RT Daily Blog

C. Robert Cargill On His Not-So-Nice Fairies

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 27, 2013 | PERMALINK

Faeries are often considered fragile, beautiful creatures full of whimsy and magic, but as the hero in C. Robert Cargill's Dreams and Shadows discovers, faeries can often have a nasty side. When young Colby is taken from his less-than-perfect home by faeries, he's brought to a place inhabited by all sorts of paranormal creatures. But this new world has problems of its own, and Colby learns that the Limestone Kingdom is something that will stick with him forever. Today, the author shares why he gave his faeries a tough edge, but why he still prefers them to the typical pixie.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

February Science Fiction And Fantasy Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 21, 2013 | PERMALINK

This month, science fiction and fantasy readers can expect some great new releases from a variety of authors. Today we're playing tour guide and pointing out some out of this world literary hotspots.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Karen Lord On The Boundaries Of Science Fiction And Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 19, 2013 | PERMALINK

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Darcy Abriel's Heroine Haevyn On What It's Like To Be A Humanotic Woman

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 13, 2013 | PERMALINK

Darcy Abriel's latest erotic romance, Haevyn, blends steampunk, science fiction and steamy romance to create an unforgettable story. Heroine Haevyn Breina is a humanotic — part human, part machine — in a futuristic dystopian world where she sexually serves high-ranking military officers. To understand exactly what being a humanotic means, we asked the heroine to tell us a little bit about her transformation and the world in which she lives.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Marie Brennan Tackles The Natural History Of Dragons

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 13, 2013 | PERMALINK

Author Marie Brennan's latest release, A Natural History of Dragons, is a delightful story for genre fans looking for a touch of historical romance in their fantasy. The story is a the fictional memoir of famed dragon anthropologist Isabella, Lady Trent. The book begins with her curious youth and leads up to her marriage and, soon after, her first voyage to document dragons in their natural habitat. Fictional memoirs are an up-and-coming trend in recent fantasy, so we asked the author why she chose to write this story of dragons from Isabella's point of view.

I don’t remember making a truly conscious decision to write A Natural History of Dragons in the format of a memoir. It was always in first person, from the moment I sat down to play with the idea; I don’t know when during that process it became apparent to me that I was writing it from an explicitly retrospective point of view.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Copperhead By Tina Connolly

BY Janine Johnston, FEBRUARY 06, 2013 | PERMALINK

Author Tina Connolly is set to continue the story told in her debut novel Ironskin with the upcoming Copperhead. And although the sequel doesn't hit shelves until September 2013, the author has just revealed the book's shiny new cover. And I have to say, this art is just as gorgeous as Ironskin's cover, and actually reminds me of a more "adult" version of Kady Cross' Steampunk Chronicles artwork.

Tina Connolly debuted last year with her Jane Eyre-inspired fantasy Ironskin, about a beautiful woman, Jane, whose face has been marred by a grotesque iron mask, which keeps the powerful fey magic Jane has been infected with contained.

A victim of the Great War between fey and humans, Jane begins rebuilding her life by taking a job as a governess to a very unique child. Dorie was born half human, half fey, and must learn to control her fey abilities in order to integrate into human society. What Jane doesn't know is that Dorie's father, a popular artist, has a deep secret that could affect both her life and Dorie's.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

January Science Fiction And Fantasy Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 15, 2013 | PERMALINK

This month, science fiction and fantasy readers can expect some great new releases from a variety of authors. Today we're playing tour guide and pointing out some out of this world literary hotspots.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

How Gail Z. Martin Dreamed Up The End Of The World

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 08, 2013 | PERMALINK

Fantasy author Gail Z. Martin kicks off her new Ascendant Kings Saga with Ice Forged, which hits shelves today! The series starter tells the story of Lord Blaine McFadden, a young man charged with killing his violent father in order to protect his brother and sister. Blaine is subsequently sent to the frigid edge of the world, Edgeland, as punishment. After making a home for himself there, Blaine is called back to his home country of Donderath when a war breaks out and several supernatural incidents occur. With many fantasy novels set in large, immersive worlds, we're always curious to know how authors plan the start of a fantasy series. Today Martin shares how she built up — and tore down — her universe in Ice Forged.

A blank page is always daunting, no matter how much opportunity it presents.

I don't know if it ever stops being scary when you start writing a brand new book in a new world with new characters, but if it does, I haven't gotten to that point yet.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lucky 13: Our Most Anticipated Science Fiction And Fantasy Books Coming in 2013

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

With a new year comes resolutions, new beginnings and best of all ... new books! This month we'll be sharing thirteen titles across the genres we're looking forward to in 2013, continuing with science fiction and fantasy releases! So just in case your TBR list wasn't already a mile long, here are a dozen (plus one!) sci fi and fantasy titles we're anticipating in 2013:


 

The Mad Scientist's Guide to World Domination edited by John Joseph Adams

Releases February 2013

This anthology is packed with out-of-this-world stories from fan favorite authors including Seanan McGuire, Harry Turtledove, Naomi Novik, Mary Robinette Kowal, Marjorie M. Liu and more. Praised as " ... hilarious, heartbreaking and wonderfully wacky ... " by RT editor Regina Small, who gave the book a Top Pick! rating, we have no doubt that this stellar collection is the perfect way to kick off 2013.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
22COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

December Science Fiction And Fantasy Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month, science fiction and fantasy readers can expect new releases from a variety of authors, just in time for the holidays. Today we're playing tour guide and pointing out some December hotspots of the genres. We've selected four releases — from space opera to epic fantasy — and offer an overview of the stories, plus some important tidbits of wisdom that readers should know before diving in.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST