RT Daily Blog

Fantasy Book Recommendations: April 2013

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 10, 2013 | PERMALINK

One of the great things about fantasy stories is that they can come in all shapes and sizes. But if there's one thing that truly makes an unforgettable tale, it's a strong lead character. Today we bring you some April's top-rated fantasy novels, sorted by protagonist type, to help you find a character that resonates.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Read The First Chapter Of Guy Gavriel Kay's River Of Stars

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 02, 2013 | PERMALINK

Guy Gavriel Kay's historical fantasies are always a treat. A follow up to his 2010 release Under Heavenwhich earned our rare Gold rating, River of Stars is set in a similar re-imagined China four hundred years later. We have been patiently waiting for this book's release, and it finally hits stores today! In celebration of the book's release, we're offering the first chapter of River of Stars for download. Filled with plenty of court intrigue and epic battles, River of Stars, is a must for those who love historical fiction with a fantastic edge. You can download the first chapter here, or click on the cover below. Happy reading!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Q&A With Doughnut Author Tom Holt

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 21, 2013 | PERMALINK

UK author Tom Holt delights U.S. fantasy readers this month with his new release, Doughnut, an unusual story about a physicist who becomes blacklisted after a minor math error causes him to blow up a mountain. Instructed to take a job as a hotel concierge by his dead mentor's will, Theo finds himself living and working in an odd place that, with the assistance of a few random items, allows him to be transported to strange worlds. We asked the author a few questions about his new release, and his answers are most interesting. 

***

Doughnut is a very unusual, humorous fantasy. What type of reader would best enjoy the novel?

I aimed the book at two key demographic groupings; (A) Nobel physics laureates, and (B) everyone else. If you don't fall into one of these categories, tough.

Your protagonist, Theo, is a (mostly) brilliant physicist. Are you any good at math?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Science Fiction And Fantasy Book Recommendations: March 2013

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 07, 2013 | PERMALINK

If you're looking for a great science fiction or fantasy book to read this month, look no further than RT's recommendations for the best books of the genres reviewed in our March issue.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ariel Djanikian Talks Dystopian Fiction And The Office of Mercy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 28, 2013 | PERMALINK

Over the past few years, dystopian fiction has increased in popularity to epic proportions. And this month we have a new book to add to the list — Ariel Djanikian's The Office of Mercy. Natasha, the book's young heroine, lives in an underground utopian settlement where everyone's basic needs are met. But when she ventures Outside, Natasha realizes that the world she has known is a lie. She has some big choices to make — ones that will change her life and possibly the lives of everyone she knows. Eager to hear more from this debut author, today RT reviewer Nori Morganstein asks Djanikian questions about what makes dystopian fiction so appealing and what are some of the author's favorites in the genre.

***

Why do you think dystopias are so hot right now?  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

C. Robert Cargill On His Not-So-Nice Fairies

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 27, 2013 | PERMALINK

Faeries are often considered fragile, beautiful creatures full of whimsy and magic, but as the hero in C. Robert Cargill's Dreams and Shadows discovers, faeries can often have a nasty side. When young Colby is taken from his less-than-perfect home by faeries, he's brought to a place inhabited by all sorts of paranormal creatures. But this new world has problems of its own, and Colby learns that the Limestone Kingdom is something that will stick with him forever. Today, the author shares why he gave his faeries a tough edge, but why he still prefers them to the typical pixie.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

February Science Fiction And Fantasy Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 21, 2013 | PERMALINK

This month, science fiction and fantasy readers can expect some great new releases from a variety of authors. Today we're playing tour guide and pointing out some out of this world literary hotspots.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Karen Lord On The Boundaries Of Science Fiction And Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 19, 2013 | PERMALINK

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Darcy Abriel's Heroine Haevyn On What It's Like To Be A Humanotic Woman

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 13, 2013 | PERMALINK

Darcy Abriel's latest erotic romance, Haevyn, blends steampunk, science fiction and steamy romance to create an unforgettable story. Heroine Haevyn Breina is a humanotic — part human, part machine — in a futuristic dystopian world where she sexually serves high-ranking military officers. To understand exactly what being a humanotic means, we asked the heroine to tell us a little bit about her transformation and the world in which she lives.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Marie Brennan Tackles The Natural History Of Dragons

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 13, 2013 | PERMALINK

Author Marie Brennan's latest release, A Natural History of Dragons, is a delightful story for genre fans looking for a touch of historical romance in their fantasy. The story is a the fictional memoir of famed dragon anthropologist Isabella, Lady Trent. The book begins with her curious youth and leads up to her marriage and, soon after, her first voyage to document dragons in their natural habitat. Fictional memoirs are an up-and-coming trend in recent fantasy, so we asked the author why she chose to write this story of dragons from Isabella's point of view.

I don’t remember making a truly conscious decision to write A Natural History of Dragons in the format of a memoir. It was always in first person, from the moment I sat down to play with the idea; I don’t know when during that process it became apparent to me that I was writing it from an explicitly retrospective point of view.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST