RT Daily Blog

Aron Warner's Pariah To Be Released This Week — Read The Web Exclusive Review!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

Film producer Aron Warner's newest project, a co-written comic book series about teens who are the result of a genetic mutation experiment, has been on our radar since it was first announced in February. We brought you more news of the series in the June issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS when author and RT Senior Contributor Anne Elizabeth got a chance to talk with Warner.

In the interview, Warner revealed his inspiration for the series. He also described how he met the artist he and his co-writer, Philip Gellat, would use to illustrate the series, Brett Weldel.

Finally, this week the much-anticipated comic series will be debuting at the San Diego Comic Con with Pariah!


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

George R. R. Martin Breaks Records With Latest Book In His Song Of Ice And Fire Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

George R.R. Martin's A Dance With Dragons broke publishing records earlier this week when it sold 298,000 copies in print, digital and audio formats across the U.S. and Canada on its Tuesday release day. The novel is the fifth in Martin's Song of Ice and Fire fantasy series and the first to be published since the books were adapted into an HBO TV show. 

Gina Centrello, the president and publisher of Random House, the parent company of Martin's longtime publisher, Bantam Books, attributed the sales to the author's "devoted fans and also to the tens of thousands of new readers who are now devouring his books because they loved the Game of Thrones HBO series."

The show has a dedicated viewership and has already begun to rack up awards including an Emmy nomination! To learn more click here.


Read More>>

Tags: Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A. Lee Martinez On The World Of Chasing The Moon

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month science fiction author A. Lee Martinez opens up a world of possibilities with Chasing the Moon. RT reviewer Donna M. Carter said, “Readers who like their science fiction on the wacky, mind-bending side, à la Douglas Adams, are sure to love this story that examines our place in the cosmos and our need to understand even the most inexplicable things.” Today, the author shares a behind the scenes look at the inspiration for this unusual tale. 

Chasing the Moon is a story you aren't meant to understand. It's about a universe too large and inscrutable to comprehend, where nothing is certain and everything our protagonists do just might be (at best) pointless or (at worst) dangerous. In short, it's a story about being human. Except with monsters.


Read More>>

Tags: Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RosettaBooks Hosts Science Fiction Writing Contest

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Aspiring authors, start your science fiction engines! The publisher RosettaBooks has just announced that they will be hosting a contest to find new voices in the genre. 

As RosettaBooks gets ready to release a selection of stories from the classic science fiction magazine Galaxy in digital format, they are scouring the galaxy, okay the Internet, in search of this generation’s newest brilliant storytellers.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

BEA 2011: Giant Book Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

We spent the past week at BEA meeting authors, publishers and fellow book enthusiasts. And each day we braved the long lines in the Autographing Area in order to give readers a chance to win signed books from fan favorite authors. 

Today is the day you've all been waiting for, because we are giving away not one, not two, but five bags full of signed books and ARCs from across genres! And with much thanks to all of the authors who contributed and publicists who made this giveaway possible, you can check out the lists below to see which books are in each bag.

To enter to win one or any of the bags, simply leave a comment below telling us what new book you can't wait to read and which bags you are hoping to win:

 

Mystery, Suspense and Thriller:

Inside by Brenda Novak — Signed and pubs in July!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
151COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Nebula Award Winners Announced!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America has officially announced the winners of the 2011 Nebula Awards. Top honors, the wining novel, went to Blackout/All Clear by Connie Willis. We were especially pleased by this since we absolutely love Ms. Willis’ books, and have been awaiting new works from the author for the past few years. In fact, these two novels are her first published full-length stories since 2002. But Willis has certainly made up for lost time with the fantastic novels that have three history researchers from the future Oxford University stranded in England during World War II. Willis’ Nebula win is certainly not a surprise (we nominated her ourselves this year for a RT Reviewers Choice Award), but what makes her works unique is that they are part of a “duology.” Her two novels should be read as a set. 

Other Nebula award winners this year are Rachel Swirsky for her novella “The Lady Who Plucked Red Flowers Beneath the Queens Window”, Terry Pratchett for his YA novel I Shall Wear Midnight and the film Inception


Read More>>

Tags: Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Maria Zannini On The Zombie Chicken Apocalypse

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

You may remember Maria Zannini from the Kensington/RT Writing With the Stars competition. This month the Zannini's newest tale of love and adventure, titled Apocalypse Rising, is releasing from Carina Press. Today the author gives readers a taste of her writing style with this special blog post! 


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Science Fiction
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Susan Grant Takes Readers Around The World (And The Universe)

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Susan Grant has a reputation for transporting readers across the universe with her science fiction romance tales — and this month's The Last Warrior promises to be another trip that is (pardon our pun) out of this world. But Susan Grant is happy also happy to take people around the world during her day job, as a jumbo jet pilot who frequently heads to exotic locals. 

Most of you know me as a bestselling author of 15 assorted paranormal, military, and science fiction romances. A few may know that I live a double life as a 747 jumbo jet pilot, flying overseas routes for United Airlines.

I've flown commercially for 23 years, and before that I was a jet pilot for the US Air Force. In any given month I may land in China, South Korea, Australia, Vietnam, Hong Kong, Singapore, or Japan, staying a night or two then flying home.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Barbara Ashford Talks About The Original Ending Of This Month's Spellcast

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Sometimes where you end up isn't where you are heading. Author Barbara Ashford learned this the hard way when her new fantasy novel, Spellcast, became much darker than Ashford had anticipated writing. Today the author chats with us about the original ending of what RT's Senior Reviewer Natalie A. Luhrs calls a "compelling" story about "the transformative power of theater."

“Welcome to the Crossroads.”

After I typed the final words of Spellcast, I sat back and stared at the computer screen in disbelief. This was not how the book was supposed to end.

When I pitched the idea to DAW Books, I knew the basic plot. Maggie Graham loses her job in New York City. Drives up to Vermont for a getaway weekend to regroup. Stumbles upon the Crossroads Theatre. Reluctantly allows herself to be lured back into the world of theatre that she had abandoned years earlier. And – with equal reluctance – falls under the spell of theatre director Rowan Mackenzie, a man with strange powers and a mysterious past.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Authors Pip Ballantine And Tee Morris On Phoenix Rising's Ministry Of Peculiar Occurrences

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month co-authors Pip Ballantine and Tee Morris begin their Steampunk series with Phoenix Rising. The story surrounds the events at the Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences. With a name like that, we knew we had to ask the authors what this department is all about.

peculiar
adjective
strange or odd; unusual : his accent was a peculiar mixture of Cockney and Irish.
• [ predic. ] informal slightly and indefinably unwell; faint or dizzy : I felt a little peculiar for a while, but I'm absolutely fine now.

occurrence
noun
an incident or event : vandalism used to be a rare occurrence.
• the fact or frequency of something happening : the occurrence of cancer increases with age.
• the fact of something existing or being found in a place or under a particular set of conditions : the occurrence of natural gas fields.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST