RT Daily Blog

Anne Rice Will Be At The 2012 RT Booklovers Convention!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

We are excited to announce that the incomparable author Anne Rice will be joining us for the 2012 RT Booklovers Convention in Chicago!

Rice began her writing career in 1976 with Interview with the Vampire and has since written thirty-three additional novels under this name as well as the erotica pen names Anne Rampling and A.N. Roquelaure. The author has also had several of her works adapted into graphic novel format. In total, during the last three and a half decades, Rice has sold nearly 100 million copies of her books.


Read More>>

Tags: Convention, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Keep Your Friends Close: Sidekicks That Live On (Or In) The Body Of The Main Character

BY Janine Johnston, MARCH 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

Pauline Baird Jones recently released the finale to her Project Universe science fiction romance series, Kicking Ashe. Ashe is part of the Time Service, ensuring the safety of time and space. But when she gets sucked into a time tsunami, she is spit out onto an archaic planet where she encounters Vidor Shan, a man from her past who needs her help to escape danger.

Overall, Kicking Ashe is a fun, fast-paced read with plenty of action. And thanks to Ashe’s nanite, Lurch, a spunky companion who exisits inside of Ashe’s body, readers will also get some laugh-out-loud moments when it lets loose with some very strong opinions. But Lurch is more than just a snarky second conscience; he also monitors Ashe’s vitals, lets her know where in time she is and provides much-needed assistance. (How’s that for keeping your best friend close?)

Lurch is so well written that it got me thinking about other fictional companions. Everyone knows that sidekicks can be essential in a good science fiction story, typically adding comedic relief. If you like reading about Lurch, here are a few other tales that include sidekicks that live inside or on the hero's or heroine’s body.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Mary Robinette Kowal Talks Her Series Second

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

RT Seal of Excellence award-winning author Mary Robinette Kowal will be releasing her next novel, Glamour in Glass on April 10. The series first, Shades of Milk and Honey, won the August 2010 RT Seal of Excellence, and had RT Senior Reviewer Natalie saying, "If Jane Austen had written a fantasy novel, Shades of Milk and Honey would have been the result. Written with painstaking attention to detail, Kowal’s prose is serenely evocative of the time period, and the fantastic elements are a seamless fit." The story won favor with lovers of the fantasy, historical romance and paranormal romance genres, Austen fans or not. In today's interview with RT's Morgan, the talented Kowal gives us a peek between the covers of her upcoming second novel, in which newlyweds Jane and Vincent embark on a new adventure, and shares how her career as a professional puppeteer influences her writing. Plus get a look at some of her unique handmade puppets that she used to re-create the "glamour" show that appeared in Shades of Milk and Honey. And after watching the interview be sure to check out an excerpt of the upcoming story here.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

J.K Rowling To Release Her First Adult Novel

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

J.K. Rowling, the author of the Harry Potter children’s books, has just signed on to write a full-length novel written for adults. The upcoming tale will be published by Little, Brown. However the publisher, and the author, have been notably coy about all further details.

But will the upcoming tales be “Harry Potter: All Grown Up”? Don’t expect it! Rowling has even changed publishers for her new endeavor. In the Little Brown press release, the author said, “Although I've enjoyed writing it every bit as much, my next book will be very different to the Harry Potter series ... The freedom to explore new territory is a gift that Harry's success has brought me and with that new territory it seemed a logical progression to have a new publisher.”

As avid Rowling fans, we can’t wait to see what the talented author comes out with next. Let us know whether you will be picking up her upcoming adult book, or if you plan to boycott any of the author’s Harry-free works!


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

It’s The End Of The World As We Know It: Postapocalyptic Romance Novels

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 31, 2012 | PERMALINK
Russian artist Andrew Tarusov's apocalyptic pin-up calendar

There’s an elephant in the room, or shall we say, an apocalypse. We’ve managed not mention the (possible) impending doom for the past month, but we just can’t hold off any longer. Whether you believe that the end is coming, compliments of one pesky Mayan calendar prediction, or that we’ll safely skate past this potential catastrophe the same way we did 2011’s two purported doomsday events, there’s no denying that “the end” is a popular topic of conversation these days.

The apocalypse isn’t just something we’re talking about — it’s what we’re reading about. Now we could come up with some deep, quasi-philosophical hypothesis about how we read these stories as a way of rationalizing our fears and looking for hope in an uncertain world. But the truth is, we just love stories about the hero and heroines who triumph in a world gone haywire! So today we are serving up some of our favorite books and series that feature postapocalyptic settings.

 

 

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jasper Fforde's Paranormal YA Series Is Coming To The U.S.

BY Elissa Petruzzi, JANUARY 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Clear your September schedule, friends, because you're going to be busy reading Jasper Fforde's debut YA, The Last Dragonslayer. That's right: Jasper Fforde — whom you already love from his Thursday Next series, where he introduces readers to an alternate reality where people keep dodos as pets, cavemen are second citizens and people fall in and out of books — is writing YA. And it sounds amazing. We can't wait.

The series stars Jennifer Strange, a teen who runs Kazam Mystical Arts Management, a company which, according to the author's website, uses "the now-failing power of wizards to do such mundane jobs as installing domestic electrical circuits by telepathy or delivering live organs by flying carpet." See, the magic in Jennifer's world is fading, until suddenly it's not.


Read More>>

Tags: Science Fiction, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

George R.R. Martin's Wild Cards Series To Become Movie

BY Janine Johnston, JANUARY 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Fans of George R.R. Martin’s bestselling fantasy series A Song of Ice and Fire, and the TV series it spawned, HBO's Game of Thrones, will be thrilled to learn that another one of Martin’s series, Wild Cards, will soon be heading to the big screen. Producers of the movie are SyFy Films and Universal Pictures, and Martin himself will have a hand in the film as executive producer, which leaves me feeling that the film will stay true to the phenomenal books.

Wild Cards is a series of anthologies edited by Martin and includes several stories by the author. The series was started in the ‘80s and has recently been revived by Tor. Each book is an anthology of collected stories, and the entire series is tied together by an over arcing plot. The series spans decades and follows a community of mutant characters as they fight over control of the city, encounter aliens and endure a slew of adventures that span the entire series.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Free E-Read: Naomi Novik's Short Story "Vici" Is Available Now

BY Janine Johnston, JANUARY 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

I have to admit, I’ve never really been into dragons. Book, film, or otherwise, the fire-breathing serpentine creatures just didn’t do it for me. Generally I choose science fiction over fantasy, so there aren’t many fantasy creatures on my bookshelf to begin with. However, my dragon aversion ended when I picked up His Majesty’s Dragon by Naomi Novik after her book signing at last year’s New York Comic Con. (That’s a solid five years after the book was published.)

Let me tell you, I absolutely adored the book. I was enthralled by Captain Laurence and his talking dragon Temeraire. Since then, I have been swept up in the author's universe, which weaves dragons into the Napoleonic era. Novik skillfully mixes fantasy and history to create a believable world. And all my hours of enjoyment are thanks to the excellent job that the first story did of winning over this sci fi reader.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Rod Rees On How To Survive The Dangerous Virtual World Of The Demi-Monde

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

Rod Rees' sci fi debut The Demi-Monde: Winter transports readers to what a RT reviewer calls "a place that is part Matrix, part Star Trek holodeck and highly entertaining", a place known as the Demi-Monde. A virtual space created to train soldiers for combat, this world contains a myriad of secrets, twists and turns, which heroine Ella must navigate in order to save the president's daughter from the dangers that lurk here. Today, the author shares a look at this virtual reality and gives RT readers insight into this world with a piece of original artwork that includes several essentials for surviving the Demi-Monde.

Enlarged View Of "Surviving The Demi-Monde" Infographic >>

Rod Rees Explains the Demi-Monde:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Maria V. Snyder On The Power In Touch Of Power

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 04, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month fantasy author Maria V. Snyder launches her new Healer series with Touch of Power, featuring a heroine with a very special power. Avry of Kazan is a healer who can mend the wounded with her touch — but this gift comes at a price. Avry internalizes the pain of those she heals, and is being hunted by a government who blames healers like her for causing a plague. Today Snyder shares an insider's look at her heroine's extraordinary ability, and reveals the personal inspiration behind Avry's healing powers.

The idea of Avry being a healer came from a variety of sources. At first, I had this vague notion about doing a story with a healer as the main protagonist (or an apprentice healer) during an epidemic. She was either going to be sought after for her powers — like everyone wanting her, or be hunted. I wasn’t sure. Then one night my daughter couldn’t sleep and she wanted me to tell her a story. She knew all my other books, so I started telling her about this healer. And every night, she’d ask, “What’s next?” That’s why Touch of Power is dedicated to my daughter.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST