RT Daily Blog

An Evening With Author Gini Koch

BY MORGAN, APRIL 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Saturday evening the romance section of Posman Books in New York City was jam-packed with fans all wanting science fiction romance author Gini Koch’s autograph. Earlier this month Gini released the third in her Alien Collective series Alien in the Family. Gini’s books sold out fast, but that didn’t stop readers from grabbing up the author’s post cards and magnates. Gini mingled with the crowd who she greeted like friends — one thing you notice right away when meeting Ms. Koch, she's a hugger. 

Traditionally sci fi romance has been a bit of a hard sell, but Gini is more than happy with her chosen genre — it gives her room to talk to the crowd about a wide range of topics. Everything from Galaxy Quest to love triangles was discussed during the signing with many references to music. (Aerosmith is the author’s favorite, but she says to really get into her series, try Smash Mouth’s album Get the Picture).  

Well into the evening, I decided to ask the crowd what they loved so much about Gini’s books and the answer was unanimous: one and all are in love with the characters (especially the dreamy Jeff) and they also couldn’t get enough of the series’ realism. “It’s just so believable,” claimed one fan. “Like it could really happen.” 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Mixing It Up At The Intergalactic Bar & Grille

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

Tonight science fiction fans, readers and authors all gathered at the Intergalactic Bar & Grille! Hosts Linnea Sinclair, Jade Lee, Janet Miller (aka Cricket Starr), Karen Miller, Marcella Burnard and Nathalie Gray embraced all things science fiction as the inspiration for some out-of-this-world treats and games for all that attended. 

During the party, the hosts gave us some sneak peeks on what we can expect from them in the future.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Men Writing Romance: An Interview With Science Fiction Romance Author Nico Rosso

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today we host the second of this week’s four interviews with male authors who write romance. Author Nico Rosso made his debut this winter with e-book Taken to the Limit. The story got an RT rating of 4 1/2 stars from Reviewer Dawn Crowne who called the story “fantastic”. Today we get Nico Rosso's take on what it means to be a man who writes romance novels. 

***

What type of romance do you write? Sci-fi romance

When did you first get published as a romance author? November of 2010

Do you write in any other genre(s)? I worked as a screenwriter for a few years, but found that the form wasn't the best outlet for my voice. I have written in the literary thriller genre, but haven't yet been published there.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Who Should Play John Perry In The Film Adaptation Of Scalzi's Old Man War?

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite sci-fi books ever, Old Man's War by John Scalzi, is being adapted for film. We are super-excited to hear that Paramount is taking on the project and can't wait to see who they get to play John Perry, an old widower who gets to be young again only to go off and fight in a war. Oh, and there is that military woman who looks surprisingly like .... well, if you haven't read the book we aren't going to spoil for you! Read the author's take on the film here. And while we're debating who we'd like to see in this cast, we'd love your take on who you'd like to see play John, Jane and the entire gang. Leave your comments here. One lucky poster will receive a free book in their favorite genre.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

An Introduction To Haikasoru Science Fiction Novels

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Starting in the March issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS, readers will start to notice reviews of Japanese science fiction and fantasy novels in the magazine. They're all from Haikasoru, a relatively new publishing imprint which specializes in these translated books.

With the boom in both anime and manga in the United States, parent company VIZ Media thought it would be a great time to branch out—and science fiction and fantasy is a natural extension of their market (they publish several manga magazines and collections, as well as DVD sets). They translate books from a variety of Japanese publishers in a wide variety of genres.

Senior Reviewer Natalie A. Luhrs got in touch with Tradebooks Editor Nick Mamatas and asked him a few questions about Haikasoru and got some recommendations. At the end of the interview are links to two web-exclusive reviews of Haikasoru titles—Rocket Girls by Housuke Nojiri and The Next Continent by Issui Ogawa.

Natalie A. Luhrs: What sorts of readers have been picking up Haikasoru books--any surprises there?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Interview With Fantasy Author Joe Abercrombie About The Heroes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Fantasy author Joe Abercrombie's new novel, The Heroes, is set in the same world as the author's First Law Trilogy. The story takes place during three days of battle. RT Senior Reviewer Natalie A. Luhrs calls the tale "Well-written and stocked with fully realized characters ..." noting that the author captures the fury of war with graphic violence and multiple points of view. Now the author transports readers to the front lines to answer our questions about this compelling new read.

RT BOOK REVIEWS: Your new release The Heroes releases this week. However, despite the title, there doesn’t appear to be any actual heroes in the story. How would you define “hero?”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

An All-Access Pass To The 15th Century Venice Of Jon Courtenay Grimwood's The Fallen Blade

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Fantasy author Jon Courtenay Grimwood takes readers behind the scenes of his new novel, The Fallen Blade, which is an RT Top Pick! RT reviewer S.L. Rosania says readers "can really feel and smell" the author's 15th century Venice, brought to life with dangerous intrigue, dark secrets and all sorts of things that go bump in the night. 

So how do you pin down a love story between a living girl and a boy who isn't quite sure what he is other than not entirely normal? Then throw in werewolves and witches, introduce the first vampire in Europe, and try to make it feel as real as possible? For me the answer was simple! Set the story in Venice, and set it during the 15th Century, when the city was at its corrupt and glittering best.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meet Nico Rosso A Rising Star In Science Fiction Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

We love to discover new authors, and were thrilled when RT Reviewer Dawn Crowne reported that she'd found a winner in the debut author Nico Rosso. Dawn praised Rosso's action packed novella and promises that sci-fi and romance fans will not want to miss "Taken To The Limit." Want to learn more about Nico Rosso and his writing? Look no further than this author interview with RT's Morgan Doremus.

Morgan Doremus: You have said that the great thing about sci-fi romance is the possibilities. “We can be the rescuer and the rescued, the fighter and the philosopher.” Do you consider yourself any of these things? All of them? 

Nico Rosso: I do think that there are all of these elements in me. Writing each of these archetypes makes me search them out inside, then use what I know to try to make them real on the page.

MD: Can you tell us a bit about your new novella "Taken To The Limit". What was the evolution of the story's plot?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Peter V. Brett

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 31, 2011 | PERMALINK

Fantasy author Peter V. Brett's new novella, "Brayan's Gold", has just been released. In this in-depth author interview Brett reveals the backstory to his Demon Cycle series with RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus. Discover how the series was affected by the 9/11 terror attacks, what drives the series and get a special look at several of the main characters in the series!

Peter V. Brett introduces his Demon Cycle Series

Peter V. Brett talks about the "human" side of his stories  >>

Peter V. Brett on the artwork for his "Brayan's Gold" novella >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Science Fiction Icon L.E. Modesitt Jr. Is Coming To This Year's RT Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are thrilled to announce that best-selling author L.E. Modesitt Jr. is attending the 2011 RT BOOKLOVERS CONVENTION!

This multi-award winning author has won fans for his works of science fiction and fantasy. Now those attending the convention will have the chance to hear him speak on the science fiction genre panel, Creating Out Of This World Science Fiction.

The author will also be signing books at the Saturday bookfair which is open to the public. Fans who are coming just for the bookfair should bring their treasured copies of his books and he will autograph them. All attendees will also be able to purchase Modesitt Jr.'s latest books at the bookfair.

Finally on Sunday, conventioneers will enjoy a more intimate chance to meet the author during our Social Sunday sessions, where he will be participating at the author speed meeting event

More about the authors attending this year's convention >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST