writing style with this special blog post! 


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Science Fiction
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Susan Grant Takes Readers Around The World (And The Universe)

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Susan Grant has a reputation for transporting readers across the universe with her science fiction romance tales — and this month's The Last Warrior promises to be another trip that is (pardon our pun) out of this world. But Susan Grant is happy also happy to take people around the world during her day job, as a jumbo jet pilot who frequently heads to exotic locals. 

Most of you know me as a bestselling author of 15 assorted paranormal, military, and science fiction romances. A few may know that I live a double life as a 747 jumbo jet pilot, flying overseas routes for United Airlines.

I've flown commercially for 23 years, and before that I was a jet pilot for the US Air Force. In any given month I may land in China, South Korea, Australia, Vietnam, Hong Kong, Singapore, or Japan, staying a night or two then flying home.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Barbara Ashford Talks About The Original Ending Of This Month's Spellcast

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Sometimes where you end up isn't where you are heading. Author Barbara Ashford learned this the hard way when her new fantasy novel, Spellcast, became much darker than Ashford had anticipated writing. Today the author chats with us about the original ending of what RT's Senior Reviewer Natalie A. Luhrs calls a "compelling" story about "the transformative power of theater."

“Welcome to the Crossroads.”

After I typed the final words of Spellcast, I sat back and stared at the computer screen in disbelief. This was not how the book was supposed to end.

When I pitched the idea to DAW Books, I knew the basic plot. Maggie Graham loses her job in New York City. Drives up to Vermont for a getaway weekend to regroup. Stumbles upon the Crossroads Theatre. Reluctantly allows herself to be lured back into the world of theatre that she had abandoned years earlier. And – with equal reluctance – falls under the spell of theatre director Rowan Mackenzie, a man with strange powers and a mysterious past.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Authors Pip Ballantine And Tee Morris On Phoenix Rising's Ministry Of Peculiar Occurrences

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month co-authors Pip Ballantine and Tee Morris begin their Steampunk series with Phoenix Rising. The story surrounds the events at the Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences. With a name like that, we knew we had to ask the authors what this department is all about.

peculiar
adjective
strange or odd; unusual : his accent was a peculiar mixture of Cockney and Irish.
• [ predic. ] informal slightly and indefinably unwell; faint or dizzy : I felt a little peculiar for a while, but I'm absolutely fine now.

occurrence
noun
an incident or event : vandalism used to be a rare occurrence.
• the fact or frequency of something happening : the occurrence of cancer increases with age.
• the fact of something existing or being found in a place or under a particular set of conditions : the occurrence of natural gas fields.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

An Evening With Author Gini Koch

BY MORGAN, APRIL 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Saturday evening the romance section of Posman Books in New York City was jam-packed with fans all wanting science fiction romance author Gini Koch’s autograph. Earlier this month Gini released the third in her Alien Collective series Alien in the Family. Gini’s books sold out fast, but that didn’t stop readers from grabbing up the author’s post cards and magnates. Gini mingled with the crowd who she greeted like friends — one thing you notice right away when meeting Ms. Koch, she's a hugger. 

Traditionally sci fi romance has been a bit of a hard sell, but Gini is more than happy with her chosen genre — it gives her room to talk to the crowd about a wide range of topics. Everything from Galaxy Quest to love triangles was discussed during the signing with many references to music. (Aerosmith is the author’s favorite, but she says to really get into her series, try Smash Mouth’s album Get the Picture).  

Well into the evening, I decided to ask the crowd what they loved so much about Gini’s books and the answer was unanimous: one and all are in love with the characters (especially the dreamy Jeff) and they also couldn’t get enough of the series’ realism. “It’s just so believable,” claimed one fan. “Like it could really happen.” 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Mixing It Up At The Intergalactic Bar & Grille

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

Tonight science fiction fans, readers and authors all gathered at the Intergalactic Bar & Grille! Hosts Linnea Sinclair, Jade Lee, Janet Miller (aka Cricket Starr), Karen Miller, Marcella Burnard and Nathalie Gray embraced all things science fiction as the inspiration for some out-of-this-world treats and games for all that attended. 

During the party, the hosts gave us some sneak peeks on what we can expect from them in the future.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST