RT Daily Blog

Free E-Read: Naomi Novik's Short Story "Vici" Is Available Now

BY Janine Johnston, JANUARY 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

I have to admit, I’ve never really been into dragons. Book, film, or otherwise, the fire-breathing serpentine creatures just didn’t do it for me. Generally I choose science fiction over fantasy, so there aren’t many fantasy creatures on my bookshelf to begin with. However, my dragon aversion ended when I picked up His Majesty’s Dragon by Naomi Novik after her book signing at last year’s New York Comic Con. (That’s a solid five years after the book was published.)

Let me tell you, I absolutely adored the book. I was enthralled by Captain Laurence and his talking dragon Temeraire. Since then, I have been swept up in the author's universe, which weaves dragons into the Napoleonic era. Novik skillfully mixes fantasy and history to create a believable world. And all my hours of enjoyment are thanks to the excellent job that the first story did of winning over this sci fi reader.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Rod Rees On How To Survive The Dangerous Virtual World Of The Demi-Monde

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

Rod Rees' sci fi debut The Demi-Monde: Winter transports readers to what a RT reviewer calls "a place that is part Matrix, part Star Trek holodeck and highly entertaining", a place known as the Demi-Monde. A virtual space created to train soldiers for combat, this world contains a myriad of secrets, twists and turns, which heroine Ella must navigate in order to save the president's daughter from the dangers that lurk here. Today, the author shares a look at this virtual reality and gives RT readers insight into this world with a piece of original artwork that includes several essentials for surviving the Demi-Monde.

Enlarged View Of "Surviving The Demi-Monde" Infographic >>

Rod Rees Explains the Demi-Monde:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Maria V. Snyder On The Power In Touch Of Power

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 04, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month fantasy author Maria V. Snyder launches her new Healer series with Touch of Power, featuring a heroine with a very special power. Avry of Kazan is a healer who can mend the wounded with her touch — but this gift comes at a price. Avry internalizes the pain of those she heals, and is being hunted by a government who blames healers like her for causing a plague. Today Snyder shares an insider's look at her heroine's extraordinary ability, and reveals the personal inspiration behind Avry's healing powers.

The idea of Avry being a healer came from a variety of sources. At first, I had this vague notion about doing a story with a healer as the main protagonist (or an apprentice healer) during an epidemic. She was either going to be sought after for her powers — like everyone wanting her, or be hunted. I wasn’t sure. Then one night my daughter couldn’t sleep and she wanted me to tell her a story. She knew all my other books, so I started telling her about this healer. And every night, she’d ask, “What’s next?” That’s why Touch of Power is dedicated to my daughter.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Trend Watch: Space Opera Revival In 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

Dramatic, celestial adventures that often romanticize space, dubbed “space operas”, have been popular since the pulp stories were published in sci fi magazines, such as Amazing Stories and Astounding Science Fiction, in the early 20th century (author Jamie Rubin has a blog series revisiting Astounding Science Fiction, which you can learn about here). Popular in the early and mid twentieth century, space operas' heyday is generally considered the 1930s mainly because this is when E.E. "Doc" Smith published a short story that would become his Lensman series, which was runner up for a Hugo Award for best All-Time Series. And while there are dozens of sci fi plot lines that have become popular over time, traveling beyond the stars never seems to get old. In the past several years, space opera has seen a come back, with many authors putting their own spin on the classic space travel trope. 

Today we take a look at three 2011 titles that prove this subgenre is still alive and kicking:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Picks Three (Free) Holiday Themed Sci Fi Short Stories

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

A big thanks to Bryan Thomas Schmidt for his blog post “16 Holiday Themed Science Fiction And Fantasy Stories” earlier this month. Here at the RT office, we had a great time going through each free story and getting a huge holiday dose of futuristic fun. The web team was especially excited by three stories by some very well known authors. If you are looking for some great Christmas reading, look no further than the following tales.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Violence And Villains In The Thirteen Hallows By Michael Scott And Colette Freedman

BY Janine Johnston, DECEMBER 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Sci fi and fantasy fans are hard to please. In fact, I would dare to say that some of us are filled with a geeky snobbery so strong, that it sometimes cannot be contained in all the forum threads and blog comment boxes the Internet has to offer. It's spilling out into the streets. 

Okay, perhaps I’m being a bit dramatic, but I think I speak for many readers when I say that we are getting tired of the same old fantasy story. A young, brave hero (who is almost always male), usually acting out of some sort of need for revenge and having nothing to lose, goes on some kind of adventure, along the way he acquires a powerful item (of magical or scientific origin) and must destroy the bad guys or else the universe will explode. Don’t get me wrong, this plot is a classic, filled with beloved tropes, but what makes it work in for contemporary readers is not groundbreaking plots, but instead authors’ original details and talented writing … which unfortunately seems harder to come by these days. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Holiday Gift Guide: For The Science Fiction And Fantasy Fans On Your List

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

It’s that time of year again, when you’ve got to make a list and check it twice to figure out what you’re going to get your loved ones. But don’t worry; we’re here to help with gift suggestions for each type of person on your list. Today we bring you our top recommendations for the hard-to-gift-to science fiction or fantasy fan on your list ...

 

For the TV Enthusiast 

Although the much-anticipated DVD box set of Game of Thrones (the complete first season) won’t be out until March 6, this collection is on the top of everyone’s wishlists! Relive all the guts, glory and mystery — or let your loved one see it for the first time if they are living without cable. (We suggest gifting a card with an image of the set and something that says, "Your gift is coming soon!") If you are desperate to give the gift of George R. R. Martin in a form that can be unwrapped before the New Year, we recommend this four-book box set of A Song of Ice and Fire, the series that Game of Thrones is based on.

However, if Game of Thrones is not your giftee’s style, and they long for a show that’s now off the air, delight your loved one with this fantastic Firefly-inspired gift. A pair of replica prop pistols like the ones owned by Captain Mal are sure to thrill followers of the Whedonverse. Or for the BSG (that’s Battlestar Galactic, folks) fan on your list, this gender-neutral pendent is a discrete token of fandom that will surely win you a giant grin.


Read More>>

Tags: Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Elisa Dish: Three Sci Fi Side Dishes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

Just in time for the holidays, the RT web team is doing something a bit different for this week’s Dish. Instead of digging into one full length novel, Morgan and Elisa are sampling three short stories as Side Dishes. So what’s on the menu? First up is Cherie Priest’s “Wishbones”, a horrifying, monstrous tale. Then they move into Cassandra Clare’s tale of unrequited love in the steampunk short “Some Fortunate Future Day”. And finally is “Hello, Moto” by the incredible science fiction/fantasy author Nnedi Okorafor. After joining Morgan and Elisa on a trip through these otherworldly tales, you can give each a try since all three short stories are FREE online reads.

***

Morgan: I found Cherie Priest’s “Wishbones” to be a nod to classic horror stories. I mean, we’ve got a rural setting with unsuspecting victims and a giant monster.

Elisa: While the text did have a lot in common with a horror story, I thought that what set Priest's work apart from others was the multiple narratives. “Wishbones” takes place during two eras, present day and the 1860s during the Civil War.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Free E-Read: Charles De Lint's "The Invisibles"

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Charles de Lint’s short story “The Invisibles” is currently available as a free e-read on Fantasy Magazine.

In the story, the author explores a social injustice and what it means to believe in magic. The narrator, a painter named Andrew, illustrates how our perceptions of the world around us affect our everyday lives. While sitting at a cafe with his friend, Ted, Andrew realizes that he can see a girl no one else in the room can. Intrigued, the young man decides to follow her home, and is shocked to discover that pedestrians are practically walking into her. She's invisible, but not to him.

The plot thickens when Andrew meets an unusual boy lingering outside of the girl's home. He explains who The Invisibles are, why no one can see them and gives Andrew a very cryptic message just before vanishing into a cloud of dust and garbage. The next day, Andrew consults Ted about the bizarre occurrences, and the discoveries Andrew makes are shocking.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: Mary Robinette Kowal On Her Next Three Novels!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 31, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Mary Robinette Kowal’s debut novel, the fantasy Shades of Milk and Honey, was awarded our August 2010 RT Seal of Excellence. Said RT Senior Reviewer Natalie A. Luhrs, “If Jane Austen had written a fantasy novel, Shades of Milk and Honey would have been the result.” Today, the author chats with us about what readers can expect in next April’s series second, and then get spoiled with exclusive details about Kowal’s two novels coming up after that — books three and four in the series!

***

We are anxiously awaiting the release date of Glamour in Glass, which will continue the romance of Jane and Vincent, who readers met in last year’s Shades of Milk and Honey. We know in the series second Jane and Vincent head abroad, where are some of the spots where they will stop?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST